Glenwood Academy

16151 Old Frederick Road,
Mount Airy, MD, 21771-0410
Tel: (410)489-6959
Grades: PK - 8 | 20 students
We are committed to the development of academic excellence for students who struggle in traditional educational settings.
We believe that all children can be successful in their intellectual, creative, and social development.
Our goal is to guide each student to discover his or her individual potential for greatness.

School Overview

Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia, ADHD, High Functioning Autism, Asperger
Year Founded 2007

Student Body

Total Students 20 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 25%
State avg.: 31%
Students by Grade Glenwood Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 3 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 90%
Average Class Size 8 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(school uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $12,900
Tuition Notes Glenwood Academy offers a limited number of annual needs-based scholarships for its school year program and makes every effort to ensure that the education provided is available to as many children as possible.
% on Financial Aid 40%
Average Financial Aid Grant $8,000
Acceptance Rate 40%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Anika Allen
Admissions Associate Anika Allen

School Notes:

  • We realize that our students learn differently and need a different approach to teaching.  It is not the child that needs to change but rather the approach.  At Glenwood Academy each teacher realizes that each student is unique and therefore, needs a personalized approach to learning.

  • Profile last updated: 04/13/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Mount Airy Christian Academy (1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Mount Airy Christian Academy (1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Mount Airy Christian Academy (1 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Mount Airy Mount Airy Christian Academy
    (Christian)
    16700 Old Frederick Road
    Mount Airy , MD , 21771
    (410)489-4321
    (Christian)
    1  mi  |  303  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Mount Airy
    Cornerstone Academy
    Special Education School (Christian)
    17455 Old Frederick Rd
    Mount Airy , MD , 21771
    (301)829-4730
    Special Education School (Christian)
    2.6  mi  |  9  students  |  Gr.  7-11
  • Woodbine Glenwood Country Day School
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    14785 Bushy Park Road
    Woodbine , MD , 21797
    (410)489-5203
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    3.2  mi  |  62  students  |  Gr.  NS-K
  • Cooksville Woodmont Academy
    (Roman Catholic)
    2000 Woodmont Lane
    Cooksville , MD , 21723
    (443)574-8100
    (Roman Catholic)
    4.4  mi  |  222  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Mount Airy Little Travelers Daycare & Learning Center
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    Po Box 970
    Mount Airy , MD , 21771
    (301)829-5272
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    5.2  mi  |  7  students  |  Gr.  PK-KG

School Reviews

  • Recommended May 12, 2014 - I am very pleased with my son''s progress at Glenwood Academy. He is on the Autism Spectrum, but is high-functioning. Public school was just not working out for him because his preferred style of learning did not mesh with the "one size fits all" philosophy embraced by the public schools. The individualized approach to teaching and the use of technology have been tremendously beneficial and he is thriving and growing. Socially, he has found an environment of caring and friendly children who support each other, like each other and are respectful of each child’s differences. We are grateful to Glenwood and appreciate the wonderful work and commitment by the teachers to make it a safe and positive teaching environment. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 14, 2014 - My son has been going to Glenwood for six years. He has dyslexia and ADHD and this school is a perfect fit. They provide an individual learning plan for him that is challenging, yet attainable. His classmates are supportive and everybody wants the kids to excel. The teachers have special training with language-based learning differences and really care about the kids. I would highly recommend the Academy. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended November 21, 2013 - Our family is all so thankful for Glenwood Academy. After school was full of fighting, frustration and crying. The homework my child had every night was a drain on our family, he was unable to finish his work in school so that was also sent home to do on top of all the other work. But now we are at Glenwood and they have teacher guided study hall and our child does not realize he is doing homework because it is fun and interesting and if he has questions the teacher is right there to answer them. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 08, 2013 - This past year at Glenwood has been so beneficial for my daughter. As a result of the teaching ability of Ms. S. and the loving support of the staff and teachers, my daughter has the confidence and skill to independently tackle the demands of school work. Her organizational skills have improved and she is much happier. Best wishes to the Glenwood staff and teachers as you continue to bring immeasurable success to the lives of your students. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 14, 2013 - My son loves the way he is taught at Glenwood Academy. The multi-sensory approach has made all the difference in my son''s math and reading grades. He is at grade level in both subjects and he was a whole year behind when he started at Glenwood 14 months ago. The small classes and having teachers and specialists that are trained to work with children that have learning differences makes all the difference in the world. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - My son is so much happier to be attending Glenwood than when he was at public school. He is now in a small class with teachers who understand that he learns differently - they don''t try to force him to fit into the standard teaching mold but customize assignments to help him be successful. Thank You Glenwood! - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Frederick County, MD is $8,394 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Frederick County, MD is 79% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).