Glenwood Academy

16151 Old Frederick Road
Mount Airy, MD 21771-0410
     Tel: (410)489-6959
        
   
Grades: PK - 9 | 55 students
We specialize in an individualized, nurturing and multi sensory approach to educating students who struggle in traditional settings.
We believe that all children can be successful in their intellectual, creative, and social development. Our goal is to guide each student to discover his or her individual potential for greatness.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other associations(s) for exceptional children
Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (CHADD)
Orton-Gillingham Academy of Practioners and Educators
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 9
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia, ADHD, Language-based learning difference; mild learning differencee
Year Founded 2010

Student Body

Total Students 55 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 45%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade Glenwood Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 90%
Average Class Size 8 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(school uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $20,000
Tuition Notes Glenwood Academy offers a limited number of annual needs-based scholarships for its school year program and makes every effort to ensure that the education provided is available to as many children as possible.
% on Financial Aid 40%
Average Financial Aid Grant $8,000
Acceptance Rate 40%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Cheryl Stradling

School Notes:

As a small school, we specialize in an individualized multi-sensory approach to education.  We have the luxury of knowing each child individually and ensuring that each child feels known and understood.  While Glenwood Academy prides itself on its nurturing environment, it is also academically challenging.  We set the bar high for each student by setting challenging and attainable goals that builds self- confidence and breeds successful students.

The Glenwood Difference:
*10/1 Student to teacher ratio
*All of our teachers have advanced degrees in education
*All of our teachers are certified in Orton-Gillingham, Visualizing &    Verbalizing & Framing Your Thoughts
*Technology Infused
*Multi Sensory Approach
*We intergrate an on site Speech & Language Pathologist, Occupational Therapist, Math & Reading Specialist & Guidence Counselor
*No Homework is sent home.  Is is completed in our "Study Hall" program from 3:00-5:00PM by our teachers who reinforce what is taught in the classsroom.
 

Profile last updated: 07/29/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Mount Airy Christian Academy (1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Mount Airy Christian Academy (1 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Mount Airy Christian Academy (1 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Mount Airy
    16700 Old Frederick Road
    Mount AiryMD 21771
    (410)489-4321
    (Christian)
    1 mi | Gr. PK-12 | 303 students                      
  • Mount Airy
    Cornerstone Academy
    Special Education School (Christian)
    17455 Old Frederick Rd
    Mount AiryMD 21771
    (301)829-4730
    Special Education School (Christian)
    2.6 mi | Gr. 7-11 | 6 students                      
  • Woodbine
    Glenwood Country Day School
    Daycare / Preschool
    14785 Bushy Park Road
    WoodbineMD 21797
    (410)489-5203
    Daycare / Preschool
    3.2 mi | Gr. NS-1 | 62 students                      
  • Cooksville
    Woodmont Academy
    (Roman Catholic)
    2000 Woodmont Lane
    CooksvilleMD 21723
    (443)574-8100
    (Roman Catholic)
    3.7 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 222 students                      
  • Mount Airy
    Po Box 970
    Mount AiryMD 21771
    (301)829-5272
    Daycare / Preschool
    5.2 mi | Gr. PK-KG | 22 students                      

School Reviews

6 days ago
This past year at Glenwood has been so beneficial for my daughter. As a result of the teaching ability of Ms. S. and the loving support of the staff and teachers, my daughter has the confidence and skill to independently tackle the demands of school work. Her organizational skills have improved and she is much happier. Best wishes to the Glenwood staff and teachers as you continue to bring immeasurable success to the lives of your students.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
Our family is all so thankful for Glenwood Academy. After school was full of fighting, frustration and crying. The homework my child had every night was a drain on our family, he was unable to finish his work in school so that was also sent home to do on top of all the other work. But now we are at Glenwood and they have teacher guided study hall and our child does not realize he is doing homework because it is fun and interesting and if he has questions the teacher is right there to answer them.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
My son has been going to Glenwood for six years. He has dyslexia and ADHD and this school is a perfect fit. They provide an individual learning plan for him that is challenging, yet attainable. His classmates are supportive and everybody wants the kids to excel. The teachers have special training with language-based learning differences and really care about the kids. I would highly recommend the Academy.
- Posted by Parent
6 days ago
I am very pleased with my son''s progress at Glenwood Academy. He is on the Autism Spectrum, but is high-functioning. Public school was just not working out for him because his preferred style of learning did not mesh with the "one size fits all" philosophy embraced by the public schools. The individualized approach to teaching and the use of technology have been tremendously beneficial and he is thriving and growing. Socially, he has found an environment of caring and friendly children who support each other, like each other and are respectful of each child’s differences. We are grateful to Glenwood and appreciate the wonderful work and commitment by the teachers to make it a safe and positive teaching environment.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
My son is thriving at Glenwood Academy. We always knew he needed smaller classes and more personal attention than he would recieve in public school, so he has always been in private school. They all promised small class size and one on one attention, but it was not until Glenwood Academy did it really happen. Glenwood Academy is the only school that fufilled it''s promise to find how my child needed to learn and then taught him. The only regret we have is that we did not find Glenwood Academy sooner.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My son loves the way he is taught at Glenwood Academy. The multi-sensory approach has made all the difference in my son''s math and reading grades. He is at grade level in both subjects and he was a whole year behind when he started at Glenwood 14 months ago. The small classes and having teachers and specialists that are trained to work with children that have learning differences makes all the difference in the world.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My son is so much happier to be attending Glenwood than when he was at public school. He is now in a small class with teachers who understand that he learns differently - they don''t try to force him to fit into the standard teaching mold but customize assignments to help him be successful. Thank You Glenwood!
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Why Would I Want to....
Why Would I Want to....
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Frederick County, MD is $7,810 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos