St. Timothy School

10479 W Pico Blvd
Los Angeles, CA 90064-0900
     Tel: (310)474-1811
        
   
Grades: PK - 8 | 180 students
St. Timothy School was established in 1958 as a Catholic private school, K-8 with Extended Day Care.
Our school seeks to inspire each student to adopt his/her unique role as a child of God.
We recognize the importance of teachers and parents, as the primary educators, in developing our students to their maximum potential.
Our school goals embrace the spiritual, intellectual, social, aesthetic, physical and psychological needs of the students we serve.
We emphasis on "excellence in education" with high expectations of student achievement, Catholic/Christian values and liberal arts.
We instill Catholic/Christian values and guiding students to a meaningful relationship with God through the teachings and traditions of the Catholic Church.
We provide a balanced curriculum according to individual needs; build a strong base for lifelong learning; and develop techniques of critical thinking, analysis and logic.
We develop positive attitudes, self-esteem, confidence and social and emotional security in each student.
We aim to develop self-discipline and good citizenship within the school, home and community; and to foster an appreciation and respect for self, others, our culture, heritage and our American democratic principles.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1958

Student Body

Total Students 180 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 69%
State avg.: 43%
Students by Grade St. Timothy School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 15:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 66%

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 6 / Feb. 7
Admissions Director Mary Bunster

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Notre Dame Academy Girls High School (0.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Temple Isaiah Preschool & Kindergarten (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Temple Isaiah Preschool & Kindergarten (0.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Los AngelesTemple Isaiah Preschool & Kindergarten
    Daycare / Preschool  (Jewish)
    10345 W Pico Blvd
    Los AngelesCA 90064
    (310)553-3552
    Daycare / Preschool  (Jewish)
    0.2 mi | 356 students | Gr. PK-K                      
  • Los AngelesNotre Dame Academy Girls High School
    All-girls  (Roman Catholic)
    2851 Overland Avenue
    Los AngelesCA 90064
    (310)839-5289
    All-girls  (Roman Catholic)
    0.8 mi | 375 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • Los AngelesNotre Dame Academy Elementary School
      (Roman Catholic)
    2911 Overland Ave
    Los AngelesCA 90064
    (310)287-3895
      (Roman Catholic)
    0.8 mi | 276 students | Gr. KG-8                      
  • Los AngelesTechProtege, LLC
    Special Program Emphasis
    1901 Avenue of the Stars Suite 200
    Los AngelesCA 90067
    (310)499-1492
    Special Program Emphasis
    1 mi | n/a students | Gr. 5-12                      
  • Los AngelesRedeemer Baptist Elementary
      (Baptist)
    10792 National Blvd
    Los AngelesCA 90064
    (310)475-4598
      (Baptist)
    1 mi | 103 students | Gr. PK-6                      

School Reviews

1 month ago
My daughter is currently attending Pre-K for the first time at St. Timothy. We have already enrolled her for kindergarten next year and I would recommend this school to any parent who wants to give their child a strong foundation at an early age. The lessons are accelerated to the point where she is doing kindergarten level work. Her teacher, Mrs. Penington, is gifted and dedicated. She and an additional teacher keep the classes focused (no small feat for Pre-K) yet fun and energized. The class is a nurturing environment. My daughter, who had never been away from her mom, immediately felt at ease. The combination of smaller class sizes and accomplished leadership from teachers and administrative staff is hard to beat. The principal and higher grade teachers know my daughter by name. She has found a home away from home.
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
My son started going to St. Timothy this year for pre-K and he absolutely loves going to school. I like how the class sizes are small which allow plenty of one on one interaction between teacher and student. They offer the total package of academics, technology, and activities to help keep both students and parents engaged with the learning culture. My son has made so many friends and is always telling me stories about what he did that day. I am amazed at how much he has grown and matured over the past few months and a huge credit goes to the environment at St. Timothy. Although there are many options closer to my home, to me, it''s worth the extra drive time to drop him off every morning. A safe, affordable, and confident choice for my child''s educational needs.
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
My son started in St Timothy School in 5th grade. He was immediately made to feel part of the St Timothy''s community and loved the school from the first day. Mrs Lyon the 5th grade teacher and vice principal is a fantastic engaging teacher and cares about every child individually. My son has taken part in the ''walking class room'' which was featured on local TV, the children walk outdoors (getting exercise) while listening to an educational podcast and are then quizzed on it. St Timothy school is truly a hidden gem and we are delighted to have found it!
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
As a family, we feel lucky to have found St. Timothy School several years ago. Our children love going to school and are excited about what they are learning. The academics are strong and our kids are challenged. When we hear our kids incorporate what they''ve learned at school into their every day lives and conversations, we know we have made a great choice. St. Timothy School is kind and welcoming to new families. The teachers and staff are creative, engaged, and responsive. The class size is small, which allows the teachers, staff, and other parents to get to know and care about each child across grade levels.
- Posted by Parent
1 month ago
We''ve been a St. Timothy family for 2 years now, and could not be happier. The school is extremely well-run by Ms. Randle, with highly motivated teachers that foster an engaging learning environment. All of the kids seem genuinely happy to go to school each morning - a sign that is sometimes more telling than the traditional test scores. We were originally attracted by the location, small class size, intimate environment and accelerated learning. We''ve stayed for all that and more, including the great community, passion for teaching and positive atmosphere. Highly recommended!
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
St. Timothy?''s is a wonderful school. I went to a nearby Catholic School and toured all the local private schools before making the choice to send our son here. I can tell you that St. Timothy?''s is the best school by far. They have an accelerated learning program unlike any of the other schools. The kids that graduate from here get into the top high schools of their choice. They have small classroom sizes which I love. My son gets more one on one time with his teacher. The teachers are wonderful and very highly educated. Everyone is loving and caring, including the other parents. We?''ve made some great friends. You really feel like you belong to a Community. St. Timothy?''s is truly one of Westside?''s hidden gems! Our son loves it and we are so happy we made the choice to send him here. I highly recommend taking the tour and seeing for yourself.
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
My son transferred into this school. He was drowning in a large school environment. He has thrived beyond belief. He is socially well adjusted. It''s amazing that it it''s a little community within itself. All the children know each other from grade to grade. My son is challenged academically everyday. We loved the fact that in middle school the teachers are the same from sixth to eighth. This helps your child get not only benefit from the small class ratio but the trachers really know your child. They know their strengths and weaknesses so they can help them advance at their own pace. The teachers are continually educating themselves to keep the school at the top level in technology. The matriculation to the cities finest high schools is incredible. Can''t say enough great things other than it was the best decision for our child!
- Posted by Parent
2 months ago
Our daughter started Kindergarten this school year and we could not be happier! The class size is small. The teacher/student ratio is absolutely amazing! Ms. Colorado is quick to respond to any and all inquiries we may have, making her transition in to Kindergarten a breeze. The school teaches a full grade ahead and surprisingly, she has taken to the accelerated program really well. I would also like to add that there is an amazing sense of community here and a nurturing atmosphere. I have so many positive things to say about St. Timothy''s and look forward to the memories we will make here! We love you St. Timothy!!!!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My children have attended St Timothy school for the last five years and we are very happy with the school. It is a very tough curriculum and though it is not for the faint of heart, its small size and well-rounded programs make for an enriched envrironment that prepares the student for excellent and highly sought-after high schools. The families and staff are mostly professional, educated and involved. The organic diversity is both cultural and socio-economic. I highly recommend St Timothy School. I have made many lifelong friends and my children and I feel quite comfortable there.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Facebook Page Essentials
Small private schools often feel that they cannot afford to market their schools. Facebook is free. Here is how to use it effectively.
Attributes Which Make Military Schools Special
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Los Angeles, CA is $12,180 for elementary schools and $18,422 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Los Angeles, CA is 75% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).