Montessori School Of Evergreen

Tel: (303)674-0093
Grades: NS - 8 | 281 students
previous
next

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Association of Colorado Independent Schools (ACIS)
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1977

Student Body

Total Students 281 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 5%
State avg.: 27%
Students by Grade Montessori School Of Evergreen Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 45 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 40%
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
% on Financial Aid 15%
Admissions Director Gray Jessiman

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Tetra Academy (15.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Evergreen Country Day School (5.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Evergreen Country Day School (5.4 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Evergreen
    Evergreen Country Day School
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: NS-8 | 183 students
    5.4 miles
    1093 Swede Gulch Rd
    Evergreen, CO 80439
    (303)674-3400
    5.4NS-8
    183
  • Evergreen
    Grades: K-8 | 80 students
    5.6 miles
    27826 Alabraska Lane
    Evergreen, CO 80439
    (303)670-1721
    5.6K-8
    80
  • Conifer
    Grades: NS-K | 39 students
    8.9 miles
    25782 Vosler Street
    Conifer, CO 80433
    (303)838-2444
    8.9NS-K
    39
  • Golden
    Grades: PK-K | 50 students
    12 miles
    714 Cheyenne Street
    Golden, CO 80401
    (303)278-3235
    12PK-K
    50
  • Morrison
    Grades: PK-8 | 78 students
    12.3 miles
    14711 W. Morrison Rd.
    Morrison, CO 80465
    (303)922-8850
    12.3PK-8
    78

School Reviews

My child''s confidence has soared at MSE. The teacher to student ratio as well as the Montessori method allows my child''s education to be truly individualized. The Montessori materials are beautiful, intentional and have such depth. Also, my child takes part in meaningful work that she excitedly tells us about. Her education goes beyond the classroom. We value the education of the whole child that is integral to MSE''s philosophy.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We absolutely LOVE MSE! Our girls, who are now in Middle School and Upper El have attended MSE since Primary and are thriving. MSE has provided them with a fantastic education as well as the ability to develop into amazing individuals.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We have three children that have attended or attend MSE and we have enjoyed seeing them learn and grow. I wish they could keep these teachers for the rest of their school years!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
MSE is one of the finest Montessori schools in the country! For years I have observed as MSE implements rigorous Montessori while also pulling in best practices in child development. The result is education innovation of a high degree. My children attended MSE for many years, and we would have stayed until they all graduated but we were unexpectedly uprooted and moved to Washington D.C. In D.C. my older child was accepted into one of the most sought after independent schools in the city (and in the country) - Sidwell Friends School. My child was fully prepared to take on the academics of this school because of the education at MSE. The creativity of thinking and passionate participation my child showed was appreciated by the teachers. My other child attended a Montessori school in DC, but the experience was deeply disappointing. No rigorous implementation of Montessori, no innovation, nothing like MSE. I described MSE in a conversation with an official at the National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS) several years ago, and he told me "some of the most innovative work in education is being done in our member schools out West." Congratulations MSE! You are a blessing to those who have the opportunity to walk your halls!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Our two young children are in the Primary and Toddler rooms at MSE and we couldn''t be happier. The entire staff (teachers and office) is incredible- they are so kind, supportive, and respectful of all of the children. Both of our girls love going to school and we credit MSE with so much of their emotional, social, and intellectual growth. It is a truly wonderful place to send your kids!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
MSE is an amazing school. Each child is respected as an individual yet learn within a school community. My daughter has attended now for 4 years and we plan on going through 8th grade.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
MSE is a dynamic place where my children are challenged, but supported. The positive energy that the amazing staff bring to the atmosphere resonates with my children and our family.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We have 3 kids at MSE, ages 7,10 and 13, and are delighted with the education they are receiving. My wife is a Montessori trained teacher with years of experience at other quality schools and I am a public High School Teacher. As a public school teacher, I admit I was skeptical that we should send our kid to a Montessori school and thought that a good public school would do just as well. I was wrong and I am happy to have sent all my kids to MSE. I was sold on MSE as 1. I watched my kids thrive and progress 2. I went to numerous open houses and parent education nights and 3. I compared the kids learning to other schools. My kids are all very academically confident and score highly on standardized tests. I''m convinced that this has a lot to do with numerous projects and excellent, long term dedicated teachers. The kids from youngest to oldest are excited about learning and doing an excellent job with all their work. I know that most other schools including other area schools with excellent teachers could not give my kids as much attention as they receive at MSE with the very low student teacher ratio. What really convinced me, however, was at parent education nights when the MSE teachers taught the parents the Montessori process in different disciplines. The math system most impressed me. I observed my daughters and other students excited to do long division of all things! In mathematics, they use beads in a very structured way to teach the building block concepts. This method of moving from concrete to the abstract works for all sorts of kids. Usually schools start with an abstract concept and than have the kids do concrete practice. This is backwards. MSE''s methodology works far better than most methods I''ve observed in public schools and the results prove it is better. I highly endorse MSE!
- Posted by Parent, 02/24/15
This will be my final year at MSE as a parent and I''m mourning the transition. My children however, will and have transitioned into public high school smoothly and with the ability to start as freshman in both honors and AP classes. This is such a great school I can''t imagine not seeing these friends and family everyday. The staff at MSE is excellent, and both of my children have become who they are based on the relationships and opportunities and experiences that they have had at this wonderful school.
- Posted by Parent, 02/15/15
We have been a part of the MSE community for eight years now. It truly is a community and not just a school. We consider it an extension of our children''s home life. We admire and respect the teachers, staff and everyone involved in our school community. Not only is the academics supreme but the students learn "real world" life lessons. They are some of the most well rounded, mature, confident and eloquent students you will ever meet. I have never heard, "I don''t want to go to school." from any of my children. They absolutely LOVE school and learning even though they have to work hard to keep up with MSE''s high level of learning and high standards. They truly believe there isn''t anything they can not do or be. They are extremely self motivated and will achieve their dreams. Can''t say enough great things about MSE.
- Posted by Parent, 11/28/14
MSE is a truly special place! My kids have attended this school for 5 years now and I couldn''t be happier. The teachers are amazing and the program really values each child as an individual. The student to teacher ratio is low and the individualized attention that allows for makes a huge difference for my children!
- Posted by Parent, 12/11/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Jefferson County, CO is $7,285 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Jefferson County, CO is 94% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos