Sacred Heart Of Jesus School

1317 Mapleton Avenue
Boulder, CO 80304-0803
     Tel: (303)447-2362
   
Grades: PK - 8 | 283 students
item which has been noted, verified.
Sacred Heart of Jesus School is a Catholic parochial school in the heart of Boulder with an outstanding tradition of excellence in all that we do.  Our small class sizes, coupled with our faculty current in technology and best practices results in a culturally rich and academically strong environment.  This is proven by our test scores which are consistently the highest in national percentages.  From our cutting edge curriculum to our stellar athletics, we nurture our students in mind, body and soul.  Sacred Heart of Jesus has been serving the Boulder community for nearly 120 years.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. AdvancED
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1900

Student Body

Total Students 283 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 26%
State avg.: 23%
Students by Grade Sacred Heart Of Jesus School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 31 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 11 students

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Jennifer Wilcomb

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Softball, Track and FieldBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountrySoftball,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Academic Decathlon, All students participate in the arts and music, Ambassador Students, Chess Club, Geography Bee, Homework Club, Math Buddies, Math Club, Reading Buddies, Recreational Athletics begins in the 3rd grade, Spelling Bee, Student Council Chess Club, Geography Bee, Homework Club, Math Buddies, Math Club, Spelling Bee, Academic Decathlon,
All students participate in the arts and music,
Ambassador Students,
Reading Buddies,
Recreational Athletics begins in the 3rd grade,
Student Council,

School Notes:

On standardized tests, every grade at Sacred Heart tests at least a grade and a half above grade level. The school uses the Singapore Math program, the Lexia Reading program in connection with the Reading Wonders program and our students are trained and use Chromebooks.  Recently, Sacred Heart added a state of the art science lab and a new media/library center.

Profile last updated: 05/28/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is September School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Blue Sky Kindergarten (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Mt. Zion Lutheran Preschool (0.4 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • BoulderMt. Zion Lutheran Preschool
    Daycare / Preschool  (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    1680 Balsam Avenue
    BoulderCO 80304
    (303)443-8477
    Daycare / Preschool  (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    0.4 mi | 37 students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • BoulderSeptember School
    Alternative School
    1902 Walnut Street
    BoulderCO 80302
    (303)443-9933
    Alternative School
    0.5 mi | 32 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • BoulderBlue Sky Kindergarten
    Special Program Emphasis
    3046 11th St
    BoulderCO 80304
    (303)443-4965
    Special Program Emphasis
    0.6 mi | 47 students | Gr. K                      
  • BoulderWatershed School
    Special Program Emphasis
    205 Canyon Blvd
    BoulderCO 80302
    (303)440-7520
    Special Program Emphasis
    0.9 mi | 62 students | Gr. 6-12                      
  • BoulderMapleton Montessori School
    Montessori School
    3121 29th St
    BoulderCO 80301
    (303)449-4499
    Montessori School
    1.4 mi | 160 students | Gr. PK-KG                      

School Reviews

2 months ago
SHJ is an incredible school. We have 2 children in the elementary school and they both absolutely love it. The small class sizes, the rigorous academic program and the amazing community cannot be beat. The staff helps build high morals and standards in our children...something that seems to be missing these days. I would definitely recommend this school!
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
I am a teacher at SHJ, and I will tell you my honest opinion of this school. After teaching at a handful of other schools, both public and private, I must admit that I absolutely love SHJ, more than anywhere else I''ve been. Everything about it is good, and wholesome, and genuine. One of the main reasons for this is that the school has a strong, positive community. Everyone involved truly cares for one another! We are made up of students, parents, family members, teachers, staff, clergy members, and parishioners. And by being a part of SHJ, we become a family. I could write a novel about what I love and admire about this school. But I?''ll save you the reading material and limit it to a few traits. -We have AMAZING teachers. I have never met a more caring and dedicated group of people. We?''ve chosen this profession for the same reason: we love kids, and we love to help them learn and grow. We strive to challenge them, make them want to do their best, and always seek out learning! We all continue professional development, analyze data to guide our instruction, and make sure we know what our students need. Not a single teacher here lacks passion, and there?''s something to be said for that. -The students treat one another with respect. This is a big deal, as the negative effects of teasing and bullying have become very prevalent in schools. At SHJ, the students are taught to respect one another. If students have an issue, they talk about it with their peers or teachers. We hold respect as one of the highest standards, and we look out for our students to ensure they are being respected. -The students are happy. It is so refreshing to see students smiling all day long. They enjoy school and they love to learn. They?''re excited to see you and to be there. And that makes the teachers so happy. -The teachers love their jobs. As sad as it is, that is no longer the case in every school. Here, every single teacher comes to work smiling and excited for the day. We know our students are the greatest, and we also know we are appreciated and supported. -The academics are rigorous. We want to challenge our students, to help them do their very best and be successful. To do this, we give them the best materials to use. This includes our technology. Children of today?''s world are expected to be at the forefront of technology knowledge. That is what we give them. Promethean boards are present in every classroom, videos and academic computer programs are part of daily learning, research and keyboarding are taught in the curriculum, and every student has access to the Chromebooks that are used school-wide. -We do not ?''teach to the test.?'' The overwhelming pressure put on students and teachers to succeed on a test is not present at SHJ. We take a standardized test during the year, but our students are not simply taught the dynamics of how to take a test well. They are taught the skills, lessons, and knowledge needed to succeed in life and build intelligence. And, because of this, they are able to take a test well on their own. -Communication is fantastic. From weekly newsletters to school-wide emails, the parents and families always know what?''s going on. The teachers make themselves available, free to talk about daily-doings, academics, concerns, events, everything. -The parents are very involved. We love our parents! They are friendly, helpful, and have amazing ideas for the school. Our parents are excited to get involved with all school activities, and they are so positive. Of course, I?''m here to be honest with you and give you a fair review. Our school isn''t perfect; every school has their areas of improvement. But those areas turn into goals for what we can do better, what we can improve, what we can build! For example, the school administration saw that a better media center was needed in the middle school. Therefore, we remodeled the upstairs and created a better learning space for the students. Many teachers now hold their classes or small groups in this media center space, because it has the perfect atmosphere for learning! The adjoining computer room was revamped as well and a school café was added to better suit the needs of the students. The technology and resources here are now top of the line, and we will continue to make the necessary changes and improvements to meet that high standard. The teachers and staff here don''t turn away from any challenge. I have seen them do everything they possibly can to make this school amazing. We seek out information and gather data to make our school better, to help our students succeed in every possible way. Goodness, I wrote a novel after all. As you can tell, I?''m very passionate about my school. And I may be biased as a teacher here, but it really is a wonderful place to call home. Yes, there are other great schools in the Boulder area. Education in this county is top-quality. But SHJ is the best, and I truly believe that. Our students are bright, and excited, and challenged, and loved. Our teachers are caring, and intelligent, and honest, and determined. We love our jobs, and we love our kids. We protect them, prepare them, and teach them everything we possibly can to help them grow. Our goal is to help them be kind, brave, faith-filled, honest, and able to make the right decisions in their lives. And as I watch the students in our school learn and grow, that is what I see.
- Posted by Teacher
3 months ago
Sacred Heart of Jesus provides education with faith to know the Lord and know there is nothing they cannot do with a fantastic education and supportive faculty and community.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
SHJ is an incredible school. I absolutely adore teaching there. The faculty and staff are caring and intelligent, and we love our families! The students are the best to teach, so respectful and hard working. SHJ is community-oriented which is one of the most defining factors. A positive, loving community is where children deserve to go to school and where the best learning takes place. That is our school.
- Posted by Teacher
3 months ago
I am both a teacher And a parent at Sacred Heart of Jesus. Before I found this wonderful parochial school, I was only dreaming of such a healthy, professional, educational environment that supports and appreciates their staff, as well as a loving community that emphasizes academics as much as it encourages character values & personal growth and development for my child(ren). The incredible academic and moral difference offered at Sacred Heart stand out high above the rest! Whether you are devout Catholic, or simply looking for a safe and top notch educational experience for your child(ren), I would invite you to visit Sacred Heart! You will soon discover involved parents and PTO, genuine and dedicated teachers, strong athletic involvement, opportunities with church and community events, and a wide variety of enrichment classes. The small teacher to student ratio, technology incorporated curriculum, goal setting, faith expansion and student respect for adult authority are just a few aspects of what is lacking in many schools today.
- Posted by Teacher
3 months ago
We love the SHJ community! The community and school staff provide our children with safe and rewarding experiences. There is a high focus on curriculum as well as faith based learning. Together, these characteristics empower our children to be independent and respect others in their daily lives.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
Sacred Heart is an excellent school! My children attended preschool through eighth grade and were accepted into rigorous high school programs because as both high schools stated, "they were so well-prepared." Not only are they academic achievers, but they are good citizens with strong moral values. I credit Sacred Heart and its caring faculty with with forming their minds, spirits and hearts.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
SHJ is made up of a close knit community of teachers and parents. If you want to be part of a community of families who are significantly involved in anything from daily in-school volunteer efforts to coaching league athletics SHJ is great place to send your children.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
Our family is so grateful for the amazing staff at SHJ. They provide wonderful communication to the parents and have our children''s best interest at heart. Our mixed family instantly felt welcome there and the kids love going to school. They have learned so much in so quickly.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
All 3 of our children attended Sacred Heart of Jesus school, from pre-school through 8th grade. The values that are taught to the children are solid, along with a challenging and rigorous academic program. When my kids left SHJ to attend public high school, they were well prepared, academically, spiritually, and most important, morally. The young years of a child''s life are so important--we feel grateful that our kids were able to attend SHJ and develop into fine young people.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
We love this school! We are new this year and find the academics, personnel, activities, and the community to be absolutely fantastic. We have been repeatedly welcomed and engaged by everyone we''ve met. The whole school places a lot of positive energy toward the improvement and growth of students in every respect. Really can''t say enough good things about it.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
Sacred Heart of Jesus School is a sweet and happy school with a very positive vibe. I find the school very strong in its Catholic identity, has great academic standards and a very positive reputation in the community. It has been a wonderful experience for our family.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
SHJ has been a great fit for our family. The academics are rigorous and the environment very enriching for the children''s body, mind and soul. Our kids are blooming as caring, compassionate, creative and inquisitive individuals. The teachers are committed to guiding the students to reach their full potential and to work with their personal challenges. The parent and community involvement is outstanding throughout the school, making this a wholesome experience for our entire family.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
A large part of our consideration for moving to Boulder included successful admission to Sacred Heart of Jesus School. Once admitted, we proceeded to move, and have never looked back. It''s a great school, with caring teachers and a strong curriculum. We know this is the best opportunity in Boulder for a strong education.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
What About a Foreign Language School?
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Boulder, CO is $12,430 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Boulder, CO is 94% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).