Copper Canyon Academy

Tel: (928)567-1322
Grades: 9 - 12 | 85 students
Copper Canyon Academy boarding schools for girls in Arizona focuses on all aspects of a student's life.
The student focuses on improvement and awareness in five areas: emotional, mental, physical, social, and spiritual.
All five areas are essential to the success of the student.
When a student takes the steps to develop into a complete, well-rounded person she is on the "trail to success".
Students and staff work together to develop a unique blend.
Copper Canyon has a community of warmth, respect, mutual cooperation, friendship, leadership, and love.
The students and the staff are truly a team.
Students have opportunities to develop leadership skills.
Each student has the opportunity of leading a community service project; developing budgeting skills; developing a resume; building crafts, etc.
Taking part in skill building projects is an everyday occurrence.
Students discover who they are and learn to share themselves with the people they come into contact with.
Each student learns to confront the past and look forward to the future by following a very proven "Trail to Success".
This "Trail to Success" leads each student to develop self-esteem, self-awareness, self-confidence, self-reliance and self-management.

School Overview

School Type Alternative School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other special emphasis association(s)
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12
Year Founded 1997

Student Body

Total Students 85 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color 18%
State avg.: 31%
Students by Grade Copper Canyon Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 9 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 25%
Average Class Size 14 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Khaki pants/shorts colored shirts/polos)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $82,000
Tuition Notes Tuition is $6600 per month
Acceptance Rate 50%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Shannon Rhoda
Admissions Associate Darren Prince

Sports

Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Soccer, Softball, VolleyballBasketballSoccer,
SoftballVolleyball,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Southwestern Academy / Beaver Creek Ranch (2.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Camp Verde United Christian School (9.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St Joseph Catholic Montessori (10.8 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Rimrock Southwestern Academy / Beaver Creek Ranch
    HC 64 Box 235
    Rimrock , AZ , 86335
    (626)799-5010
    2.6  mi  |  28  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Camp Verde Camp Verde United Christian School
    (Christian)
    Po Box 3126
    Camp Verde , AZ , 86322
    (928)567-0415
    (Christian)
    9.3  mi  |  77  students  |  Gr.  K-8
  • Sedona Verde Valley School
    3511 Verde Valley School Road
    Sedona , AZ , 86351
    (928)284-2272
    10.6  mi  |  104  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Cottonwood St Joseph Catholic Montessori
    (Roman Catholic)
    2715 E State Route 89a
    Cottonwood , AZ , 86326
    (928)649-0624
    (Roman Catholic)
    10.8  mi  |  89  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Cottonwood
    Verde Valley Christian School
    (Baptist)
    102 S Willard St
    Cottonwood , AZ , 86326
    (928)634-8113
    (Baptist)
    12.9  mi  |  80  students  |  Gr.  PK-5

School Reviews

  • Recommended September 07, 2013 - We were very pleased with the entire experience. We felt our daughter was consistently receiving the highest level of care. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 06, 2013 - Couldn''t have been a better experience. Everything has been perfect from the start. Could not ask for more. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended August 29, 2013 - A great program with a great staff. All have been pretty much smooth flowing since the start. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 23, 2013 - Copper Canyon saved our daughter. Thank you very much for the attention that you''ve given for her recovery. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 19, 2013 - Please feel free to use me as a reference. I would certainly recommend you for a service well done. Definitely what Ive been looking for. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 19, 2013 - I think Bri got a lot of skills and self-awareness through Copper Canyon Academy. I had said from day one, I was hoping she would get close to High School graduation by the time she turned 18. Her new school, felt the sooner she came the better. It was wise that she started with most of the kids, since social groups are so important to High School. She is doing great at Fusion Academy since it is a one on one approach for instruction (30 kids and staff together from 8:30 to 5:00). She is continuing therapy where Copper Canyon Academy recommended twice per week, the new therapist is familiar with Copper Canyon Academy and Arbinger Institute. To date we have not had any fights. She is doing her school work, chores and therapy. I am certain we will have our ups and downs, but Copper Canyon Academy gave both of us many new skills to start this new journey. Bri loves her new school and therapist but misses many of the girls and staff at Copper Canyon Academy. All of the Rappaports THANK YOU. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 14, 2013 - We are very happy with the program and results for ourselves and daughter. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 10, 2013 - Elizabeth is doing very well; she will be graduating from High School on May. She continues to attend Valley Community Center for her therapy one day per week. She will be attending college. Elizabeth will like to become a Therapist, all this is due to the outstanding job done by everyone at Copper Canyon Academy. May God bless everyone, love you all! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 10, 2013 - I feel that Copper Canyon Academy saved my daughter''s life. I have only admiration for Copper Canyon Academy. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 10, 2013 - I will like to thank all of you for your support during these hard times. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended August 02, 2013 - Overall, our experience in Copper Canyon Academy was great. Our therapist was amazing. Our daughter''s House Mom was the best. They both were so great in communicating with us. In these situations you are dealing with kids at their worst and parents at their wits end and they do a great job handling my daughter''s needs. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 24, 2013 - Paul and staff, everyone at Copper Canyon Academy were compassionate and professional. You have made a lifelong difference in our lives. My daughter is finally living life instead of running from it. A huge thanks to George for his understanding and positive nature during a difficult time in our family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 24, 2013 - I have been impressed with the great services and empathy provided by CCA representatives. Stephanie was just absolutely outstanding, she is not only competent, but extremely empathetic. If Stephanie is an example of the professionalism of CCA, then CCA is in great hands. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 17, 2013 - We enjoyed the student''s tour of the school; they were helpful and nice with lots of information. Stephanie was extremely helpful and supportive. Tina was very empathetic of Alyssa''s and our difficult separation but we felt totally confident that we were leaving her in safe hands. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended July 03, 2013 - It was very important for me to meet with every team member whom will be involved in the care of my sweet Elizabeth. Every One exceeded my expectations. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 25, 2013 - The facility offered peace of mind in a very turbulent time in our and our daughter''s life. They have continued to offer support and are always quick to answer questions and concerns. A top rate facility! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 25, 2013 - Taylor Watts, Mike Gurr and Paul Taylor were all great. Their dedications to their jobs are evident in their continued help with the girls. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 12, 2013 - Thank you to everyone at Copper Canyon for taking the time to meet with us and make us feel welcome and at home. It was so much easier leaving our daughter at Copper Canyon knowing that the people surrounding her cared deeply about her and our family and were willing to take the time to make sure we had connected with everyone and had everything we needed. Thank you!!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 12, 2013 - Placing a child in a residential program is very stressful experience for parents/grandparents. The admissions experience at Copper Canyon Academy helped reduce the anxiety associated with that process. Thank you. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 09, 2013 - I was so impressed with every detail of Copper Canyon Academy. The academy''s soft spoken style and delivery method made my daughter and me as a parent comfortable with all they present. The professional therapists create an opportunity for open, honest dialogue long after they graduate the program. I will always highly recommend Copper Canyon Academy as the healthy resource of choice for parents of troubled teen girls to become the best women they can be. The passion and concern for every student is apparent. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 30, 2013 - The communication has been wonderful so far. I have been extremely pleased at the responsiveness of everyone at Copper Canyon Academy. Thank you. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended May 20, 2013 - Copper Canyon is an amazing program in so many ways -- and the quality of the program is exceeded only by the kindness of the faculty, staff and administrators. Thank you for all you do on behalf of my daughter and us (the befuddled parents). - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 18, 2013 - We had a great experience with Copper Canyon Academy. Our daughter has done very well since her participation in the program. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 14, 2013 - Copper Canyon was a huge help to my daughter and to myself and her father. All of us learned some great skills on how to live our lives more peacefully and with more control. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 13, 2013 - Everyone I have dealt with so far has been very nice, helpful, responsive and very much takes pride in working there. It reaffirms my decision that it''s the right place for my daughter. Thank you for asking. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 09, 2013 - Thank you for making our first day a positive and comfortable experience. When we left Amy we knew she was in a safe and caring place with staff that would truly care for her. We have been very impressed with everyone we have met and talked with and appreciate all the extra time you have taken to return phone calls, answer questions, and make sure we have all the information we need. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 06, 2013 - We couldn''t ask for anything better than what we have experienced for the last 3 months our daughter has been here the staff and immediate responses from them is excellent. Thanks. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 28, 2013 - Everything so far as our daughter has been here for three months, we couldn''t ask for any better communication and support from all of the staff. Thanks. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 28, 2013 - The students who helped with the campus tour were very mature and informative. The Copper Canyon Academy staffs were experienced and very professional. The staffs put us at ease and were very compassionate. They made us feel a lot better about placing our daughter at Copper Canyon Academy. Thanks! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 23, 2013 - Copper Canyon was such a perfect fit for my daughter. It provided her with a place to face safely her problems, to learn how to cope with them, and to find herself in terms of her strengths and how to cope with her weaknesses. It saved her life, and this is not an overstatement. Many, many thanks. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2013 - I love Copper Canyon Academy. It helped my daughter and I to better communicate and have a relationship. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 08, 2013 - Our daughter graduated both the therapeutic and high school programs this past Friday (July 29, 2011) and has been back home just a few days but so far all is fantastic. A new level of self-confidence and self-respect as we have never seen before. Copper Canyon Academy truly has saved not just our daughter but our entire family. I will gladly speak on behalf of the program with any caregivers who are trying to make the gutt-renching decision on whether Copper Canyon is for them or not. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 04, 2013 - I felt very comfortable while Lauris was at Copper Canyon Academy that she was safe, well cared for, and receiving the therapy that she needed. Although it was a very difficult decision to make, sending her away to Copper Canyon Academy, it was the best decision for the whole family. Thank you. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 04, 2013 - I can only say I am very thankful. Thank you for giving my granddaughter the tools that I could not. Our world is angry and hostile the youth are demonstrating this on all levels, even on each other. I am in constant prayer for her guidance and solid choices which would lead her to success. Thanks to All of You for your help. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 02, 2013 - Copper Canyon Academy was a godsend to our family. I''m very grateful that it was there to help our daughter and us. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 27, 2013 - I have found all the staff at Copper Canyon responsive, friendly and competent. I have had a few issues with logistical matters but these have always been resolved. It appears to me that exchange of emails with my daughter is a bit slow. When I answer "meets expectations" that is good --I had high expectations. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 25, 2013 - Our family''s experience with Copper Canyon Academy exceeded our expectations in all areas. I couldn''t have imagined a staff so completely committed to each and every girl''s personal progress. The people employed at Copper Canyon Academy go above and beyond in terms of academic support, therapeutic support and creating an environment where the girls feel safe to find their direction again. I am so grateful for the staff''s high level of professionalism and genuine concern for our daughter. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 24, 2013 - It''s a wonderful program. Before Copper Canyon Academy, I had lost touch with my daughter. Now, I have her back and I enjoy spending time with her. That''s worth everything. Her future is bright and happy. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Homeschool or Private School?
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Religious Schools: An Overview
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:      For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Related School Videos