St. Barnabas Episcopal School

322 W Michigan Avenue
Deland, FL 32720-0327
Tel: (386)734-3005
Grades: PK - 8 | 362 students
The mission of St. Barnabas Episcopal School is to challenge each student in a supportive environment that promotes academic excellence, sound moral values and high self-esteem within a framework of God's love.
St. Barnabas Episcopal School was created to be a center of sound learning, new discovery and the pursuit of wisdom, wherein Christ is the source of all truth.
We believe that the development of the whole child is most important and we look for spiritual, moral and mental growth for each child.
We further believe children are to have respect for God, for their families and for those in authority and for the dignity if every person.
We feel the purpose of education is to develop productive and capable citizens within an atmosphere of Christian love and discipline.
Each child is unique. The child's background, intellectual ability, creativity and interests must be recognized and incorporated into an appropriate learning program so each may attain the highest level possible.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)
Florida Kindergarten Council (FKC)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1971
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2003

Student Body

Total Students 362 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 21%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade St. Barnabas Episcopal School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 28 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 100%
Average Class Size 18 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Khaki pants and polo shirts)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $6,600
Tuition Notes Tuition ranges from $3,190 for Pre-K through $7,425 for Middle School. We accept Step Up for Students Scholarships and participate in the free Voluntary Pre-K program (VPK).
% on Financial Aid 10%
Admissions Director Lizzie Guenther

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Bowling, Cheering, Flag Football, Football, Golf, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
BowlingCheering,
Flag FootballFootball,
GolfTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess and Go Club, National Junior Art Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, Student Government Association, Tomorrow's Leaders Today-Leadership Club, Yearbook Club Yearbook Club, Chess and Go Club,
National Junior Art Honor Society,
National Junior Honor Society,
Student Government Association,
Tomorrow's Leaders Today-Leadership Club,

School Notes:

St. Barnabas Episcopal School received the National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence Award in 2003. Our standardized test scores place in the top 4% of the nation. We are a brain based school whose teachers are trained in the multiple intelligence approach. Our curriculum is integrated and uses the humanities approach. We are developmentally appropriate and promote hands-on, student centered learning.

Profile last updated: 01/07/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Lighthouse Christian Preparatory Academy (2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Peter Catholic School (0.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. Peter Catholic School (0.4 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Deland
    Grades: PK-8 | 270 students
    0.4 miles
    421 W New York Avenue
    Deland, FL 32720
    (386)822-6010
    0.4PK-8
    270
  • Deland
    Casa Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-5 | 32 students
    0.5 miles
    217 N Stone St Ste B
    Deland, FL 32720
    (386)734-5454
    0.5PK-5
    32
  • Deland
    Grades: NS-PK | 50 students
    0.5 miles
    724 N Woodland Blvd
    Deland, FL 32720
    (386)734-6214
    0.5NS-PK
    50
  • Deland
    Grades: PK-8 | 272 students
    0.9 miles
    1025 W Minnesota Ave
    Deland, FL 32720
    (386)734-7791
    0.9PK-8
    272
  • Deland
    Grades: PK-6 | 127 students
    0.9 miles
    509 E Pennsylvania Avenue
    Deland, FL 32724
    (386)736-3632
    0.9PK-6
    127

School Reviews

Absolutely LOVE this school...the opportunities for my children are sooo much more than we expected. Staff are amazing and we feel truly blessed to have found this school.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I am not a parent, but I am a grandparent of two wonderful grandsons who attend St. Barnabas. They have been so happy attending the school and as a retired classroom teacher myself, I can see that they are learning spiritually, academically, and physically everyday. They love learning and that is due to the teachers and administrators of St. Barnabas.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Our family has been blessed with wonderful, encouraging teachers in this Christian school environment. The staff and administration is available to discuss any concerns in a respectable manner. I am so excited to see my 2nd grader grown and develop as a spiritual person in this positive environment .... I would not have it any other way!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
St. Barnabas has been an amazing place to work. In the number of years that I''ve been here, I''ve loved the opportunity to work with students from varying backgrounds. I love the ability to work outside the box with my students. There aren''t many schools where you have the freedom to build bridges in science class, act out Shakespeare with the Orlando Shakespeare Company and work with teachers who truly devote their lives to their students. I love that our school is family oriented enough for students to not become a number, as they do in many other schools, but to truly be a family. I would highly recommend same morning this is a place to work and as a community to raise and educate your children.
- Posted by Teacher, 07/24/15
This was our first year, it was amazing! I''m so happy that we made the switch to St.B. Not only do I feel my daughter is excelling academicly, but as a person as well. I have noticed a change in her mannerisms and all around attitude since she has started at this school. I was nervous at first because the school is smaller than I was used to and everyone seemed so close. This was not a problem at all. Every parent, teacher and administrator have been so kind and loving. I feel at home at the school and so does my daughter. Her teacher this year (Mrs. Newbold) is absolutely amazing. She takes the time to understand each child and she appreciates their differences instead of trying to force them to be a certain way. Even telling my daughter and other children, that she "loves" them. I personally believe it is so important for kids to know they are loved all around and St. B does this for my daughter. Oh- forgot to mention all the sports that the kids have the opertunity to play!! St. Barnabas has kept us very active and busy this year!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I have only great things to say about this school . My daughter has had the best experience here. Including bible with great academics is important in our home . This school offers both and so much more. The teachers are very caring . Special Kudos to Mrs Holland , what an excellent teacher and person , you will be missed by my daughter as she moves on to high school .
- Posted by Parent, 05/30/15
St Barnabas has great academics. The teaching staff is compassionate and caring while maintaining high academic and conduct standards. My son will be returning for his 3rd year this Fall and I am so grateful to have had him attend St Barnabas for those delicate Middle School years!
- Posted by Parent, 05/30/15
I am a Parent and have we have been at St. Barnabas for 7 years. Our child loves her Teachers and the Administration. St. B has a great education, sports and arts program. We wish they had a high school so we could stay 4 more years. Awesome Job St. Barnabas !!!
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15
Absolutely LOVE this school...the opportunities for my children are sooo much more than we expected. Staff are amazing and we feel truly blessed to have found this school.. I even noticed my daughters mannerism and have more patience and respect for each other's !
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15
SBES has been an answer to prayer for our family. My child is being taught above her years and feels challenged enough to feel a sense of confidence when she gets questions right and able to laugh at herself when she's wrong. The teachers leave an impact on their hearts.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Volusia County, FL is $4,965 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Volusia County, FL is 92% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).