Mount Vernon Presbyterian School

510 Mount Vernon Highway NE
Atlanta, GA 30328-0303
Tel: (404)252-3448
Grades: PK-12
Mount Vernon Presbyterian School is a school of inquiry, innovation, and impact.
Grounded in Christian values, we prepare all students to be college ready, globally competitive, and engaged citizen leaders. Seeking to be the best in developing and delivering a 21st century learning experience, Mount Vernon is a Christian, college-preparatory school serving students in Preschool through grade 12.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Georgia Accrediting Commission
Atlanta Association of Independent Schools (AAAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
National Association of College Admissions Counselors
Religious Affiliation Presbyterian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1972

Student Body

Total Students n/a
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 24%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 101 teachers
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 17 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Economics, AP English Language & Composition, AP Government & Politics, AP Latin, AP Physics, AP Calculus AB & BC, AP Literature, AP US History, AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Environmental Science, AP French, AP Spanish, AP Art, AP Statistics, AP World History
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(khakis and polos except Wed, formal uniform for chapel)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 15 / Aug. 30 / rolling
Tuition Notes Apply for Financial Aid with CFO Bruce Morine...ext 2257...
Admissions Director Kirsten Beard
Admissions Associate Christy Dickson - Lower School


Total Sports Offered 14 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, WrestlingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
TennisTrack and Field,

School Notes:

Mount Vernon Presbyterian School …

  • Provides a college preparatory environment dedicated to developing students who are motivated to excel in life.
  • Inspires all students to pursue academic excellence, take pride in their work, develop leadership skills and celebrate their achievements.
  • Motivates students to become independent thinkers, to set and achieve goals and to be accountable for their actions.
  • Provides a Christian environment where students are encouraged to develop their own personal faith and spirituality.
  • Compliments the academic program with a wide range of activities to develop the mind, body and spirit of each student.
  • Respects the unique value of each member of the school community.
  • Expects and encourages all faculty, staff and students to lead lives of honor, integrity and high moral character at all times.
  • Believes that diversity and global awareness enrich the learning experience.
  • Demonstrates a concern for the welfare of others through grade appropriate outreach programs.
  • Creates an atmosphere where students enjoy learning, have fun and develop lifelong relationships.
  • Our School has developed a set of 21st century core competencies that are infused within the entire educational program called “The 21st Century Mount Vernon Mind.”

Profile last updated: 01/29/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Cumberland Academy of Georgia (0.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Cumberland Academy of Georgia (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Concourse Parkway KinderCare (1.1 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Atlanta
    Cumberland Academy of Georgia
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 78 students
    0.2 miles
    650A Mt. Vernon Hwy., NE
    Atlanta, GA 30328
  • Atlanta
    Weber School
    Grades: 9-12 | 219 students
    1 miles
    6751 Roswell Rd Ne
    Atlanta, GA 30328
  • Atlanta
    Grades: 6-12 | 78 students
    1 miles
    227 Sandy Springs Place, Suite 422
    Atlanta, GA 30328
  • Atlanta
    Concourse Parkway KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK
    1.1 miles
    9 Concourse Pkwy Northeast
    Atlanta, GA 30328
  • Atlanta
    Grades: K-8 | 507 students
    1.6 miles
    7171 Glenridge Dr Ne
    Atlanta, GA 30328

School Reviews

Great School, Great Student body, Great Teachers and Great support from the parents.
- Posted by Parent, 04/20/15
I am a grandparent and very proud of three at MVPS. I just read Dr. Jacobsen''s address--WOW! The world needs to know about Mt. Vernon. How fortunate for my grandkids and their parents to be a part of this exceptional school. Rosalie J. Link (The Hale family)
- Posted by Parent, 02/15/15
We picked the RIGHT SCHOOL! The intellectual energy on the entire campus is amazing. The way the entire staff energizes you is so uplifting!!! I love what my son is learning, but more importantly how he is learning to think! In addition, there is a real family feel...children are known and celebrated! A great combination of nurturing environment and challenging opportunities. Supportive teachers and faculty work hard to help every student become confident and capable. My son has come out of his shell and found his place! I hear everyday about "What I have learned" and "Mommy do you know that.....?" I am astounded by the teachers and entire faculty that support my son daily. This is the best kept secret of Atlanta!
- Posted by Parent, 10/10/14
Everything about MVPS is OUTSTANDING -- Dr. Jacobsen is a phenomenal leader, the administrative team and teachers are creative and truly care about our children, the innovative activities they do with our children are so engaging and fun, the extra activities they have for our children are so diverse and unique (they have lacrosse now too starting with middle school), I could go on and on! My family has been part of the MVPS family for six years (we have a first grader and a third grader), and I am just in awe of how the School is so open to change and new methods of thinking and teaching. There is no "textbook curriculum" at MVPS that you can get at any other school. The administrative team and teachers collaborate together with national and international educational leaders and design their own lesson plans and a truly unique program for our children that I think really encourages learning and global responsibility. I am amazed at what my children know and how much they have learned! High school is a few years off for us, but I look at how the MVPS high school students speak, conduct themselves and interact with my young children and adults and each other, and I am highly impressed.
- Posted by Parent, 10/10/14
The teachers at MVPS are superb! They are dedicated to student learning and always go above and beyond. Wonderful opportunities for students to participate in a wide variety of "extras." A very family oriented school with lots of opportunities for parent involvement. Interim week for Upper School students is fantastic---travel experiences have been outstanding.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
Terrific acedemic environment- the teachers are creative and engageing. Athletic programs develop the athlete and the leaders!
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
We have been at MVPS for 7 years and have seen many changes, all for the best! The school offers an excellent academic program and is improving every year. The teachers are amazing and they engage students in innovative and inventive curriculum to extend the learning process. Many extracurricular opportunities are available including sports, service and arts. Sports teams are increasingly competitive, yet accessible, after the switch to GHSA. Highly recommend MVPS for it''s balanced approach to develop a well rounded, college ready child.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
We have been at Mount Vernon Presbyterian School for 8 years. We started in the 3 day 3''s program and currently have a 3rd and 5th grader. We were very happy with our choice of school 8 years ago, but over the last 3 years, we have become truly ecstatic about the direction that Brett Jacobsen and the leadership of MVPS has taken the school. The school focuses on creating the "Mount Vernon Mind", teaching our boys to be innovators, creative thinkers, ethical decision makers, and truly, my boys are not only learning about these terms, they are truly embracing the behaviors...and we couldn''t be happier.
- Posted by Parent, 01/31/13
Great school. 2 of our kids graduated from there and got early decision offers to their top choice colleges. Last child is still in the high school. All 3 have loved the school. Academics are good to excellent and have improved each year. Availability to just about any sport is excellent. Only major sport not offered is Lacrosse. Great system of academic and athletic awards, and the student leadership system is also outstanding. Very personalized atmosphere and open to new ideas. I''d also say there is an innovative and global emphasis to the school which is pleasantly surprising.
- Posted by Parent, 10/27/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
The A to Z of Private Schools
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Is Your Skill-set Still on Release 1.0?
September 20, 2015
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
5 Reasons You Might Be Looking At The Wrong Schools
September 07, 2015
Choosing the right school for your child is a major project. We look a five reasons why you might be looking at the wrong schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Atlanta, GA is $11,088 for elementary schools and $15,641 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Atlanta, GA is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).