Woodward Academy

1662 Rugby Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30337-0303
     Tel: (404)765-4001
        
   
Grades: PK - 12
Woodward Academy is the largest independent day school in the continental United States and offers a full-range of college preparatory instructional tracks to students in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 on two campuses.
Woodward includes families from 23 metro Atlanta counties, creating a community rich in diversity of faiths and ethnicities.
 At Woodward Academy students receive wise, individual guidance every step of the way, gain a deep respect for difference, and enjoy prolific opportunities to try and triumph.
 This allows students to discover their own greatest strengths and to reach their fullest potential.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1900

Student Body

Total Students n/a
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 48%
State avg.: 24%

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 269 teachers
Average Class Size 18 students
Number of AP Courses 20 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Khaki pants and polo (uniform))

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Mar. 1
Tuition Notes Please go to:http://www.woodward.edu/admissions/tuition/index.aspx for more information.
% on Financial Aid 11%
Admissions Director Rebecca Eckstein
Admissions Associate Laura Alice Lopez

Sports

Total Sports Offered 22 sports
Sports Ballet, Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Drill Team, Equestrian, Fencing, Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Riflery, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, WrestlingBalletBaseball,
BasketballCheering,
Cross CountryDance,
DivingDrill Team,
EquestrianFencing,
FootballGolf,
LacrosseRiflery,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldUltimate Frisbee,
VolleyballWrestling,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 1 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Co-curriculars: http://www.woodward.edu/students/activities/index.aspx Co-curriculars: http://www.woodward.edu/students/activities/index.aspx,

School Notes:

Mission:
Woodward Academy combines the proud traditions of Atlanta’s oldest college-preparatory school with an innovative, challenging, and well-rounded educational experience. In a broadly diverse and caring community, Woodward embraces the uniqueness of each individual. Guided by our core values of Excellence, Character, and Opportunity, we champion student success.

Motto:
Excellence – Character – Opportunity ®

Vision Statement: 
Woodward Academy will be a national model in college-preparatory education, developing critical thinkers and ethical problem solvers, in an inclusive community, rich in opportunities for student success.

Profile last updated: 09/03/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Pathway Christian School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Pathway Christian School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Discovery Montessori Academy (1.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • AtlantaPathway Christian School
      (Christian)
    1706 Washington Ave
    AtlantaGA 30344
    (404)763-3216
      (Christian)
    0.9 mi | 90 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • AtlantaDiscovery Montessori Academy
    Montessori School
    1453 East Cleveland Ave.
    AtlantaGA 30344
    (404)767-5005
    Montessori School
    1.2 mi | 48 students | Gr. NS-3                      
  • East PointChrist Lutheran School
      (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    2719 Delowe Dr
    East PointGA 30344
    (404)767-2892
      (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    1.6 mi | 40 students | Gr. PK-6                      
  • AtlantaSouth Atlanta Learning Academy
      (Non-sectarian)
    2691 Jefferson Terrace
    AtlantaGA 30344
    (404)626-2126
      (Non-sectarian)
    1.6 mi | 90 students | Gr. 1-12                      
  • East PointMount Olive Early Learning Center
    Daycare / Preschool  (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    3366 Mount Olive Rd
    East PointGA 30344
    (404)768-4162
    Daycare / Preschool  (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    2 mi | 24 students | Gr. PK-K                      

School Reviews

3 months ago
My daughter is enrolled at the Primary School. We had our hearts set on Woodward even before she was born! For the last 3 years Woodward has exceeded our expectations!
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
Woodward Academy has been an amazing school for my daughters. Both of my girls started Woodward at Pre-K. When it comes to academics the faculty is top notch, the classes are small, the support for students who need help is available and the academic guidance is provided. The extracurricular programs are great - a wide range from football and riflery to Outdoors Club and Debate Team. We love being part of the diverse Woodward family!
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
Choosing Woodward Academy was one of the best decisions my husband and I have ever made for our children (current 8th and 10th graders). We have been at Woodward since they were in 1st and 3rd grades. There is no better school in Atlanta. The level of education excellence and commitment to real learning constantly amazes us. The students are being taught to be lifelong learners who deeply analyze issues and take pride in their education and knowledge. Woodward is also a family. The teachers, staff and administration really know the students and care about them. They go the extra mile to help the students achieve their individual goals. We live far from Woodward - almost 45 miles. It is not easy for us to make this work but it is well worth it! We are grateful for Woodward every day.
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
My child has attended Woodward since kindergarten (seven years now). She has always loved the school, and so have I as her parent. The teachers and staff are very attuned to each student and know them very well. In the early grades, the teachers and staff are very nurturing. In the upper grades they are supportive and set clear expectations. The arts programs are really top notch, even in the elementary grades. The facilities are amazing. The academics are very solid. Woodward is an inclusive environment where diversity of many types exists within a very comfortable school community. I highly recommend this school.
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
My two children, (7th & 9 th grade) each with very different interests and learning styles, have been very happy at WA. The unparalleled arts program and stellar athletics program have offered many opportunities for each child. The depth and breadth of the course offerings challenge both of my very different learners. We are very pleased with the diversity at Woodward as well as their international studies programs and learning opportunities.
- Posted by Parent
4 months ago
Woodward is an excellent school. My children are learning to be creative independent thinkers. In the younger grades, they learn by participating in many hands-on learning experiences. They are nurtured and cared for by extraordinary teachers. My older children are challenged and excited about school. I highly recommend Woodward.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
I went to this Academy K-12 and my brother as well, overall it is a very good school that offers many opportunities to its students.
- Posted by Student/Alumni

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
So Many Choices
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student first name:
Student last name:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Phone:
City:
State:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Atlanta, GA is $11,239 for elementary schools and $15,635 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Atlanta, GA is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos