Christ Lutheran School

315 S Hughes Street,
Little Rock, AR, 72205-0722
Tel: (501)663-5212
Grades: PK - 8 | 131 students
 Christ Lutheran School is deeply rooted in a tradition of academic excellence, Christian character development and education for the whole child. The preschool program nurtures an excitement for learning and provides a strong foundation for spiritual, academic, social, emotional and physical development.
Our well-rounded elementary program challenges students in a supportive atmosphere, while our junior high program prepares students for the rigors of secondary education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1870

Student Body

Total Students 131 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 5%
State avg.: 13%
Students by Grade Christ Lutheran School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 16 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 25%
Average Class Size 12 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(CLS logo polo shirt and khakis)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $5,800
Tuition Notes Tuition varies based on grade level. Please contact the school office for more information.
% on Financial Aid 8%
Acceptance Rate 90%
National avg.: 85%

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryFootball,
GolfTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Band, grades 4-8, Choir, Student Leadership Team, Walking Club Choir, Walking Club, Band, grades 4-8,
Student Leadership Team,

School Notes:

  • Christ Lutheran School values technology in education. From Rosetta Stone online education to iPads and computer classes, students benefit from technology-enriched learning in their 21st century world.  In addition to strong academics, Christ Lutheran School offers music and athletic opportunities for students to explore and expand their talents. Small class sizes allow teachers to better meet the varied needs of our students. Please visit our website at www.CLSLR.org or our facebook page to see why our families love CLS!

  • Profile last updated: 06/20/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Lutheran High School (0.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. Mark's Episcopal Day School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. Mark's Episcopal Day School (0.9 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Little Rock Lutheran High School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    6711 W Markham St
    Little Rock , AR , 72205
    (501)663-5117
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    0.1  mi  |  121  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Little Rock
    Catholic High School For Boys
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    6300 Father Tribou St
    Little Rock , AR , 72205
    (501)664-3939
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    0.5  mi  |  713  students  |  Gr.  9-12
  • Little Rock
    St. Mark's Episcopal Day School
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Episcopal)
    1000 N Mississippi
    Little Rock , AR , 72207
    (501)225-2535
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Episcopal)
    0.9  mi  |  120  students  |  Gr.  PK-K
  • Little Rock
    Johnsons Montessori School
    Montessori School
    2 Van Cir Ste 6
    Little Rock , AR , 72207
    (501)614-3860
    Montessori School
    1.1  mi  |  51  students  |  Gr.  K-2
  • Little Rock
    Christian Kindergarten & Nurse
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Disciples of Christ)
    1500 North Mississippi
    Little Rock , AR , 72207
    (501)225-5767
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Disciples of Christ)
    1.1  mi  |  4  students  |  Gr.  PK-K

School Reviews

  • Recommended October 27, 2012 - Our children have attended CLS since pre-K, and I can''t imagine having a better experience with a school. CLS fosters a caring, compassionate environment while providing outstanding academic programs. The faculty is fantastic - a wealth of experience with such a loving attitude. Our dedicated principal works tirelessly to drive CLS into the future while preserving the culture that makes CLS so inviting. We are truly blessed to be a part of the CLS family. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 06, 2012 - CLS has been a great school for our family. It offers excellent academic preparation for its students as they move into high school. Our youngest is a current eighth grader and is active in school sports and band in addition to his studies. Our older two children are now in college, and both excelled at a highly rated public high school due in large part to their preparation at CLS. The teachers provide a great balance of nurturing and discipline for a great classroom environment. We have a strong principal that has a vision to the future while embracing the important traditions of the school. All types of students can flourish at CLS, which offers programs for both gifted and special needs students. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 06, 2012 - Christ Lutheran School has the best teachers and staff, who will love, teach, and share God''s love to your children. We could not have asked for a better learning environment. Our children have been there since pre-school and the oldest will be graduating 8th grade this year. This is a bitter sweet time, as we decide our daughter''s next step. We do know that CLS has helped prepare her for what ever lies ahead. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 06, 2012 - My daughter has attended Christ Lutheran School since Pre-K3. She is now in 3rd grade and we are continuously delighted with her academic progress. The teachers at Christ Lutheran really care about the children and it shows! My daughter loves Christ Lutheran, her teachers, and the staff. We are very excited about Heidi Guelzow''s dedication and vision for the school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended October 06, 2012 - An excellent school with high academic standards. I would highly recommend it especially if your child needs more individual attention. Experienced, Excellent ,kind teachers ! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 08, 2012 - Absolutely love Christ Lutheran. Can not say enough good things. Teachers are awesome! They all are wonderful Christian examples which I love. Academics are outstanding. My older child is now in High School and was very prepared when she left CLS. I highly recommend this school. The kids receive a lot of individual attention. My daughter loves to go to school and that says a lot! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 08, 2012 - CLS is a great school with fantastic faculty and resources. Small class sizes and extra "reach-out" program if your child needs any extra assistance. We love the school and faculty. Our child loves it just as much, if not more. Great school!!!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 08, 2012 - We have had our children enrolled at Christ Lutheran for 6 years and LOVE this school! We wish it didn''t end at 8th grade! They are receiving a Christ-centered, quality education that is affordable. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 08, 2012 - CLS has it all! Outstanding academics, great teachers, lots of extracurricular activities and a Christian envirnoment. I truely believe that CLS is the best school in Little Rock. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended September 08, 2012 - Class size is small, which allows for individualized attention. Staff is outstanding and really care about each child''s success. Academics are challenging, but not overwhelming. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Related School Videos