Montessori Academy

595 S River St,
Batavia, IL, 60510-0605
Tel: (630)879-2586
Montessori Academy provides quality, nurturing education unequaled in the Fox Valley.
Children that have had the benefit of a Montessori education are better prepared for life.
They have acquired a positive self-image, independence, self-assurance and a joy for the learning experience.
These are priceless experiences which they will carry with them throughout their lifetime.
The goals of Montessori Academy are to be a special place where a child is accepted for their “uniqueness” and where individual needs are respected and met.
A place where the child learns to respect the rights of others and to appreciate what it means to be a part of a caring community, a home away from home.
A place where the child learns to bring structure and order in life.
A place where the child learns solid moral values to use through life.
A place where the child receives a solid academic foundation on which to build a lifetime of learning.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1971

Student Body

Total Students 75 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 35%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Montessori Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 50%
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary by program. Send us an email and we will send you the rate for the program you are interested in joining!
Admissions Director Stacie Benjamin

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess, French, Spanish, String Chess, French, Spanish, String,

School Notes:

    • 3, 4, and 5 Half Day Preschool Programs
    • Kindergarten
    • Grades 1-8
    • Affordable Tuition Rates
    • Before and After School Programs
    • Hours of Operation 7AM - 5:45PM
    • Low Student Teacher Ratios
    • Weekly Summer Camp Programs
    • French & Spanish offered
    • Chess & Yoga offered
    • Strings offered

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Mooseheart Child City & School (2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Immanuel Lutheran School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Immanuel Lutheran School (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Batavia Immanuel Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    950 Hart Rd.
    Batavia , IL , 60510
    (630)406-0157
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    0.5  mi  |  293  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Batavia
    Batavia KinderCare
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1505 S. Batavia Avenue
    Batavia , IL , 60510
    (630)879-9977
    Early Childhood / Day Cares
    1.2  mi  |   students  |  Gr.  NS-PK
  • Batavia
    Holy Cross Catholic School
    (Roman Catholic)
    2300 Main St
    Batavia , IL , 60510
    (630)593-5290
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.8  mi  |  429  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Mooseheart Mooseheart Child City & School
    (Christian)
    255 W James J Davis
    Mooseheart , IL , 60539
    (630)906-3646
    (Christian)
    2  mi  |  211  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Aurora Marmion Academy
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    1000 Butterfield Rd
    Aurora , IL , 60502
    (630)897-6936
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    2.4  mi  |  513  students  |  Gr.  9-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended May 12, 2014 - Montessori Academy is a wonderful school. We''re thoroughly happy our child is a student there. Their campus is beautiful and allows for daily interaction with nature and space to play outside. There are even organic gardens that the children tend! A magical place. We feel that our child is nurtured in all aspects of living - physically, intellectually, spiritually, socially - at Montessori Academy. The staff are caring and accessible. The enrichment programs offered at MA are varied and interesting. We love it there. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - The Batavia Montessori Academy has a beautiful campus and a fabulous curriculum. my daughter has learned to much from her preschool teacher, Mrs. Jocelyn. I couldn''t be happier with her progression towards independence! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I highly encourage anyone thinking about this school to come visit the campus. The children work and learn in harmony in the presence of wonderful teachers. My child has been here 3years (including summer camp)and he is always eager to get up and start the day. He comes home with great understanding of the solar system or any topic that they are currently studying. They also offer violin, yoga, tae Kwon, Spanish and chess. They also provide wonderful field trips during the year. So many special things happen everyday you really need to see to believe. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 26, 2014 - The excellent learning environment provided by Batavia Montessori Academy is everything I had been looking for. The low teacher to student ratio, the emphasis on learning and exploring fits her perfectly; and the integration of respect for self, others and the world we live in is fantastic. She loves school as a first grader and has never uttered, "I don''t want to go to school today." The Strings program here is another gem of the school, encouraging our daughter''s passion for music to really blossom. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - We were looking for someplace to help nurture our child''s independence and creative spirit and we found that the Batavia Montessori Academy. She can learn new things at her own pace and own interest level. She regularly asks to go to school on the weekends that is how much she enjoys her time at school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - The Montessori method of teaching at this school allows for an Excellent relationship between the teachers, the concrete materials, and the individual needs for my Daughter! Everyone involved with the students show GREAT respect for each other; which is a wonderful example for the students. The environment here is so lovely and stress free, allowing the students to enjoy all aspects of Nature and be comfortable learning at a pace that challenges each individual as well as the whole class. With combined grades in Elementary and up, students not only learn but mentor the other students for the best understanding of the material learned. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - A great academic program in a beautiful natural setting. Montessori Academy is a warm and welcoming place for my child. I have watched him grow so much in so many ways as a result of the Montessori method and the wonderful teachers at this school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - As a parent who works in the education setting I am thoroughly impressed with the connection and compassion the staff have with my son. Although he is only going to be 5, the foundation of his educational experience has been warm and allowed for him to develop and grow in a manner that fosters true learning and feeling safe to be himself. My son continues to grow into a curious and kind little boy who enjoys school each and every day. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - Batavia Montessori Academy gives students a fantastic academic, social, and caring education (in an awesome location, with abundant natural surroundings to explore). As a college instructor, I appreciate the rigor of study found here in a less stressful environment than that of typical schools. The school offers several extracurricular activities, but the school day itself provides many fun, developmental experiences that other schools cannot offer. I genuinely recommend this school for all ages! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - I cannot say enough GREAT things about Batavia Montessory Acadamy! Everyone really take a hands on approach with all their students, as well as giving each child the individual attention they deserve. I would without a doubt recommend Batavia Montessory Acadamy. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - As our Grandaughter approached pre- school and now her elementary education we sought a learning environment that accomplished the following: - A superior learning environment focusing on a challenging curriculum and individual needs and talents. - A student / teacher ratio allowing for quick identification of individual needs or accelerated opportunities. - Greater access to additional music, language, and physical activities - Appropriate attention to teaching respect for fellow students and other cultures or backgrounds. These are the primary value added expectations we have for this school that Public schools are increasingly challenged to meet today. That is not an indictment of most teachers in any way. Rather the trend to increasingly execute a "one size fits all" approach. This we seek to avoid and believe Montessori Batavia addresses. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 24, 2014 - I''m so glad I am able to share the education I received with my child; Montessori Starts your journey for knowledge. As an Alumni and a parent I don''t think there is a better choice for private school. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!