Montessori Academy

595 S River St
Batavia, IL 60510-0605
     Tel: (630)879-2586
        
   
Grades: PK - 8 | 75 students
item which has been noted, verified.
Montessori Academy provides quality, nurturing education unequaled in the Fox Valley.
item which has been noted, verified.
Children that have had the benefit of a Montessori education are better prepared for life.
item which has been noted, verified.
They have acquired a positive self-image, independence, self-assurance and a joy for the learning experience.
item which has been noted, verified.
These are priceless experiences which they will carry with them throughout their lifetime.
item which has been noted, verified.
The goals of Montessori Academy are to be a special place where a child is accepted for their “uniqueness” and where individual needs are respected and met.
item which has been noted, verified.
A place where the child learns to respect the rights of others and to appreciate what it means to be a part of a caring community, a home away from home.
item which has been noted, verified.
A place where the child learns to bring structure and order in life.
item which has been noted, verified.
A place where the child learns solid moral values to use through life.
item which has been noted, verified.
A place where the child receives a solid academic foundation on which to build a lifetime of learning.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1971

Student Body

Total Students 33 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 35%
State avg.: 32%
Students by Grade Montessori Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 11:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 50%
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary by program. Send us an email and we will send you the rate for the program you are interested in joining!
Admissions Director Stacie Benjamin

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess, French, Spanish, String Chess, French, Spanish, String,

School Notes:

  • 3, 4, and 5 Half Day Preschool Programs
  • Kindergarten
  • Grades 1-8
  • Affordable Tuition Rates
  • Before and After School Programs
  • Hours of Operation 7AM - 5:45PM
  • Low Student Teacher Ratios
  • Weekly Summer Camp Programs
  • French & Spanish offered
  • Chess & Yoga offered
  • Strings offered

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Mooseheart Child City & School (2.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Immanuel Lutheran School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Immanuel Lutheran School (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • BataviaImmanuel Lutheran School
      (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    950 Hart Rd.
    BataviaIL 60510
    (630)406-0157
      (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    0.5 mi | 293 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • BataviaHoly Cross Catholic School
      (Roman Catholic)
    2300 Main St
    BataviaIL 60510
    (630)593-5290
      (Roman Catholic)
    2.1 mi | 429 students | Gr. K-9                      
  • MooseheartMooseheart Child City & School
      (Christian)
    255 W James J Davis
    MooseheartIL 60539
    (630)906-3646
      (Christian)
    2.1 mi | 211 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • AuroraMarmion Academy
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    1000 Butterfield Rd
    AuroraIL 60502
    (630)897-6936
    All-boys  (Roman Catholic)
    2.4 mi | 513 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • North AuroraNorth Aurora Seventh-day Adventist School
      (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    940 W Mooseheart Rd
    North AuroraIL 60542
    (630)896-5188
      (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    2.5 mi | 22 students | Gr. KG-8                      

School Reviews

1 year ago
Montessori Academy is a wonderful school. We''re thoroughly happy our child is a student there. Their campus is beautiful and allows for daily interaction with nature and space to play outside. There are even organic gardens that the children tend! A magical place. We feel that our child is nurtured in all aspects of living - physically, intellectually, spiritually, socially - at Montessori Academy. The staff are caring and accessible. The enrichment programs offered at MA are varied and interesting. We love it there.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The Batavia Montessori Academy has a beautiful campus and a fabulous curriculum. my daughter has learned to much from her preschool teacher, Mrs. Jocelyn. I couldn''t be happier with her progression towards independence!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
I highly encourage anyone thinking about this school to come visit the campus. The children work and learn in harmony in the presence of wonderful teachers. My child has been here 3years (including summer camp)and he is always eager to get up and start the day. He comes home with great understanding of the solar system or any topic that they are currently studying. They also offer violin, yoga, tae Kwon, Spanish and chess. They also provide wonderful field trips during the year. So many special things happen everyday you really need to see to believe.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The excellent learning environment provided by Batavia Montessori Academy is everything I had been looking for. The low teacher to student ratio, the emphasis on learning and exploring fits her perfectly; and the integration of respect for self, others and the world we live in is fantastic. She loves school as a first grader and has never uttered, "I don''t want to go to school today." The Strings program here is another gem of the school, encouraging our daughter''s passion for music to really blossom.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
We were looking for someplace to help nurture our child''s independence and creative spirit and we found that the Batavia Montessori Academy. She can learn new things at her own pace and own interest level. She regularly asks to go to school on the weekends that is how much she enjoys her time at school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The Montessori method of teaching at this school allows for an Excellent relationship between the teachers, the concrete materials, and the individual needs for my Daughter! Everyone involved with the students show GREAT respect for each other; which is a wonderful example for the students. The environment here is so lovely and stress free, allowing the students to enjoy all aspects of Nature and be comfortable learning at a pace that challenges each individual as well as the whole class. With combined grades in Elementary and up, students not only learn but mentor the other students for the best understanding of the material learned.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
A great academic program in a beautiful natural setting. Montessori Academy is a warm and welcoming place for my child. I have watched him grow so much in so many ways as a result of the Montessori method and the wonderful teachers at this school.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
As a parent who works in the education setting I am thoroughly impressed with the connection and compassion the staff have with my son. Although he is only going to be 5, the foundation of his educational experience has been warm and allowed for him to develop and grow in a manner that fosters true learning and feeling safe to be himself. My son continues to grow into a curious and kind little boy who enjoys school each and every day.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Batavia Montessori Academy gives students a fantastic academic, social, and caring education (in an awesome location, with abundant natural surroundings to explore). As a college instructor, I appreciate the rigor of study found here in a less stressful environment than that of typical schools. The school offers several extracurricular activities, but the school day itself provides many fun, developmental experiences that other schools cannot offer. I genuinely recommend this school for all ages!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
I cannot say enough GREAT things about Batavia Montessory Acadamy! Everyone really take a hands on approach with all their students, as well as giving each child the individual attention they deserve. I would without a doubt recommend Batavia Montessory Acadamy.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
As our Grandaughter approached pre- school and now her elementary education we sought a learning environment that accomplished the following: - A superior learning environment focusing on a challenging curriculum and individual needs and talents. - A student / teacher ratio allowing for quick identification of individual needs or accelerated opportunities. - Greater access to additional music, language, and physical activities - Appropriate attention to teaching respect for fellow students and other cultures or backgrounds. These are the primary value added expectations we have for this school that Public schools are increasingly challenged to meet today. That is not an indictment of most teachers in any way. Rather the trend to increasingly execute a "one size fits all" approach. This we seek to avoid and believe Montessori Batavia addresses.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
I''m so glad I am able to share the education I received with my child; Montessori Starts your journey for knowledge. As an Alumni and a parent I don''t think there is a better choice for private school.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
What About a Foreign Language School?
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Kane County, IL is $5,217 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Kane County, IL is 96% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).