St. Barnabas Episcopal School

322 W Michigan Avenue
Deland, FL 32720-0327
Tel: (386)734-3005
Grades: PK-8 | 355 students
At St. Barnabas Episcopal School we understand that the right learning environment leaves a lifelong impact on a child.
We draws students from all over Central Florida including Volusia, Seminole, Flagler, and Lake, Counties.
Our core concentration is on cultivating the whole child.
We were founded to be a center of sound learning, new discovery, and the pursuit of wisdom, wherein Christ is the source of all truth.
It is not enough to focus on one aspect of a child; our core philosophy promotes the intellectual, social, emotional, spiritual, and physical development of all students.We recognize that a school is part of the community.
As such, St. Barnabas helps foster a healthy sense of respect-- respect for God, for family, for authority, and for the dignity of every person.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)
Florida Kindergarten Council (FKC)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded 1971
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2003

Student Body

Total Students 355 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
21%
State avg.: 33%
Students by Grade St. Barnabas Episcopal School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 28 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 13:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
100%
Average Class Size 18 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Khaki pants and polo shirts)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $7,100
Tuition Notes Tuition ranges from $3,500 for Pre-K through $7,500 for Middle School. We accept Step Up for Students Scholarships and participate in the free Voluntary Pre-K program (VPK).
% on Financial Aid
10%
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,250
Admissions Director Elizabeth Beckwith

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Flag Football, Football, Golf, Surf Team, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringFlag Football,
FootballGolf,
Surf TeamTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess and Go Club, Children's Choir, Dance Team, National Junior Art Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, Performing Arts Team, Student Government Association, Tomorrow's Leaders Today-Leadership Club Dance Team, Chess and Go Club,
Children's Choir,
National Junior Art Honor Society,
National Junior Honor Society,
Performing Arts Team,
Student Government Association,
Tomorrow's Leaders Today-Leadership Club,

School Notes

  • At St. Barnabas Episcopal School we understand that the right learning environment leaves a lifelong impact on a child. Whether you're considering our preschool, elementary school, or middle school program, we thank you for considering our accredited private school for your child.St. Barnabas Episcopal School draws Central Florida students from Volusia, Seminole, Flagler, Lake, Putnam, and Orange Counties. Our core concentration is on cultivating the whole child. We were founded to be a center of sound learning, new discovery, and the pursuit of wisdom, wherein Christ is the source of all truth. It is not enough to focus on one aspect of a child; our core philosophy promotes the intellectual, social, emotional, spiritual, and physical development of all students.We recognize that a school is part of the community. As such, St. Barnabas helps foster a healthy sense of respect-- respect for God, for family, for authority, and for the dignity of every person. The purpose of a St. Barnabas Episcopal School education is develop well qualified students to pursue a high school of their choice. Our atmosphere of Christian love reinforces this, helping children forge healthy moral attitudes and Christian values.

Profile last updated: 09/24/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed St. Barnabas Episcopal School also viewed these schools: Children's House Montessori School, Trinity Christian Academy, Warner Christian Academy, Basilica School Of St Paul and Grace Academy.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Deland
    Grades: PK-8 | 162 students
    0.9 miles
    509 E Pennsylvania Avenue
    Deland, FL 32724
    (386)736-3632
    0.9PK-8
    162
  • Deltona
    Grades: PK-12 | 577 students
    8.2 miles
    875 Elkcam Blvd
    Deltona, FL 32725
    (386)789-4515
    8.2PK-12
    577
  • Daytona Beach
    Grades: NS-12 | 656 students
    20.9 miles
    1730 S Ridgewood Avenue
    Daytona Beach, FL 32119
    (386)767-5451
    20.9NS-12
    656
  • Daytona Beach
    Grades: PK-8 | 218 students
    21.3 miles
    317 Mullally St
    Daytona Beach, FL 32114
    (386)252-7915
    21.3PK-8
    218
  • Ormond Beach
    Grace Academy
    (Christian)
    Grades: PK-8 | 145 students
    20.9 miles
    1060A West Granada Blvd.
    Ormond Beach, FL 32174
    (386)673-5166
    20.9PK-8
    145

School Reviews

The mostly amazing school in central Florida. My daughter has loved every minute of every day in this school. She is getting ready to enter her final year next school year and we wish every day that St. Barnabas had a high school. The teachers and administration are awesome.
- Posted by Parent, 06/03/16
This is a great school with amazing teachers.
- Posted by Parent, 06/03/16
Our daughter has attended St. Barnabas Episcopal School in DeLand, Florida, from Kindergarten to 8th Grade and will graduate in less than two weeks. We are so very proud of her many accomplishments and have shared numerous wonderful memories through the years. Every single St. B. teacher she has had, and learned from, has been caring, hardworking and has put great effort into seeing that she and all of her classmates obtain the very best from the education you have paid for to ensure they reach their full potential. Because of her elementary and middle school education at St. Barnabas, we feel confident that she has a firm well-rounded foundation that will carry her through any high school and onto the college of her choice.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/16
St. Barnabas is an excellent schools in every aspects. The teachers are very knowledgeable and loving. The head of school and staff are wonderful and caring. My daughter loves her school and she enjoys learning. My daughter got excepted in two charter schools, but we decided to send her to St. Barnabas because of the many good qualities this school has.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/16
I highly recommend St. Barnabas, as it sets your child up for success in life. It gives them life skills, organizational skills, great study skills, and different tools for success in life. It gives them a solid base for their future.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/16
St. Barnabas has been an amazing place to work. In the number of years that I''ve been here, I''ve loved the opportunity to work with students from varying backgrounds. I love the ability to work outside the box with my students. There aren't many schools where you have the freedom to build bridges in science class, act out Shakespeare with the Orlando Shakespeare Company and work with teachers who truly devote their lives to their students. I love that our school is family oriented enough for students to not become a number, as they do in many other schools, but to truly be a family. I would highly recommend same morning this is a place to work and as a community to raise and educate your children.
- Posted by Teacher, 05/17/16
SBES is an amazing school. We travel 45 min to attend SBES. The teachers and administrators are superior. They go out of there way everyday to make sure the students are well educated and cared for. We could not ask for a better school.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
We have been part of the St B community for 9 years, and couldn't be happier with the education, the staff, and the overall development of our children - socially, spiritually, and intellectually. It is a safe environment for our children to grow, learn, and have some fun too!
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
SBES has been absolutely wonderful! We wish we would have started sooner!
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
I am a Parent and have been at St. Barnabas for 3 years. I have only great things to say about this school. Staffs, teachers, and everybody else related to school are amazing and we feel truly blessed to have found this school.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
We truly appreciate the excellent environment and education St. Barnabas provides to our son. In addition, their values and expectations mirror those we have in our home. It feels good knowing that we have a network of fantastic teachers, administrators, and staff members who continue to help us to raise our child to be a successful, confident, and friendly young man.
- Posted by Parent, 05/04/16
This is an excellent school with fantastic staff and teachers. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else.
- Posted by Parent, 04/14/16
Absolutely LOVE this school...the opportunities for my children are sooo much more than we expected. Staff are amazing and we feel truly blessed to have found this school.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I am not a parent, but I am a grandparent of two wonderful grandsons who attend St. Barnabas. They have been so happy attending the school and as a retired classroom teacher myself, I can see that they are learning spiritually, academically, and physically everyday. They love learning and that is due to the teachers and administrators of St. Barnabas.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Our family has been blessed with wonderful, encouraging teachers in this Christian school environment. The staff and administration is available to discuss any concerns in a respectable manner. I am so excited to see my 2nd grader grown and develop as a spiritual person in this positive environment .... I would not have it any other way!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
This was our first year, it was amazing! I''m so happy that we made the switch to St.B. Not only do I feel my daughter is excelling academicly, but as a person as well. I have noticed a change in her mannerisms and all around attitude since she has started at this school. I was nervous at first because the school is smaller than I was used to and everyone seemed so close. This was not a problem at all. Every parent, teacher and administrator have been so kind and loving. I feel at home at the school and so does my daughter. Her teacher this year (Mrs. Newbold) is absolutely amazing. She takes the time to understand each child and she appreciates their differences instead of trying to force them to be a certain way. Even telling my daughter and other children, that she "loves" them. I personally believe it is so important for kids to know they are loved all around and St. B does this for my daughter. Oh- forgot to mention all the sports that the kids have the opertunity to play!! St. Barnabas has kept us very active and busy this year!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I have only great things to say about this school . My daughter has had the best experience here. Including bible with great academics is important in our home . This school offers both and so much more. The teachers are very caring . Special Kudos to Mrs Holland , what an excellent teacher and person , you will be missed by my daughter as she moves on to high school .
- Posted by Parent, 05/30/15
St Barnabas has great academics. The teaching staff is compassionate and caring while maintaining high academic and conduct standards. My son will be returning for his 3rd year this Fall and I am so grateful to have had him attend St Barnabas for those delicate Middle School years!
- Posted by Parent, 05/30/15
I am a Parent and have we have been at St. Barnabas for 7 years. Our child loves her Teachers and the Administration. St. B has a great education, sports and arts program. We wish they had a high school so we could stay 4 more years. Awesome Job St. Barnabas !!!
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15
Absolutely LOVE this school...the opportunities for my children are sooo much more than we expected. Staff are amazing and we feel truly blessed to have found this school.. I even noticed my daughters mannerism and have more patience and respect for each other's !
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15
SBES has been an answer to prayer for our family. My child is being taught above her years and feels challenged enough to feel a sense of confidence when she gets questions right and able to laugh at herself when she's wrong. The teachers leave an impact on their hearts.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Volusia County, FL is $5,028 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Volusia County, FL is 92% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).