St. Mark Lutheran School

5.00 (8 reviews)
45-725 Kamehameha Highway
Kaneohe, HI 96744-0967
Tel: (808)247-5589
Grades: K-8 | 204 students
Saint Mark Lutheran School was established in 1956 and has grown to include Kindergarten through Eighth Grade with an enrollment of about 200 students.
Saint Mark Lutheran School is operated as an integral part of the educational ministry program of Saint Mark Lutheran Church.
The curriculum is set up to facilitate students who are working at or near grade level.
The school does not offer special educational programs for students with severe learning disabilities and/or disciplinary problems.
Our teachers are certified to teach in private schools, and many are graduates of our own Lutheran teacher training colleges of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
Saint Mark Lutheran School extends the love and care of Jesus Christ to all people, while nurturing families and preparing students to integrate faith with life, through quality Christ-centered education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS)
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-8
Year Founded 1956

Student Body

Total Students 204 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade St. Mark Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 17:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree

Finances and Admission

Tuition Notes Grades K-5 Tuition = $7,090; Grades 6-8 Tuition = $7,530
% on Financial Aid


Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Basketball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballTrack and Field,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Los Alamos
    Grades: PK-4 | 45 students
    3244.4 miles
    304 Rover Blvd
    Los Alamos, NM 87544
  • Aiea
    Our Savior Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    Grades: PK-8 | 157 students
    9 miles
    98-1098 Moanalua Rd
    Aiea, HI 96701
  • Honolulu
    Grades: KG-12 | 3186 students
    6.6 miles
    1887 Makuakane St
    Honolulu, HI 96817
  • Honolulu
    Grades: K-12 | 3751 students
    7.8 miles
    1601 Punahou St.
    Honolulu, HI 96822
  • Honolulu
    Kawaiaha'o Church School
    Montessori School (Church of Christ)
    Grades: K-5 | 24 students
    8.4 miles
    872 Mission Ln
    Honolulu, HI 96813

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (8 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
We enrolled our daughter at Saint Mark because of glowing reviews of the staff. Our expectations were heightened, and literally have been vastly exceeded. Our daughter has thrived in the environment provided both in and out of the classroom. The help and guidance to bring about our child's best efforts has allowed her to succeed and be more than ready for her next steps in life. Perhaps larger than what they have offered our daughter, our family has become a part of and thrives at Saint Mark.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
We transferred our daughter here after a semester at a public school and my husband and I could NOT be happier. All the staff is wonderful, the older students are amazing, and the environment is great. Our daughter has advanced more in the few months that she has been at St. Mark than she did at her old school. We regularly say that St. Mark is completely worth the price - we''d pay much more for the education she's getting.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   06/01/12
I am a parent of a third grader at St Mark. What I see at St Mark is a community of children and adults who treat one another with respect and really care about one another. There is a partnership between faculty and parents with open communication. Their standards are high with faculty that are able to recognize each childs strengths and weaknesses. I owuld reccomend this school to any family who is looking for a safe enviroment for their child to grow intellectually, socially and spiritually.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   06/01/12
Moving from the mainland we had a lot of decisions to make and things to learn about island life. Our daughter attending St Mark was the best decision so far. The faculty and staff has not only embraced our daughter but our entire family and made us feel welcome. We have learned so much and enjoy every moment of it. The content and quality of the curriculum is outstanding! Our daughter is learning, understanding and applying what she has learned. She is excited to attend school every day. They say it takes a village to raise a child and this school exemplifies that saying.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/12
All three of my children attend here and they all love it! The teachers are the best because they love the children and they stay up to date with current research on best teaching practices. My children are pushed hard academically and are succeeding with work above their grade level. My oldest is in band and he does very well with his very talented and devoted band teacher. The classes blend instructional time with field trips that put the learning into practice. It has a competitive athletic program that teaches sportsmanship and teamwork. One of my favorite parts is attending chapels with the kids. They sing loud and praise God and really get invigorated for the day. The principal, pastor, and DCE all stand out front each morning and greet all the children by name and welcome them to school. This school is a blessing to our community and I am proud to be part of it.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/12
Our family really loves this school. Our son is in his third year here. SMLS combines excellent academics with a really personal, caring environment. The students get individual attention, rise to challenges and are polite, motivated learners. The teachers are innovative, supportive and really know each child. This is a gem of a school and a private school bargain!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/21/12
Jr. High Teachers collaborate to make an enriching learning opportunity for the students!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   04/09/12
I enrolled my grandson into this school and the only regret I have is that I did not do so sooner. The teachers, faculty, and principal intimately know each child & make certain that they grow into young adults who not only love God, but walk as Christians. I would highly recommend this school!!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 20, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Honolulu County, HI is $7,740 for elementary schools and $15,528 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Honolulu County, HI is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).