St. Marks Lutheran School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
7869 Kingswood Drive
Citrus Heights, CA 95610-0956
Tel: (916)961-7891
Grades: PK-8 | 108 students
Experience Excellence in Christian Education -Instruction in God's Word (Holy Bible) -Well-rounded Jr. K through 8th grade curriculum permeated by Christian values -Academic excellence (high standardized test scores) -Healthy student-teacher ratio -Well-trained, dedicated and caring faculty -Safe, nurturing and family-oriented environment -Development of Christian character, independence, and leadership skills -Enriching experiences such as field trips, assemblies and family-centered activities -Extracurricular activities such as interscholastic sports, drama productions and music lessons -Extended daycare (7:00-8:00am, 3:00-6:00pm) -Affordable tuition and need-based financial assistance.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod School Accreditation (WELSSA)
National Council for Private School Accreditation
Religious Affiliation Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded 1970

Student Body

Total Students 108 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 44%
Students by Grade St. Marks Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 8 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 14:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
25%
Average Class Size 18 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(See Student Handbook on website for details)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $5,230
Tuition Notes 15% discount for second child, 30% discount for additional children; separate tuition rates for Jr. K and Kindergarten
% on Financial Aid
15%
Acceptance Rate
95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Matthew Bauer
Admissions Associate Kathy Taylor

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Basketball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. academic and music competitions, choir, drama, piano lessons, sports camps and youth basketball league, student council, yearbook choir, drama, piano lessons, yearbook, academic and music competitions,
sports camps and youth basketball league,
student council,

School Notes

  • Please contact our school office at 916-961-7891 for more information about our school. We can send you an information packet, and our principal would be happy to set up a campus visit and discuss how St. Mark's Lutheran School can serve your family with excellence in Christian education.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed St. Marks Lutheran School also viewed these schools: Family Christian Academy and Merryhill Elementary School.
All Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Orangevale
    Grades: K-9 | 32 students
    2.6 miles
    6521 Hazel Ave
    Orangevale, CA 95662
    (916)988-6691
    2.6K-9
    32
  • Roseville
    Grades: PK-7 | 120 students
    5 miles
    1115 Orlando Avenue
    Roseville, CA 95661
    (916)783-3010
    5PK-7
    120

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
St. Mark's is serving our family well with a balanced program of Christian education. In addition to the excellence in core academic subject areas, our children have opportunities to develop their talents in sports, music, drama, and leadership. We are impressed with the sense of family and school pride instilled in our children.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
We love St. Mark's! The faculty is dedicated, loving, and truly cares about every individual child. The academics are top-notch and results and standards exceed the local public school system. Being a private school allows St. Mark's to keep the best academics without being burdened by the sometimes questionable requirements the public schools have based on the politics that drive them. St. Mark's also offers great extra-curricular activities like athletics (the new gym is beautiful!) and the performing arts (plays, voice/choir, instrumental music, and so on)
- Posted by
5.0  5/4/2016
Both of my daughters attend St. Mark's from K-8th grade. I was looking for a private Christian school that would teach them wisdom as well as knowledge. St. Mark's exceeded my expectations in both areas. Both went on to public high schools where their knowledge and study habits set them apart from other students. Their teachers in high school were impressed with their discipline and respectful attitudes. But the best part was their biblical knowledge. Not only did they have Bible verses hidden in their hearts (which they can still recite to this day), but they have a clear understanding of who Jesus is and what He has done for them. Their love for their Savior is still evident in their lives today. St. Mark's instilled in them lasting qualities that have served them into and past their college years.
- Posted by
5.0  5/4/2016
Both of our children attend St. Mark's and have since PreK. This year, our oldest will graduate from the 8th grade, so we've had a chance to see St. Mark's at every grade level. The St. Mark's difference lies with the faculty and the benefits of being in a Christian school. The entire faculty are not only top notch educators, but are Christian people who love and care about these children as God's own creations. This means that hour by hour, day by day, the students not only receive a superior academic education, but also a life training and character modelling example.
- Posted by
5.0  4/15/2016
Both of my daughters attend St. Mark's from K-8th grade. I was looking for a private Christian school that would teach them wisdom as well as knowledge. St. Mark's exceeded my expectations in both areas. Both went on to public high schools where their knowledge and study habits set them apart from other students. Their teachers in high school were impressed with their discipline and respectful attitudes. But the best part was their biblical knowledge. Not only did they have Bible verses hidden in their hearts (which they can still recite to this day), but they have a clear understanding of who Jesus is and what He has done for them. Their love for their Savior is still evident in their lives today. St. Mark's instilled in them lasting qualities that have served them into and past their college years.
- Posted by
5.0  4/15/2016
St. Mark's is a friendly, welcoming environment where the priority is teaching with Christian standards and values in every subject. You don't have to be a church member, or even a Lutheran, to attend. The teachers and staff make new students and parents feel welcome, and help them fit in. Our student was new in the fourth grade, and very shy, and her teacher and classmates were so helpful with her adjustment. There are also regular activities for all families that bring a high level of community to the school. The academic level of learning is high, and the classroom environment is geared toward teaching students to be self-motivated and organized. Technology is used to enhance learning regularly. Students are involved with sports, music, the arts, and drama, as well as a school newspaper and choir club; there is truly something for every student. The sports and physical education at St. Mark's reflect a priority, and set the bar for excellence. The students regularly exercise, run, and play outdoors, as fitness is important at this school. There is an amazingly professional basketball program during the school year, as well as summer sport camps. The coaches are fantastic. As parents, we are so glad St. Mark's goes up to 8th grade. The students coming out of here to go onto high school are well-balanced, healthy, confident, and joyful.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Sacramento County, CA is $6,392 for elementary schools and $10,900 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Sacramento County, CA is 90% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).