St. Rose Of Lima School

5.00 5 1 (5 reviews)
40 Church Hill Road
Newtown, CT 06470-0647
Tel: (203)426-5102
Grades: PK-8 | 436 students
St. Rose Pre-K through 8 Roman Catholic School educates children by providing a foundation for individual academic excellence in a faith-based community that is committed to fostering personal spiritual growth, physical development,responsibility, and service to others.
St. Rose of Lima School is a top performing, award winning Roman Catholic School.
From preschool to eighth grade, we have an exemplary curriculum enveloped by a strong faith and service-based environment that educates the whole child.
St. Rose of Lima School inspires every student to reach their fullest potential and the opportunity to excel in their intellectual and spiritual growth.
We emphasize service to others and create a total learning environment with exceptional results.
St. Rose of Lima School is the only elementary school in Newtown to be nominated (2008 and 2009) and to have received the National Blue Ribbon Award (2009).
St. Rose of Lima School ranks nationally in the top 10% of all schools academically.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Other school association(s)
New England Association of Schools and Colleges
National Middle School Association
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Resource Teachers K-8
Year Founded 1957

Student Body

Total Students 436 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
2%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade St. Rose Of Lima School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 17:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
99%
Average Class Size 22 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Land)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Jan. 30 / rolling
Tuition Notes Please visit school website for tuition, uniform and registration information www.stroseschool.com
% on Financial Aid
10%
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,000
Acceptance Rate
98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Mrs. Theresa Tortora

Sports

Total Sports Offered 7 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Flag Football, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Flag FootballSoccer,
SoftballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 17 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. After School Care Program, After School Theater Program, Art Club, Cooking Club, French Club, Homework/Tutoring Club, Mandarin Club, Math Club, Mock Trial, Model U.N. Club, National Junior Honor Society, Origami Club, Piano, Robotics Club, Scout Programs, Student Council, Yearbook Club Art Club, Cooking Club, French Club, Mandarin Club, Math Club, Mock Trial, Origami Club, Piano, Robotics Club, Scout Programs, Yearbook Club, After School Care Program,
After School Theater Program,
Homework/Tutoring Club,
Model U.N. Club,
National Junior Honor Society,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Our Mission: St. Rose of Lima Catholic School provides children in presechool through eighth grade a foundation for individual academic excellence in a faith-based community.  We educate the whole child, fostering in each student personal spiritual growth, responsibility and Christ's message of service to others. St. Rose of Lima School is a top performing, award winning Roman Catholic School. From preschool to eighth grade, we have an exemplary curriculum enveloped by a strong faith and service-based environment that educates the whole child. St. Rose of Lima School inspires every student to reach their fullest potential and the opportunity to excel in their intellectual and spiritual growth. We emphasize service to others and create a total learning environment with exceptional results.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed St. Rose Of Lima School also viewed these schools: St Mary Elementary School, Wooster School, Hamden Hall Country Day School, Lauralton Hall and St. Luke's School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bethel
    Grades: PK-8 | 216 students
    5.4 miles
    24 Dodgingtown Rd
    Bethel, CT 06801
    (203)744-2922
    5.4PK-8
    216
  • Danbury
    Wooster School
    (Episcopal)
    Grades: PK-12 | 341 students
    10.5 miles
    91 Miry Brook Rd
    Danbury, CT 06810
    (203)830-3900
    10.5PK-12
    341
  • Hamden
    Grades: NS-12 | 580 students
    20.7 miles
    1108 Whitney Ave
    Hamden, CT 06517
    (203)752-2610
    20.7NS-12
    580
  • Milford
     Lauralton Hall
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 469 students
    18 miles
    200 High St
    Milford, CT 06460
    (203)877-2786
    189-12
    469
  • New Canaan
    Grades: 5-12 | 550 students
    18.5 miles
    377 North Wilton Road
    New Canaan, CT 06840
    (203)801-4833
    18.55-12
    550

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
I registered my son at St. Rose School with hesitation--a faith-based education was never something I considered. Yet, the small community, warm welcome, as well as the great reputation made me move forward--and I haven't turned back. We now have our two children attending the school, and are very involved with the community on a regular basis, because we choose to, and have so many opportunities to do so. My top three reasons for continuing my children's education here is for one, communication--the doors are always open. The administration and staff are always willing and able to sit and discuss any concerns I have. As a parent, it is my responsibility to voice my concerns and opinions, and I have always been able to do that, respectably. Second, academics, and my children's individual needs are not ever in question. As my son moves up in grades, the responsibilities and expectations are greater and challenging--and I have no words to express how he's blossomed this year with a teacher who has made him believe in himself and his abilities. Third, the faith-based education is more then I thought it would be for my kids, as well as for myself, as a parent. They amaze me with the stories, the choosing of right or wrong because "that's what God would do" attitude, as well as the true understanding of their faith and how to use it every day. Communication. Academics. Faith. It's why I stay.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Our daughter recently entered St. Rose School after attending several years at our local public elementary school. I can honestly tell you that the transition has been very smooth and that we are all extremely happy. We are particularly thrilled with the greater intimacy a smaller more familial setting provides. The teachers and administration have been stellar . In this setting our daughter is comfortable with being herself while at the same time receiving an excellent education. She's happy and we''re ecstatic.
- Posted by
5.0  2/27/2013
My two children have attended St. Rose School since kindergarten (grades 8 and 5). St. Rose as been terrific. My children have different personalities and learn styles. Both have thrived at St Rose. The principal is an exceptional leader and the teachers are top notch. The principal and teachers work in concert to ensure individual student achievement. St. Rose sets high standards that have helped my children develop into outstanding learners, friends and community members.
- Posted by
5.0  2/27/2013
We moved our kids to St. Rose from local public schools that also have great reputation. We are absolutely thrilled with the academics at SRS. The teachers are some of the best we have ever seen. The faith based education they are receiving has been incredible. Teaching these children to be strong citizens who treat others with kindness and respect. The leaders (principal, teachers, clergy) are the hardest working people I know. Can not say enough GOOD things about this amazing school. Best decision we ever made was moving our kids to this incredible school.
- Posted by
5.0  2/14/2013
By far, the best choice in Newtown. The school community is strong, the atmosphere is welcoming and nurturing. The outstanding teaching staff is lead by the strongest principal in the diocese and the town. I have 3 children at St. Rose and feel blessed to be a part of the family there. So much misconception about teacher qualification requirements in Catholic schools - the teachers are stellar! The PreK is the best the town has to offer. High expectations, but the support in place to get our children there. Academically beyond any of the public schools in the district - students graduating from St. Rose are consistently the highest achievers at the High School level. Wisdom, grace and integrity - priceless.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Fairfield County, CT is $12,235 for elementary schools and $21,462 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Fairfield County, CT is 69% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).