The Waterford School

The Waterford School is an independent school providing a liberal arts, college preparatory education, Preschool through Grade 12.
Exceptional faculty, rich curriculum, nurturing community and a beautiful 40 acre campus – This is Waterford.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1986

Student Body

Total Students 926 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
16%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade The Waterford School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 140 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size 17 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses AP Art, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Computer Science, AP English Language & Composition, AP English Literature & Composition, AP European History, AP French Language and Literature, AP Photography, AP Physics, AP Spanish, AP Statistics, AP United States History
Average SAT score 1894
Average ACT score 28
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(MillsWear uniform supplier)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Mar. 1 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,000
Tuition Notes This is the average tuition cost K-12. The complete tuition schedule is at http://waterfordschool.org/admissions/tuition/
% on Financial Aid
10%
Acceptance Rate
67%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Todd Winters
Admissions Associate Nicole Miranda

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports Ballet, Basketball, Climbing, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Golf, Lacrosse, Soccer, Tennis, VolleyballBalletBasketball,
ClimbingCrew,
Cross CountryDance,
GolfLacrosse,
SoccerTennis,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Community Service, Outdoor Club, Ultimate Frisbee Outdoor Club, Community Service,
Ultimate Frisbee,

School Notes:

  • The Waterford School provides every student with a rich and unified educational experience that begins in pre-school and culminates fourteen years later at Commencement.
  • Over the course of those many years, curiosity, a love of learning, academic abilities, and unique talents are carefully nourished until students develop into well-educated, well-rounded, and productive young adults who are prepared for college and equipped to lead happy and meaningful lives.
  • The Waterford experience affects and enhances aspects of a childs life, through every stage of development. Bold, insightful teachers with impressive qualifications teach students to think clearly and critically about themselves and the world around them. Diverse subjects and a rigorous curriculum are integrated into a meaningful tapestry of knowledge. And a broad range of activities and programs, from music, theater, and dance to international travel and competitive sports, enables students to explore their interests, form lifelong friendships, and develop unique talents.
  • At Waterford, these elements combine to create an environment where learning becomes an adventure rather than a chore. Where academic excellence becomes a natural byproduct of a deep passion for learning. And where academics, fine arts, sports, and social development become parts of a unified and meaningful whole.
  • A message and invitation from Waterford Head of School - Nancy M. Heuston: People often ask me to describe the essence of The Waterford School. This is not an easy question - the answer is surprisingly nuanced and complex. Of course, it is simple enough to talk about our exceptional faculty, outstanding facilities and programs, and rigorous academic standards. It is certainly no secret that Waterford students consistently excel at many of the finest colleges and universities. And it is not particularly difficult to outline the benefits of our educational philosophy, which is firmly grounded in the liberal arts tradition. But the true essence of Waterford goes beyond these. It includes a unique passion for knowledge that our students and teachers bring with them to school every day. It embodies an intense curiosity and thrill of discovery that encompasses classrooms and hallways. And it embraces a commitment to excellence that motivates each Waterford parent, teacher, and student. Perhaps the only way to truly understand the essence of Waterford School is to experience it.

    From the moment you set foot on our campus, you will begin to sense the passion and commitment that define our school. As you observe our teachers and students, you will see the advantages of an educational philosophy that combines academic excellence with natural curiosity and a profound love of learning and knowledge. And as you watch your own children develop into complete, well educated, and purposeful adults, you will fully recognize the immeasurable value The Waterford School can offer your family. We invite you to visit the school and discover this remarkable essence for yourself. Learn how Waterford can transform and enrich your the life of your child.

Profile last updated: 05/28/2015

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Intermountain Christian School (3.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Montessori Of Cottonwood (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Montessori Of Cottonwood (0.5 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Sandy
    Montessori Of Cottonwood
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-KG | 50 students
    0.5 miles
    9269 Teal Cir
    Sandy, UT 84093
    (801)733-9737
    0.5PK-KG
    50
  • Sandy
    Grace Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod)
    Grades: PK-8 | 184 students
    1.8 miles
    1815 E 9800 S
    Sandy, UT 84092
    (801)572-3793
    1.8PK-8
    184
  • Sandy
    Blessed Sacrament School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 264 students
    1.9 miles
    1745 East 9800 South
    Sandy, UT 84092
    (801)572-5311
    1.9PK-8
    264
  • Sandy
    Sandy KinderCare
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK | 27 students
    2.4 miles
    9165 South 1300 East
    Sandy, UT 84094
    (801)572-1766
    2.4NS-PK
    27
  • Salt Lake City
    Willow Creek Montessori
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-KG | 74 students
    2.4 miles
    7839 Highland Dr
    Salt Lake City, UT 84121
    (801)942-2929
    2.4PK-KG
    74

School Reviews

My parents were always believers in the power of education to change a person's life. I remember when I asked them about it, wondering if they'd feel like they wasted their time and treasure if I became a truck driver. They responded they'd be thrilled, because they would have given me all the tools I needed to make that decision for myself. And I'd be the best-educated truck driver I could be. With that in mind, in 1992, my parents enrolled me, as a 7th grader, in The Waterford School. I attended until graduation in 1997 and it was, truly, a transformative experience. I was always a good student, but, at Waterford, I learned how to be an independent student. I learned more than the right answer, but ways to find it by myself. I became more confident, both academically and socially. The faculty truly understood me and knew how to push me in all the right ways. Because of my experiences with small classes, and relationships with teachers, I learned both content and life skills I treasure to this day. The Waterford School is a beautiful, rigorous place that wants every student to succeed. Just as important, however, the faculty and administration knows what success means for every student, and that those meanings are never the same. Its liberal arts foundation pushes students to develop their whole intellect--physical, mental, and social. It builds the foundation for deep, meaningful success in all walks of life. As I look at my fellow classmates, they have become doctors, lawyers, teachers, professors, stay-at-home parents, and everything in between. Waterford gave them the skills needed to pursue those careers, and the ability to know themselves well enough to know these professions were their callings. I cannot think of a truer measure of a school's purpose.
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 01/19/16
As an alumni of The Waterford School, I feel I was given much more than a solid education. I had an incredible experience for my learning and personal development. I spent each day in a safe and encouraging environment building rich and lasting relationships with family, friends, genuine faculty and administrative staff that I am still in touch with 20 years after my graduation. Waterford cares more about the individual student, their personal passions and what drives them, than fitting the student into a mold. I can truly say Waterford helped shape who I am today and how I see myself and others. This is why I now send my kids to Waterford. Ben
- Posted by Student/Alumni, 01/19/16
Admittedly I was skeptical about private school when I first started looking into it. I created my list of "tough questions" and was ready to find the system and schools weakness. I started looking into Waterford two years prior to my son starting Kindergarten. I started reaching out to the Admissions team and threw my questions at them. Each question was seen as valid and worthwhile of a thoughtful answer. They took the time to answer my questions promptly and thoroughly. After my initial questions were answered, I decided to go and take a tour of the school during one of their open houses. I was sure this was where I would find the school's weakness and expose the reason why it just wasn't going to work for us. I presented my final question and sure enough, they answered it thoroughly and thoughtfully and I had nothing left as to why this school wasn't going to work out. Since my initial inquiry, I now have two children at Waterford and soon a third. From the Administrative team to the faculty to the recess and lunch staff, my expectations not only have been met but have been greatly exceeded. I have found a wonderful community of supportive families and a school that really puts children first with their whole development: character, academic, emotional and physical. I love the specialists that teach them science, art, music and dance in experiential, hands on ways. Waterford continues to be a place where I can ask tough questions and seek support and they consistently respond in a thoughtful and thorough way. If you are considering private school, I can't recommend Waterford enough. It is more than a liberal arts school. They are a community that wants to collaborate with you and your family to help your child achieve their potential and discover their greatness.
- Posted by Parent, 12/07/15
As we began the search for an alternative to our public school, we were blown away by the curriculum, test scores, and accomplishments of the Waterford School and their students. What ??sealed the deal?" was our first visit to campus. The students were happy, engaged, and enjoying the learning process. Eleven years later, with both our children in high school, we can say with conviction that enrolling them in Waterford is the best thing we have ever provided for them. Each new year our children have seized the opportunities and challenges presented to them by the amazing Waterford faculty. As our oldest has started the college selection process, we are confident, and more importantly he is confident, that he is fully prepared for college. We are so thankful for all that Waterford has provided for our family.
- Posted by Parent, 10/08/15
After moving from the East Coast to Utah eight years ago, we were looking at private schools and received the recommendation of Waterford from a colleague whose sons had attended from Preschool through Upper School graduation. When the time came for our daughter to start school, we enrolled her in Waterford?'s preschool class, and could not have made a better decision for our family. That daughter is now enjoying first grade, our younger daughter is currently in PreK-4, and we look forward to our son starting preschool in a year. In making our decision, we visited other schools in the area, and talked with families of children at those schools and also those at Waterford. It was important for us to find a school that offered a diverse group of students and families, with a challenging academic environment, that also cared for each student and fostered individual growth. Waterford has surpassed our expectations in every way. The students are remarkable, and are consistently raising the bar for one another. The qualifications and experiences the teachers bring to the classroom are outstanding. The administration sets an enthusiastic tone for the school and demonstrates genuine care for each student and family. Finally, the campus ?? reminiscent of the New England campuses we enjoyed ?? provides a beautiful and safe environment for our children to learn. There is certainly more than one path to a great education, but for our family Waterford has absolutely been the right choice, and we feel so fortunate to be a part of its community.
- Posted by Parent, 10/08/15
We couldn''t be happier with our decision to send our children to Waterford! Having looked at EVERY private school from downtown SLC, to American Fork and our neighborhood public school, I can honestly say I have done my homework! Waterford offers something for everyone, and it''s community is more diverse than any other school I''ve seen in Utah. Our family made the decision for our twins to attend Waterford when they were in 2nd grade (they are now in Middle School). They have been able to challenge our over achieving child, while assist our once struggling child with caring and attentive classroom help, wonderful tutors and overall plans for their success. The bandwidth of knowledge and experience with the Faculty is beyond impressive (just take a look at the Faculty Profiles) and you can''t help but know that the payoffs for our kids FAR outweigh the financial sacrifice many of us make.
- Posted by Parent, 02/14/15
The opportunities for exploration, learning, and growth at Waterford are truly remarkable. The class sizes are small and teaching is discussion-based, but there is so much more to it than that. The teachers connect with the students in a way that encourages them to give their very best in all subjects. My children have found their learning to be meaningful and have gained academic confidence through their classwork at Waterford. Their years at Waterford are happy and fulfilling. They cherish their Waterford education and recognize the advantages it gives them in college and beyond. Waterford is an outstanding school in every way.
- Posted by Parent, 01/17/15
We LOVE this school, its remarkable faculty, leaders and the parent community. The Waterford School is an amazing institution solidly grounded on the principles of a liberal arts education. We have four children and each has been enriched by their own personal experiences at at Waterford. Our college student still refers to her Waterford classmates with awe. She is loving her college experience, but she finds a true grounding and inspiration in the quality of people she connected with while at Waterford. She also compares every teacher to her Waterford teachers, they have set a high caliber bar. Fans of public school, we originally came to Waterford for what we thought would be just one year, after moving to Utah. We quickly fell in love with the depth and breadth of the academic program and the arts. Waterford is an institution that is constantly refining, building vertical curriculum and thinking forward. If you are studying the planets in science, often history, math and art will correlate. With a 32-year history, the school is on solid footing and looks forward with vigor to an exciting future. We are thrilled to be a part of that future!
- Posted by Parent, 12/19/14
At first, The Waterford School was the perfect nursery school for my son. My husband and I are successful public school graduates, so paying for private school seemed foreign. We truly thought that after a few years of preschool, we would transfer our child to our local public school. Fast forward nine years, and my sons are both at Waterford in the sixth and fourth grades. We have two wonderfully average boys who are challenged to find their greatness and fuel their passions. The Waterford Faculty and Staff create a place where a true love of learning can take root and flourish. Each year that passes, I am more impressed at the quality of experiences offered at this campus. The Waterford School teaches more than an exceptional curriculum, it polishes and hones great people. Although writing the check is sometimes painful for our family, we feel that the experience and education at The Waterford School is the best gift we could possibly give to our children.
- Posted by Parent, 12/19/14
We have two children ages 10 and 11 and strongly recommend the Waterford School to parents searching for the best school for their family. When we relocated from the Bay Area in California, Waterford stood out to us as by far the best private school in the Salt Lake Valley and we believe that Waterford compares favorably to top private schools anywhere in the country. Our children are very happy at Waterford and, as parents, there is nothing better than having happy children. The variety of enriching experiences our children have at Waterford is remarkable, but when asked what they love most about Waterford, our children quickly said in unison, ''the teachers!" We agree. The teachers at Waterford seem to be able to find what is unique and special about each child and bring out what is best in them. We feel lucky to have our children learning and growing in such an amazing environment.
- Posted by Parent, 11/28/14
Waterford School is truly an experience. The school has done a fantastic job blending academic rigor and exploratory learning and has created an environment that cultivates development of the whole child. Yes, the school is an investment, but in our experience over almost 13 years we?''ve seen first hand how children thrive at Waterford School in a way they simply couldn?''t anywhere else.
- Posted by Parent, 11/28/14
Waterford is a special place. The breadth and depth of education and experiences students receive impresses me every time I visit the school -- year after year. We chose Waterford in 2002 and believe it''s one of the best decisions we''ve made as parents. We relocated from Colorado, having never been to Utah. Over the years we''ve had job opportunities in a few of the western states. After visiting other independent schools, we felt so strongly about the education received and time spent at Waterford, that we''ve chosen to stay put...because of Waterford. Our sons have an enthusiasm about a variety of subjects: Latin, AP Chemistry, Orchestra, Chinese, Human Geography, Robotics, Science, Crew, P.E., etc, and I could go on. The faculty are dedicated educators, incredibly skilled and passionate about the subjects they teach and the sports they coach. Our sons are truly life-long learners and are better, more complete, and on their way to wholeness as human beings because of their Waterford education. I encourage any family to schedule a campus tour and see if the school is a good fit for their student(s).
- Posted by Parent, 11/20/14
This will be hard to keep short as there is much to say about Waterford. In a nutshell, Waterford has been an exceptional education and "family" for our 3 children. Waterford has given them a chance to participate in varsity athletics; cultivated a love of music, dance and drama; provided a safe environment to explore new areas of interest (robotics, literary magazine, photography); prepared them very well for college; and provided lasting friendships with their peers and faculty.
- Posted by Parent, 11/12/14
This is an exceptional school. I''ve had my son here since he was just 3 years old. He has learned things I could have and would have never thought to teach him at such a tender age. He is now 5, and has a "homeroom", but yet moves from class to class as though he is a "big kid". His favorite is the science lab, although he loves computer class, art class, music, dance, etc. He can read, write and complete math problems well beyond a preschool level. He will be in kindergarten next year. I believe Waterford sets itself apart because despite the fact that most students here are able to read, write and complete math problems beyond their grade level...this school realizes eventually all students, no matter what school they attend, will learn the basics; It''s all kinds of other subjects in life that need to be explored and taught. Waterford is the best school in Utah. I cannot be happier for my son.
- Posted by Parent, 05/09/13
Waterford is extraordinary in so many ways. We feel so lucky that we have found the perfect place for our children. The community is diverse and welcoming, and the beautiful campus feels like a safe haven. I keep hearing stories from friends who have kids at other local schools -- they are dealing with bullying, teachers who are apathetic, kids who are apathetic and generally poor academics. We are having a completely different (and positive) experience at Waterford. My kids LOVE coming to school each day. They are taught by teachers who are exceptionally gifted and passionate about what they do. The kids who attend Waterford are hard-working and bright -- and being smart is accepted, even "cool". Most importantly, my kids love learning and are thriving. I am confident that when they graduate, they will be very well prepared for college and life.
- Posted by Parent, 05/21/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
January 25, 2016
This is a very practical list of things you must do before you graduate. The items on this list will enhance your college applications.
January 08, 2016
Here are my picks for 'must have' web sites when it comes to finding out about private K-12 schools.
January 05, 2016
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Salt Lake County, UT is $5,845 for elementary schools and $8,817 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Salt Lake County, UT is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).