Vermont Academy

Tel: (802)869-6229
Grades: 9-12 | 246 students
Vermont Academy is a co-ed college preparatory boarding and day school serving 240 students in grades 9-12 located in beautiful Southern Vermont.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. The Association of Boarding Schools (TABS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades 9-12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Year Founded 1876

Student Body

Total Students 246 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
7%
State avg.: 8%
Students by Grade Vermont Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 44 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
65%
Average Class Size 10 students
Number of AP Courses 16 courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP English, AP Environmental Science, AP French, Ap Spanish, AP Statistics
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $49,965
Tuition Notes $27675 Day Students
% on Financial Aid
39%
Average Financial Aid Grant $22,873
Admissions Director Drew Millikin
Admissions Associate Stephanie Boulay

Sports

Total Sports Offered 20 sports
Sports Alpine Skiing, Baseball, Basketball, Climbing, Crew, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Freestyle Skiing, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Mountain Biking, Nordic Skiing, Rock Climbing, Snowboarding, Soccer, Softball, TennisAlpine SkiingBaseball,
BasketballClimbing,
CrewCross Country,
DanceEquestrian,
Field HockeyFreestyle Skiing,
GolfIce Hockey,
LacrosseMountain Biking,
Nordic SkiingRock Climbing,
SnowboardingSoccer,
SoftballTennis,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 3 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Diversity Club, Math Club, Model UN Diversity Club, Math Club, Model UN,

School Notes

  • At Vermont Academy, we are committed to helping our students discover their talents while developing the character, skills, strength, and values that will help them grow into confident, independent learners who give back to their community and to the world. Our small community and classes, dedicated faculty, rigorous curriculum, and wide range of athletics and activities—set in the beautiful hills of Vermont—encourage every student to grow and discover his or her voice.

Profile last updated: 08/05/2015

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Vermont Academy also viewed these schools: Tilton School, The Putney School, The Derryfield School, Kimball Union Academy and Northfield Mount Hermon School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Tilton
    Grades: 9-12 | 250 students
    50.9 miles
    30 School Street
    Tilton, NH 03276
    (603)286-1733
    50.99-12
    250
  • Putney
    Grades: 9-12 | 226 students
    10.6 miles
    418 Houghton Brook Rd
    Putney, VT 05346
    (802)387-6232
    10.69-12
    226
  • Manchester
    Grades: 6-12 | 399 students
    53.6 miles
    2108 River Road
    Manchester, NH 03104
    (603)669-4524
    53.66-12
    399
  • Meriden
    Grades: 9-12 | 340 students
    30.9 miles
    7 Campus Center Drive
    Meriden, NH 03770
    (603)469-2100
    30.99-12
    340
  • Gill
    Grades: 9-12 | 650 students
    32.2 miles
    One Lamplighter Way
    Gill, MA 01354
    (413)498-3000
    32.29-12
    650

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (2 reviews)
5.0  9/2/2015
I can't say enough positive things about my experience at Vermont Academy. The support provided to the students, especially those who were furthest from home, was astounding, to say the least. The activities, athletics, and academics are balanced extremely well, with great opportunities to enhance many budding life-long friendships. After nearly 20 years, I am still very much in contact with many former classmates from VA. The experience set a foundation for me to build strong relationships in both personal and professional circles. I was most impressed with the athletics at VA. As a soccer player, I was challenged everyday by the competitiveness among New England prep schools, and looked forward to spending any time with my team, both on and off the field. My fondest memories are those from my days as a VA Wildcat. I am profoundly grateful to Vermont Academy and everything it offered me. I would highly recommend this private school to anyone.
- Posted by
5.0  5/12/2014
If you send an innocent son or daughter to Vermont Academy, be prepare for the real possibility that he or she will come back as an expert drug and alcohol user. The opportunities for acquiring either of them are just as abundant as the chances to getting a good degree, if not better.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Windham County, VT is 74% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).