Villa Maria Academy Lower School

previous
next
Villa Maria Academy, a Roman Catholic private school located in Immaculata, PA, was established in 1872 by the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary.
Empowering young women in Leadership and Service in the IHM Traditions for over 145 years.
Inspiring young women to be fearless leaders rooted in christian values and traditions that last a lifetime.  
Villa Maria Academy educates girls in Kindergarten through Eighth grade, and has a co-educational Preschool and Pre-Kindergarten.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded 1872

Student Body

Total Students 364 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color
5%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade Villa Maria Academy Lower School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 26 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 14:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
89%
Average Class Size 20 students
Number of AP Courses 2 courses
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(uniform)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1
Tuition Notes Check website for details regarding tuition costs for additional children and tuition costs for the Kindergarten and Preschool
Admissions Associate Mrs. Jillian Noss

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Basketball, Dance, Field Hockey, Gymnastics, Lacrosse, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballDance,
Field HockeyGymnastics,
LacrosseSoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 19 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Altar Servers, Art Club, Band, Baton, Computer Fair, Dance, Engineering Club, Forensics, GOING Fit, Gymnastics, Handbell Choir, Mathletes, Music Lessons, Safety Patrol, Student Ambassadors, Student Council, Swimming Lessons, TechKnows, Yearbook Altar Servers, Art Club, Band, Baton, Computer Fair, Dance, Forensics, GOING Fit, Gymnastics, Handbell Choir, Mathletes, Music Lessons, Safety Patrol, TechKnows, Yearbook, Engineering Club,
Student Ambassadors,
Student Council,
Swimming Lessons,

School Notes

  • Villa Maria Academy, a Roman Catholic private day school located in Immaculata, Pennsylvania, was established in 1872 by the Sisters, Servants of the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Villa Maria Academy educates girls in grade Kindergarten through Eighth grade, and has a co-educational Early Learning Center for Preschool and Pre-Kindergarten students. Villa Maria Academy strives to prepare girls to become Christian women assuming leadership and services roles within the family, the local and global community as well as their parish and the universal Church. While integrating spirituality with academics, the school-wide goals seek to impart a love for life-long learning, the development of critical thinking skills and the nurturing of creativity, beauty, truth and reverence for each person as a unique expression of God's creation. The educational program at Villa Maria Academy encourages students to maximize their capabilities, to develop positive self-images and to use these gifts in service to others.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Villa Maria Academy Lower School also viewed these schools: Academy-notre Dame De Namur, Pope John Paul Ii Regional Catholic Elementary School, The Baldwin School, Wyndcroft School and St Joseph School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Villanova
    Academy-notre Dame De Namur
    All-girls (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 6-12 | 516 students
    10.1 miles
    560 Sproul Rd
    Villanova, PA 19085
    (610)687-0650
    10.16-12
    516
  • Coatesville
    Grades: K-9 | 602 students
    13.3 miles
    2875 Manor Rd
    Coatesville, PA 19320
    (610)384-5961
    13.3K-9
    602
  • Bryn Mawr
    Grades: PK-12 | 560 students
    13.1 miles
    701 Montgomery Avenue
    Bryn Mawr, PA 19010
    (610)525-2700
    13.1PK-12
    560
  • Pottstown
    Grades: NS-8 | 234 students
    15.4 miles
    1395 Wilson Street
    Pottstown, PA 19464
    (610)326-0544
    15.4NS-8
    234
  • Downingtown
    St Joseph School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 704 students
    8.1 miles
    340 Manor Ave
    Downingtown, PA 19335
    (610)269-8999
    8.1PK-8
    704

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (13 reviews)
5.0  11/3/2016
"-religious education is offered in a safe, nurturing environment-""We chose Villa after looking into all-girls` schools throughout the U.S. Choosing Villa meant we had to move from Northern Virginia for our daughter to start Kindergarten here, but it was worth it! Villa is unique the dedication of the IHM sisters and the character and religious education are offered in a safe, nurturing environment where lifelong friendships are born."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"Villa Maria Academy Lower School sets its students up for success-""I attended Villa for 13 years, being the first Kindergarten class ever in the Fall of 1984. I have always held Villa in the highest regard, as it was the catalyst for my educational success over the years. However, it is my belief that the elementary education sets the foundation for success. Villa Maria Academy Lower School sets its students up for success by giving them the leadership skills, confidence, humility, kindness, work ethic and educational tools one needs to thrive not just in high school but for the rest of your life. I credit the lower school as being the reason for my drive to succeed, the ability to achieve my goals and for my close relationship with God. Sending my 3 daughters here is a no brainer for me because I want nothing but the best education for them starting at the earliest age possible and Villa provides this. My husband and I know that with the foundation Villa will provide, we are setting our girls up for becoming confident, successful, hard-working and productive women in society."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"I wouldn`t be the person I am today without the benefit of a Villa Maria education-""As an alumna of Villa Maria Academy Lower School, I know first hand the benefits of attending the school. I started at Villa in 6th grade and immediately knew that is was the best place for me. I am so thankful that my parents chose to send me to Villa and I know I wouldn`t be the person I am today without the benefit of a Villa Maria education. Villa provided a learning environment that encouraged me to be a leader, to understand what it means to live my faith. The friends I made at Villa are truly friends for a lifetime. I am so thrilled that my daughter is now enjoying the unparalleled educational and faith experience that Villa Maria Academy has to offer. I am confident that Villa Maria Academy is the best choice for her."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"Villa has taught me so many life lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life-""Villa is a place where students learn, grow, pray, and express themselves. It is a place where you can walk down the halls and feel comfortable, safe, and respected by all people. Most of all, Villa is a community where everyone is welcome no matter what your background. Villa has taught me so many life lessons that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. These lessons are not only educational but personal. As a student, I am challenged to try my best even when the task at hand seems impossible. The teachers are set on helping you achieve your goals and are there to help you every step of the way. Thanks to Villa I am confident in myself, my decisions, and the fact that my friends and I hold a bright future ahead of us."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"We learn the responsibilities of a young leader-""For me, Villa is a place where I am looked at as an individual, by my teachers, classmates, and other students. Everyday my teachers help me to try my best at everything that I do, in the classroom, as well as the extra curricular classes. It is a place where I thrive as a young woman and am prepared to face the challenges that may come in high school, college and in my future. At Villa, we are taught lessons that will prepare us for life and will help us in many difficult situations. We learn the responsibilities of a young leader and are helped by the faculty and staff to achieve our hopes, goals and dreams. Going to Villa, I know that I will be prepared for my future and the world ahead. I have Villa to thank for teaching me these lifelong lessons."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"The values instilled in me at Villa shaped who I am today-""When I gave birth to my daughter Emma, I knew I wanted her to go to Villa. I was excited for her to be a part of the loving community run by the IHM Sisters. The Sisters were a big part of my childhood and I wanted Emma to have the same wonderful experience. The values instilled in me at Villa shaped who I am today. I feel blessed that my daughter is able to attend such a special school and walk the same halls I walked more than 25 years ago!"
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"All it took was one visit to Villa to determine it would be the best school for our three girls-""All it took was one visit to Villa to determine it would be the best school for our three girls. We found the place that loves, nurtures, challenges, protects, and encourages them to be the best version of themselves."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"Villa Maria Academy does an excellent job incorporating technology into all aspects of learning-""My two daughters had had Netbooks at home since Kindergarten and 1st Grade. They have both become so skilled at using the computer as part of their regular homework, both accessing skill-building websites and other activities, that it is almost second nature to them. Villa Maria Academy does an excellent job incorporating technology into all aspects of learning technology is an integral part of the learning, rather than a learning unto itself."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"I was surrounded by a supportive community where I could grow into a strong, confident young woman-""Even now nearly five years after I have graduated, the lessons that I learned at Lower Villa play a large role in my life. As a student, I was exposed to many different types of learning that allowed for creativity and a greater understanding in the classroom. The strong study habits that I developed more than prepared me for high school. From my first day of kindergarten to the day I graduated, I was surrounded by a supportive community where I could grow into a strong, confident young woman. I developed and honed my leadership skills in an environment where I felt comfortable and was never afraid to hold back. More importantly, the friends that I made at Villa are still some of my closest, even though we now find ourselves scattered across the country. Villa`s unique environment makes it possible for students to build close-knit relationships, not only amongst themselves, but with faculty and staff. This, I believe, is one of its strongest assets. I know that I would not be the person I am today if it weren`t for my Villa education."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"-Villa helped me to become a more well-rounded individual-""Villa, more than anything else, taught me discipline and hard work. The teachers learned who I was as a person and as a student, and never expected anything less than my best work. They pushed me a little more every day to improve myself and become a better student. That work ethic has stayed with me through high school, college and now into the working world.The diverse set of programs and extracurriculars at Villa helped me to become a more well-rounded individual. From "specials" such as music and dance to after-school sports such as field hockey and softball, Villa encouraged participation in many non-scholastic areas that I have since continued. The diverse experience also taught me time management, which helped me balance school and extra-curriculars in subsequent years."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"I`m forever grateful for the study habits and time management skills I learned-""Making the transition from Lower Villa to Upper was a breeze because of the solid foundation I built at the lower school. The rigorous academics, focused environment, and leadership classes definitely prepared me for high school. I have no regrets about transferring in seventh grade, because it made me a better person and student gradually over time. I was stunned to find that the faculty and staff are selfless and willing to take time to focus on the student academically, personally, and spiritually. This is essential in the grade school years for healthy growth as a student and person. I`m forever grateful for the study habits and time management skills I learned at Lower, which guide me through high school."
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"It`s a great environment in which to learn and grow!""Villa Maria helped me prepare for high school mentally and emotionally. It`s a great environment in which to learn and grow! I will always treasure and will never forget my years at Villa Maria!"
- Posted by
5.0  11/3/2016
"-truly prepared me for my future endeavors-""Going to Villa Maria Academy truly formed me into the young woman I am today. The warm atmosphere and challenging academic standards came together to create a family-oriented school environment. The friends I made, values I was taught, and memories I made truly prepared me for my future endeavors. I love VMA!"
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Chester County, PA is $7,236 for elementary schools and $33,238 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Chester County, PA is 79% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).