Girls' Middle School

5.00 5 1 (3 reviews)
Tel: (650)968-8338
  • The Girls' Middle School is committed to providing a positive and challenging learning environment that fosters self-esteem, empowerment and responsibility.
  • GMS promotes intellectual curiosity and disciplined study habits through a stimulating curriculum that provides a well-rounded exposure to the arts and humanities while emphasizing science, math and computer technologies.
  • We apply a hands-on project based approach that allows students to collaborate and think critically.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Coalition of Girls
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Grades OfferedGrades 6-8
Learning Difference ProgramsYes
Year Founded1998

Student Body

Total Students198 students
Student Body TypeAll-girls
% Students of Color
36%
State avg.: 43%
Students by GradeGirls' Middle School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers28 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
70%
Average Class Size18 students
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Uniform)

Finances and Admission

Yearly Tuition Cost$28,000
Tuition NotesFor new students there is a one-time technology fee of $1450.
% on Financial Aid
20%
Admissions DirectorMegan R. Miller
Admissions AssociateClaire Ledwith

Sports

Total Sports Offered10 sports
SportsBasketball, Cross Country, Dance, Flag Football, Soccer, Softball, Surf Team, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
DanceFlag Football,
SoccerSoftball,
Surf TeamTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.2 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Drama Club, Skateboard Club Drama Club, Skateboard Club,

School Notes

  • Criteria for Admission: The admission committee looks carefully at each application to assess her potential to thrive at GMS. Applicants are appraised in academic ability, creativity, problem-solving skills, interest in learning and their ability to work in groups. The fit between the student and GMS is also determined by recommendations from two teachers, along with a personal recommendation, past transcript, ISEE testing, and a personal interview

Profile last updated: 05/06/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Palo Alto
    Grades: 6-12 | 438 students
    3.9 miles
    1310 Bryant St
    Palo Alto, CA 94301
    (650)328-3160
    3.96-12
    438
  • Palo Alto
    Grades: 3-12 | 30 students
    2.1 miles
    3790 El Camino Real # 365
    Palo Alto, CA 94306
    (650)669-1379
    2.13-12
    30
  • Oakland
    Grades: 6-8 | 145 students
    29.2 miles
    5000 MacArthur Boulevard
    Oakland, CA 94613
    (510)632-6000
    29.26-8
    145
  • Santa Clara
    Grades: KG-12 | 100 students
    8.5 miles
    220 Blake Ave # B
    Santa Clara, CA 95051
    (408)247-4740
    8.5KG-12
    100
  • San Jose
    Grades: 5-8 | 138 students
    9.3 miles
    801 Hibiscus Lane
    San Jose, CA 95117
    (408)985-2138
    9.35-8
    138

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (3 reviews)
5  6/20/2014
Hello My daughter (15 years) will be coming with me to San Diego, and I look forward to search for a suitable school and close to the UCSD Extension (9500 Gilman Drive. La Jolla. CA 92093-0176 So can you help me to nominate the right school ?. Salahuddin Alghanim
- Posted by
5  5/14/2013
Dedicated faculty, out-of-the box thinking, and a very supportive environment. GMS truly lives the mission of providing a positive and challenging learning environment that fosters self-esteem, empowerment and responsibility. Not just your average private school: a completely different way of teaching and educating girls. Wish there had been a school like this when I was a girl!
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
I am a former GMS student and I could go on forever about the education I have received from the school. It has not only taught me how to work in a group but it also helped me get to know who I am. It has sparked my interest and passions that I will continue to explore in high school. GMS has also given me the gift of confidence in who I am. The teachers and staff have helped me progress as a student and athlete. The education and skills each girl receives is priceless. There is no other school like GMS. I strongly recommend the school to any one who is interested.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 05, 2017
If you live outside the United States, choosing an American private school can be a confusing process. Here is an overview of the process.
September 05, 2017
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
September 04, 2017
Use this hub to keep track of the steps in the private schools' admission process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Santa Clara County, CA is $13,898 for elementary schools and $22,587 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Santa Clara County, CA is 87% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).