Grace-St. Lukes Episcopal School

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (901)278-0200
  • Grace-St. Luke`s Episcopal School is a coed, independent school located in the heart of Midtown`s Central Gardens neighborhood.
  • GSL prepares boys and girls age two - eighth grade to become creative problem solvers, confident lifelong learners, and responsible citizens in their communities and the world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
National Association for the Education of Young Children
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious AffiliationEpiscopal
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded1947

Student Body

Total Students522 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
20%
State avg.: 18%
Students by GradeGrace-St. Lukes Episcopal School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers80 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
55%
Average Class Size16 students

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineDec. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$16,440
Tuition NotesRanges from $4,463-$16,440 Preschool-8th Grade
% on Financial Aid
16%
Average Financial Aid Grant$4,200
Admissions DirectorShelly McGuire

Sports

Total Sports Offered12 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
SwimmingTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.8 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Ambassadors Club, Honor Council, Honor Society, Student Council, Thespian Society, Yearbook

Club or Organization:
Chess Club, Debate Team

School Notes

  • Our NAEYC-accredited Preschool offers a play-based curriculum that encourages the academic, social and emotional growth of children.
  • In Lower School (grades SK-4), students learn how to be good leaders, strong readers, and confident learners. Students are taught in a way that fosters critical thinking skills.
  • In Middle School (grades 5-8) the social-emotional development of students continues to be a primary focus, along with a vigorous academic program. By fostering independence through leadership opportunities and high academic standards, our students graduate fully prepared for the challenges of high school, college, and  beyond.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Memphis
    Grades: PK-12 | 861 students
    8.7 miles
    1381 W Massey Rd
    Memphis, TN 38120
    (901)474-1000
    8.7PK-12
    861
  • Memphis
    Grades: NS-6 | 453 students
    5.3 miles
    411 S Grove Park Road
    Memphis, TN 38117
    (901)683-6873
    5.3NS-6
    453
  • Memphis
    Christ The King Lutheran School
    (Lutheran Church Missouri Synod)
    Grades: NS-8 | 218 students
    7.1 miles
    5296 Park Avenue
    Memphis, TN 38119
    (901)682-8405
    7.1NS-8
    218
  • Memphis
    Grades: PK-12 | 362 students
    7.7 miles
    1888 Bartlett Rd
    Memphis, TN 38134
    (901)380-0122
    7.7PK-12
    362
  • Memphis
    Frayser Academy Of Christian Education
    Special Program Emphasis (Christian)
    Grades: 3-12 | 20 students
    6.7 miles
    3820 N Watkins St
    Memphis, TN 38127
    (901)358-8026
    6.73-12
    20

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
My kids have attended GSL since kindergarten, and we all absolutely love it. The school curriculum is advanced, creative, and engaging. The teachers are amazing. Their devotion to the students is obvious and they''re vital to the progressive, warm environment that makes the school so special. Parental involvement is tops, too -- a great sense of community here. As I said, we love GSL and can't imagine going anywhere else.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We have been at GSL since both my children were three. As a dual working parent it has been wonderful. I always know my children are engaged, learning, and feel safe. They do no want to leave when I pick them up!!! I really can't imagine being anywhere else!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
GSL was a great place for me to grow up. It was a vital part of the growing up process, and I couldn't imagine going anywhere else. I am so grateful for the abundance of time that I was able to spend at such a welcoming place.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
Our son has been at GSL since PK and is now in the 2nd grade. GSL is a remarkable school and he has thrived - both academically and developmentally. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about each child. The sense of community this school fosters is fantastic and we can't imagine sending our son to any other school. As a family with two working parents it's great to know your child is in an environment that is not only academically challenging, but where he is happy and well cared for.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
GSL is a wonderful place of learning in which our son has thrived. He has attended since PreK and is now finishing 1st grade. The school provides a solid academic environment while also bringing out each child's uniqueness and developing each child to their full potential. The teachers and staff are incredible and we are thrilled with our experience at GSL. We look forward to our son attending for years to come.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I am an extremely proud alumni of Grace-St. Luke's school and on all accounts I believe it to be the greatest school in Memphis, TN. I believe that I can truly speak on all aspects of GSL because I not only attended school there from Mother's Day Out to 8th grade, but I participated in almost every program there. The academics at GSL not only sufficiently prepared me for high school but led me to academic honors both during and after my time there. The teachers genuinely care about each and every student that comes through their doors and they will do whatever means necessary to help his or her students succeed in their class. I was involved in Theatre, Sports, Student Government (as president), and the Clubs offered on campus which set a precedent in my classmates and me of student involvement which has carried over to both my high school and college life. I know for a fact that I would not be the well-rounded person I am today without the values instilled in me at GSL. My parents will also vouch for how much a GSL education pays off after sending three children there.
- Posted by
5  7/24/2015
Both of my children have attended GSL since pre-kindergarten. I am thrilled with our school choice. GSL is a great balance of strong academics with a warm, friendly atmosphere.
- Posted by
5  4/27/2015
My child has only attended two years so far (PK & JK) but GSL felt like home from the very first week. There are a ton of dual working parents and the school is very helpful in that regard with early drop off included in basic tuition (7 am) and very affordable aftercare until 6 pm. The Moms that are able to be at the school during daytime hours have been great in volunteering and taking the load off of those of us with less flexibility. Our entire family feels part of the school community especially with the GSL church offering sports teams during the pre-school years. We look forward to many years to come at GSL!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 23, 2018
What is private school really like? Is there any truth to the rumors you keep hearing? Let's find out.
January 23, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
January 23, 2018
Keep yourself on track as you work through the private school admissions process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Memphis, TN is $10,784 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Memphis, TN is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).