Jim Elliot Christian School

5.00 5 1 (7 reviews)
8505 South Valley Highway
Englewood, CO 80112
Tel: (303)922-0011
  • Emphasizing a servant's heart and a missions mind, we are a different kind of Christian school.
  • We have an emphasis on strong academics, the active use of learning styles, and a student driven mentor program with all of our teachers.
  • As a non-demoninations school, we emphasis the things we agree on rather than focusing on those issues which separate us.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious AffiliationChristian
Grades OfferedGrades 6-12
Year Founded1991

Student Body

Total Students57 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
Students by GradeJim Elliot Christian School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers11 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size12 students
List of Courses OfferedLink to List of Courses
Average SAT score1095
Average ACT score22
Classroom Dress CodeCasual
(Do not require uniforms but ask students to dress modestly.)

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineNone / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$8,495
Tuition Notes^Middle school tuition is $6495. 6th grade tuition is $5995.. There is a $500 registration fee each year. There is a second child discount. Tuition is payable over a 11 month period.
% on Financial Aid
4%
Average Financial Aid Grant$950
Admissions DirectorNancy Romberg

Sports

Total Sports Offered7 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cheering, Dance, Golf, Soccer, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringDance,
GolfSoccer,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.1 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Drama/dance Drama/dance,

School Notes

  • Five (5) day cross cultural mission trip required for graduation from high school
  • Multiple service projects throughout the school year
  • Experiential and project based learning
  • Science through Physics; math through Pre-calculus
  • Family atmosphere
  • Check out our website at www.jimelliotschool.com
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Denver
    Mullen High School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: 9-12 | 749 students
    10.8 miles
    3601 S Lowell Blvd
    Denver, CO 80236
    (303)761-1764
    10.89-12
    749
  • Aurora
    Grades: 9-12 | 734 students
    4.8 miles
    6300 S Lewiston Way
    Aurora, CO 80016
    (303)269-8100
    4.89-12
    734
  • Denver
    Grades: 9-12 | 1664 students
    11.8 miles
    458 Uinta Way
    Denver, CO 80230
    (303)344-0082
    11.89-12
    1664
  • Denver
    Grades: PK-12 | 410 students
    12.4 miles
    3898 S. Teller St.
    Denver, CO 80235
    (303)733-2421
    12.4PK-12
    410

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (7 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
Jim Elliot has been a huge blessing not only to our kids, but to our entire family. There is an amazing sense of community there. The staff truly cares about each individual, and there is a strong mentorship program in place for each child. There is strong arts and athletics programming in place, for those looking for more outside of the school day. One of the things I most enjoy is the interaction between the variety of students and the acceptance between the different ages and backgrounds. We are blessed to have found JE, and we wouldn't have our kids anywhere else.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
We have had a son graduate from JECS almost four years ago, and our daughter is currently a senior. This school has been a blessing to our family. As a small school, the students have much more opportunity to participate in varsity sports and drama. It's a safe environment with a spirit of acceptance and love.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
I am a senior at Jim Elliot Christian School. These things I know to be true: Jim Elliot is a place that I will miss and a place that has prepared me for my future as a follower of Christ, as a continuing student, and as a member of today's society. Most schools have the ability to prepare you for one of these, sacrificing one or more of the others. The JE body has been able to find a balance in nurturing it's students to become rich in character as well as in knowledge. I think it must be rare to find a community in which students leave confidant enough to embrace every aspect of their - after high school life. I have been to several different schools throughout my career as a student and never have I seen a community that is so strong it transends past the building. It is easy to invest in classmates and fellow students while in the building itself but to find a place in which teachers care for students and students encourage each other outside of the building - that is a rare community indeed. I have been blessed enough to grow, and to witness the growth of others, in my time at JE. Dont miss out! You too can be apart of Jim Elliot!
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
This is an amazing place for growth for our daughter - growth academically (rigorous but not overwhelming), relationally in an accepting environment where teachers and peers encourage her to step out in new areas, in understanding what it takes to build healthy community (commitment, believing the best in others, teamwork, leadership, humility and service), athletically (it's small enough that she's been able to learn new sports and not be cut from the team) and spiritually - which undergirds all the rest. Building on the foundation of Christ, the school environment is helping her own her faith, think Biblically and live surrendered to the King of Kings.
- Posted by
5  2/10/2014
We enrolled our son, at Jim Elliot Christian School as a High School freshman, a member of the 2014 graduating class. We had hoped for a small and welcoming community where he had the opportunity to establish close relationships with both students and faculty. A small class size, organized activities like service days and chapel have created that among his classmates and a fantastic group of teachers (with an established mentoring program in place) has accomplished the latter. We are so grateful for this school/community, what a blessing it has been for our family. I highly recommend it if your looking for more than academics - we found real world preparation.
- Posted by
5  2/10/2014
We love JECS! Both our son and daughter have attended JECS, our son graduating in 2012 and our daughter graduating this year. Our students love the small classroom size, interaction of teachers, theater program, sports program and other extracurricular activities. For a small school they really offer a large selection of enrichment classes and extra curricular activities.
- Posted by
5  2/10/2014
We have had 2 children at Jim Elliot, with our youngest graduating this year. The small environment was something our kids really enjoyed as well as the strong Christian worldview that is presented in the classrooms, chapel, and sports program. Our kids participated in the theater arts program, sports, music, and student council. The staff is very invested in the students through teaching and the strong mentor program.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
September 05, 2017
If you live outside the United States, choosing an American private school can be a confusing process. Here is an overview of the process.
September 05, 2017
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
September 04, 2017
Use this hub to keep track of the steps in the private schools' admission process.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Englewood, CO is 70% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).