North Shore Montessori

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
Tel: (631)689-8273
previous
Creative Movement Program
next
Creative Movement Program
  • North Shore Montessori School offers the finest enriched learning experience for children ages 18 months through 6 years old.
  • The Montessori classroom is an environment which is carefully prepared by the teacher.
  • The whole learning environment - room, materials and social climate - must be supportive of the learner.
  • The teacher provides necessary resources, including opportunities for children to function in a safe and positive climate.
  • The teacher thus gains the children's trust, which enables them to try new things and build self-confidence.
  • Montessori children are extremely adaptable. They learn to work both independently and in groups.
  • Since they have been encouraged to make decisions from an early age, they are natural problem-solvers who make appropriate choices and manage their time well.

School Overview

School TypeMontessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc.American Montessori Society (AMS)
Grades OfferedGrades Nursery/Preschool-Kindergarten
ADD/ADHD SupportYes
Year Founded1973

Student Body

Total Students118 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
25%
State avg.: 29%
Students by GradeNorth Shore Montessori Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio17:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size16 students
Classroom Dress CodeCasual

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineJan. 31 / Dec. 31 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost$485
Tuition NotesTuition varies by program.
Acceptance Rate
95%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions DirectorMeg Sheehan
Admissions AssociateCindy Simkus

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.6 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Club or Organization:
Bite Size Bakers, Maritime Explorium (Science)

Arts and Music Programs:
Instrumental Music

Recreational Athletic Programs:
My Gym, Soccer Shots, Yoga

School Notes

  • North Shore Montessori School offers the finest enriched learning experience for Preschool and Kindergarten children. The Montessori classroom is an environment which is carefully prepared by the teacher. The whole learning environment - room, materials and social climate - must be supportive of the learner. The teacher provides necessary resources, including opportunities for children to function in a safe and positive climate. The teacher thus gains the children's trust, which enables them to try new things and build self-confidence. Montessori children are extremely adaptable. They learn to work both independently and in groups. Since they have been encouraged to make decisions from an early age, they are natural problem-solvers who make appropriate choices and manage their time well.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Patchogue
    Grades: PK-12 | 51 students
    14.2 miles
    1343 Montauk Hwy
    Patchogue, NY 11772
    (631)654-9284
    14.2PK-12
    51
  • Patchogue
    Grades: PK-8 | 319 students
    13 miles
    1 Division St
    Patchogue, NY 11772
    (631)475-0422
    13PK-8
    319
  • Stony Brook
    Grades: K-12
    1.3 miles
    1266 N Country Rd
    Stony Brook, NY 11790
    (631)689-7660
    1.3K-12
    n/a
  • Port Jefferson
    Grades: NS-8 | 108 students
    4.3 miles
    114-116 Myrtle Ave
    Port Jefferson, NY 11777
    (631)473-1211
    4.3NS-8
    108
  • Riverhead
    St Isidore School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 239 students
    24.3 miles
    515 Marcy Ave
    Riverhead, NY 11901
    (631)727-1650
    24.3PK-8
    239

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
We couldn't be happier with our choice of NSMS for our son. He started when he was 2 1/2 and the warm and nurturing environment allowed for an easy and smooth transition. He is now almost 4 and the growth we have seen in his development, maturity, and confidence is tremendous. Most importantly he is happy going to school and we feel safe and reassured that he is in good hands! The staff and fellow parents all feel like family.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
We couldn't be happier with our choice of NSMS for our son. He started when he was 2 1/2 and the warm and nurturing environment allowed for an easy and smooth transition. He is now almost 4 and the growth we have seen in his development, maturity, and confidence is tremendous. Most importantly he is happy going to school and we feel safe and reassured that he is in good hands! The staff and fellow parents all feel like family.
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
We absolutely adore the North Shore Montessori School! Our son is in his second year attending the school and the difference in him is incredible! One of the first changes I saw in our son last year was his willingness to clean up after himself changed drastically. He started cleaning up after his activities and after meals at home much more readily. Another change I saw in him was his ability to focus on tasks increased quite a bit.The staff and administration at North Shore Montessori is outstanding in my opinion! They are always friendly, courteous, professional and respectful to adults and children equally. Always. The director Meg Sheehan is a wonderful example of this Montessori principle and it really reflects in the staff and administration. Even during hectic exchanges they always give me their full and polite attention.North Shore Montessori also makes safety for adults and the children especially, a top priority. The parking lot is always very promptly plowed and salted/sanded during snow storms.Both of my son's teachers, this year and last year, have such a splendid respect and admiration for children. They seem to beam when they see my son and have such a cheerful greeting for him.The classrooms always seem neat and activities are orderly. Whenever I have visited the classrooms the children all seem politely focused on their "work" activities. Our son has also taken to using the word "work" in a Montessori context instead of school or activities or play. But I mostly appreciate how good North Shore Montessori School has been for our son overall. He is an only child and somewhat shy and reserved around children and really gets to learn socializing in a safe and structured Montessori environment. He really seems to thrive at school. We plan on sending our son to North Shore Montessori School all the way through kindergarten. We're certain of great years to come for him with a solid foundation at North Shore Montessori School.
- Posted by
5  9/10/2017
We are extremely satisfied with our experience at North Shore Montessori School. We started our son in the fall of 2016 at just over 18 months old, in order to provide him with basic life skills and socialization. We have found that NSMS provides an excellent blend of teaching real-life skills and order, while encouraging play and independence. Our son has grown so much in the past year socially with the help of his teachers and the staff. He is very attached to his mommy, and I was concerned initially about how he would take to school. My concerns were put to rest quickly, as the staff is so loving and attentive to all of the children's needs. My son loved hugging his teachers and high five-ing his classmates! He would come home at the end of every day excited to tell me about what he did with his friends, and what he wanted to do with them next school day. Academically, our son has grown tremendously this year. He is currently 2.5 years old, and can count to twenty, identify shapes and colors, and speaks full sentences with ease. He has become excellent at spatial relations and puzzle solving. We were familiar with the Montessori philosophy prior to enrolling our son, but we have learned so much from the helpful teachers and staff. Our son has learned many real life skills by attending a Montessori school, including hand washing independently, putting toys away without being prompted, cleaning up messes, and more! We believe his love of gardening started at school. His favorite activities at school were always watering plants and washing their leaves, and flower arranging. People cannot believe that he is only 2, and I often receive comments about how well behaved and mature he is. We credit the school all the time for his behavior and good manners!When looking for local preschools, we were also concerned about safety. Our son has multiple life threatening food allergies, and placing him in an environment where we knew he would be safe felt like a huge challenge. From the second we walked into North Shore Montessori, we felt safe leaving our son in the school's care. The Head of School, Meg, and nurse, Jayne, as well as all the teachers and staff were extremely knowledgable about food allergies and were willing to go above and beyond to keep our son safe. The staff always went out of their way to include our son in all events and activities involving food, and we were always promptly notified about special snacks and new foods before they were brought into the classroom.We love North Shore Montessori so much, we are enrolling our second son starting Fall 2017 in the toddler program, while our older son advances to the Children's House curriculum. I cannot recommend the school enough. You will not be disappointed with your experience!
- Posted by
5  8/2/2017
I definitely believe in love at first sight because that's exactly what it was for me when I entered North Shore Montessori School for the first time. Everything about it, the school-house building, the beautiful classrooms and the teachers/staff. Naturally, before I got to know any of the teachers I had no idea how amazing they actually were. They are the most genuine, kind hearted and dedicated people I know. I'm lucky to have gotten to know them and my children are beyond blessed to be in their classrooms. My first born started as a five day full time stepping stones student because I had infant twins as well and felt guilty that I couldn't provide the stimulation she deserved at home. Boy was I glad I chose NSMS! She learned so much more than I expected. She loved her teacher and classroom. When she started school she didn't know English because we are a bilingual household. I gave her teacher a "cheat sheet" so she could understand her when she was speaking our native language. Her teacher was so understanding and supportive. My daughter blossomed beautifully and began speaking English too!She loved school so much that she cried every time I came to pick her up.The following year my twins started as stepping stones students. They fell in love with the school as well.As a parent, it is hard to let go of our young babies and send them off to school. I can assure you that once you meet the teachers and staff at NSMS you will fall in love with them just as I did. This school is phenomenal and so is the Montessori philosophy. I highly recommend NSMS for your little ones!
- Posted by
5  7/19/2017
We love The North Shore Montessori School! The past 2016-2017 school year was our first with the school, and what a pleasant experience it was. The school has proved to be a standout in the areas of staff and community, Montessori philosophy, as well as educational quality. The community at the North Shore Montessori School is warm, helpful and kind and this experience was consistent regardless of whom we interacted with - teachers, administrators and parents alike. The school and staff adhere to the Montessori philosophy. All of the classroom environments are prepared to facilitate independence, freedom of movement, and creativity. The standout for us, however, is the consistent focus on respect, kindness, and manners. My son consistently says his "please and thank you`s" and even knows to say "excuse me" when he needs to get by someone (or even after a burp or toot!). My son once said "excuse me" to a stranger in Target it floored all of us! The lady looked at me and asked how old he was. When I said two and a half, she said: "My goodness, you must be so proud!" I was so proud in that moment and, as much as we try to be consistently uber polite at home, I knew these manners were primarily from his time at school. What more could a toddler parent want!? Also consistent with the Montessori philosophy, I found the teaching staff to be very engaged with us as parents. We regularly heard from his teacher with updates on what the children were focusing on that month, and what we could be reinforcing at home. We are a dual-income household so my son attended the five day/full day program + aftercare. He started the school year without any speech and by the New Year was putting together simple sentences. By May 2017, when he turned two and a half, our son could: sing the alphabet/recognize all of the letters and their sounds; recognize shapes; identify colors and most impressive of all, he could count past ten and grasped the concept of counting, doing so up to three. In addition, he is able to recognize many animals and creatures in nature those far away and those local to our community. He is savvy with 12+ piece puzzles at home which is a skill I attribute to the focus on concentration as well as the time and patience allotted for repetition in the Montessori classroom. Our experience at the North Shore Montessori School has been rewarding in many ways. My husband and I are so pleased with our son`s educational development. We are happy and at ease seeing a curious, caring and savvy toddler grow-up in his most formative years at the North Shore Montessori School - we are thankful to have our son enrolled here and look forward to many more happy years with the school!
- Posted by
5  7/12/2017
This school has been amazing for our family. One thing for everyone to note: although this school is located next to a church the school is not a religious school so it is open to all families of all religious backgrounds. I wanted my son to complete his first year before writing my review to see how the full school year went. This school has been great for us in so many ways. Our son who is now just over 2 has completed his first Stepping Stones year. His two teachers Ms. Celina and Ms. Lisa treat our son and his classmates as if they were their own children. The kids get a lot of care and attention. The classroom environment is a very positive and well organized one. Our son loves going there every single day, which makes life easier for us parents knowing our kid loves it there and is in great hands.The other families who attend there have been very welcoming and friendly. Within just 1 year we have become friends with many of the parents at the school and love hanging out with them outside of school. The staff really goes above and beyond for the children and parents. Whenever we visit the school, everyone's always in a great mood. If you're looking for a school where your kids won't get lost in the mix this is a perfect school. The school is also very safe - everyone there takes school safety very seriously which is so important these days. They even has a summer program for the children which is great.The school and parents do an awesome job with the events they organize for the students and parents. I've had the pleasure to get to know the Head of School, Meg Sheehan. She really cares about the students and the families that attend. She's very easy to talk to and is willing to do whatever it takes to guarantee the children and parents have an amazing experience there. All in all, great experience. We're looking forward to our son's next year at this school. Thank you so much NSMS for going above and beyond for us and everyone who attends your school.
- Posted by
5  8/21/2014
huntington montessori is a great montessori school that is located at 165 pidgeon hill rd..huntington station ny. this school is academic and offers foreign language, music and movement. art appreciation program, and a physical fitness program. the teachers are seasoned and very experienced and my children really thrived there. they also have an afternoon reading/literacy program which is amazing. i would definitely reccommend this school to parents and the prices are great. compared to other montessori schools in the area.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Suffolk County, NY is $6,927 for elementary schools and $23,204 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Suffolk County, NY is 82% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).