Our Lady Of Mount Carmel School

5.00 5 1 (6 reviews)
Tel: (757)596-2754
  • Voted the BEST Private School in Hampton Roads! Our Lady of Mount Carmel School was founded in 1954 under the direction of the Dominican Sisters of Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Today, OLMC forms bright futures for students in PreK through 8th grade.
  • Our mission is to unite with family and community to provide a Christ-centered and educationally stimulating environment, where students recognize their God-given gifts and achieve their highest potential.
  • OLMC School is well known for it academic rigor and strong moral formation.
  • In 2009, the United States Department of Education awarded Our Lady of Mount Carmel School a National Blue Ribbon for Excellence in Education. OLMC School is fully accredited and offers a strong Catholic atmosphere and a challenging curriculum. Full and part day preschool options are available.
  • Additionally, OLMC offers before and after school care and bus transportation covering a wide range of territory across Hampton Roads.
  • In addition to their academic course work, students in PreK through 8th grade participate in weekly specials including Spanish, fine arts instruction, library, music programs, physical education and a computer curriculum.
  • The school is supported by Dominican Sisters, and offers numerous service projects and weekly Mass.
  • Our Lady of Mount Carmel School is pleased to offer small class sizes, and highly educated and experienced teachers. Personal tours are offered daily.
  • If you would like more information about Our Lady of Mount Carmel School please call 757-596-2754 or email kmckenna@olmc-school.com. Now enrolling!.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc.Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
AdvancED
Religious AffiliationRoman Catholic
Grades OfferedGrades Prekindergarten-8
Year Founded1954
Awards Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2009

Student Body

Total Students272 students
Student Body TypeCo-ed
% Students of Color
37%
State avg.: 26%
Students by GradeOur Lady Of Mount Carmel School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers26 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio10:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
50%
Average Class Size18 students

Finances and Admission

Admission DeadlineFeb. 15
Tuition NotesFinancial Aid Available Application deadline for Aid - June 1, 2018
Admissions DirectorKathy McKenna

Sports

Total Sports Offered6 sports
SportsBaseball, Basketball, Cross Country, Soccer, Softball, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
Cross CountrySoccer,
SoftballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric.12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric.Alter Servers/Ushers/Sacristans, Band, Boy Scouts, Choir, Girl Scouts, Lego Robotics, Math & Science Club, National Junior Honor Society, Sport Stacks, Student Council

Club or Organization:
Pope's Prayer Club, Student Ambassadors Program

School Notes

  • If you would like more information about Our Lady of Mount Carmel School please call (757) 596-2754 ext. 166 and schedule a tour with us! 
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Newport News
    Grades: PK-12 | 655 students
    3.7 miles
    739 Academy Lane
    Newport News, VA 23602
    (757)884-9100
    3.7PK-12
    655
  • Hampton
    Grades: PK-8 | 207 students
    9 miles
    14 N Willard Ave
    Hampton, VA 23663
    (757)723-6358
    9PK-8
    207
  • Newport News
    Grades: 8-12 | 285 students
    1.6 miles
    600 Harpersville Road
    Newport News, VA 23601
    (757)596-7247
    1.68-12
    285
  • Newport News
    Grades: PK-12 | 201 students
    4.4 miles
    13010 Mitchell Point Road
    Newport News, VA 23602
    (757)249-2654
    4.4PK-12
    201
  • Newport News
     Denbigh Christian Academy
    Daycare / Preschool (Church of God)
    Grades: PK-K | 100 students
    7.3 miles
    1233 Shields Rd
    Newport News, VA 23608
    (757)874-8661
    7.3PK-K
    100

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (6 reviews)
5  11/9/2017
Having had three children attend OLMC School and having experienced many other schools due to our military life, I can happily and easily say that OLMC School is by far the very best experience my children and our family has had. OLMC is more than just a school, it is a family and a faith community in which each of us was able to thrive!
- Posted by
5  11/9/2017
A five-star school by any standard of measurement. OLMC provides a superb, faithfully Catholic education and a loving, nurturing environment.
- Posted by
5  10/17/2017
Of all the schools my children have attended as we moved during a military career, OLMC School is without hesitation the very best of them all!
- Posted by
5  1/31/2013
Best school around! My children are learning so much and love going to school each day. They are happy, and their teachers really do care. They are growing up to be incredibly bright, loving, respectful children, and I owe much of it to Our Lady of Mount Carmel School! Highly recommend!
- Posted by
5  7/9/2012
Our Lady of Mount Carmel is a fantastic school all around. The strong Catholic atmosphere is truly complimented by the excellence in academics. The class sizes are small, so that students can receive the attention they need to achieve their personal best. The school is full of experienced teachers who genuinely care about their students and Catholic education. The school is very fortunate to have Dominican Sisters supporting and teaching daily. Spanish, physical education, fine arts, library, music and computer classes are taught weekly for all grades, Pre-K4 through 8th. Daily religion classes, service projects and weekly Mass are all part of the education at Our Lady of Mount Carmel. This fully accredited school, earned a prestigious academic award from the United States Department of Education in 2009, and was named a Blue Ribbon School. In an atmosphere based on faith, Our Lady of Mount Carmel strives to help children recognize their God-given gifts and actively use them to their fullest potential.
- Posted by
5  7/9/2012
Our Lady of Mount Carmel is a fantastic school all around. The strong Catholic atmosphere is truly complimented by the excellence in academics. The class sizes are small, so that students can receive the attention they need to achieve their personal best. The school is full of experienced teachers who genuinely care about their students and Catholic education. The school is very fortunate to have Dominican Sisters supporting and teaching daily. Spanish, physical education, fine arts, library, music and computer classes are taught weekly for all grades, Pre-K4 through 8th. Daily religion classes, service projects and weekly Mass are all part of the education at Our Lady of Mount Carmel. This fully accredited school, earned a prestigious academic award from the United States Department of Education in 2009, and was named a Blue Ribbon School. In an atmosphere based on faith, Our Lady of Mount Carmel strives to help children recognize their God-given gifts and actively use them to their fullest potential.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
January 16, 2018
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
January 16, 2018
We look at why tuition costs vary so widely from school to school.
January 08, 2018
Changes to the Tax Code in late 2017 included the addition of saving for K-12 private school education to 529 plans. We take a look at what this means for families thinking about private school for their children.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Virginia is $10,731 for elementary schools and $15,558 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Virginia is 85% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).