Barnstable Academy

Tel: (201)651-0200
Grades: 5-12 | 115 students
For more than thirty-five years, Barnstable Academy's core purpose has been to provide a nurturing, college-prep day school program that encourages students with differing learning styles to succeed academically and socially.
We clearly recognize that not all students learn in the same manner, and our small environment opens doors that may otherwise never open.
Our faculty has always been dedicated to maximizing the potential of each student by enhancing self-esteem and providing a high quality, academically oriented education in which the student can be recognized and supported. Barnstable Academy is a proud member of the Fusion Education Group. For more information, please contact Head of School, Dani Ryckman at dryckman@barnstableacademy.com.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Independent Private Schools Association
AdvancED
Middle States Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools
Grades Offered Grades 5-12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADHD, Dyslexia, Mild Learning Difference
Year Founded 1978

Student Body

Total Students 115 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
18%
State avg.: 31%
Students by Grade Barnstable Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 22 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size 10 students
Number of AP Courses 2 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Average SAT score 1550
Average ACT score 24
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $30,750
Tuition Notes Please contact the school for information regarding NAPLES Placement tuition and fees.
% on Financial Aid
30%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,000
Acceptance Rate
60%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Luanne McGann
Admissions Associate

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Soccer, Softball, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringSoccer,
SoftballVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Bowling, Chess, Community Service, Dance, Hiking Club, Paint Ball Club, Performing Arts, Publications/Yearbook, Ski/Snowboarding Club, War Strategies Club Bowling, Chess, Dance, Hiking Club, Community Service,
Paint Ball Club,
Performing Arts,
Publications/Yearbook,
Ski/Snowboarding Club,
War Strategies Club,
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Bellevue
    Grades: 7-12 | 25 students
    2373.4 miles
    13400 Ne 20th St Ste 47
    Bellevue, WA 98005
    (425)401-6844
    2373.47-12
    25
  • Middleburg
    Grades: 9-12 | 172 students
    233.4 miles
    35321 Notre Dame Lane
    Middleburg, VA 20117
    (540)687-5581
    233.49-12
    172
  • Fairfax
    Grades: 4-12 | 137 students
    218.4 miles
    9431 Silver King Court
    Fairfax, VA 22031
    (703)691-3040
    218.44-12
    137
  • Mc Lean
    Grades: K-12 | 1039 students
    210.2 miles
    1301 Potomac School Rd
    Mc Lean, VA 22101
    (703)749-6313
    210.2K-12
    1039
  • Virginia Beach
    Grades: PK-12 | 895 students
    301.1 miles
    1320 Mill Dam Rd
    Virginia Beach, VA 23454
    (757)481-2446
    301.1PK-12
    895

School Reviews

Our daughter just completed her 2nd year at Barnstable: she will be a senior next year. We have been exceptionally happy with the care and attention she has received at Barnstable. The teachers and administration have been exceptionally caring and helpful throughout the two years. On the eve of our daughter's first big Spanish exam, we got a phone call at home from the Spanish teaching asking if our daughter was feeling OK about the exam and he offered any help he could give so that she would study effectively. The Barnstable staff go above and beyond in their efforts to make school productive, supportive, and successful. Along with my wife and daughter, I have felt welcomed at Barnstable and I am very grateful that we found this exceptional school.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
Our daughter is in her second year at Barnstable, where she is thriving academically and socially. The benefits include small classes, extra help, but most importantly, the teachers are inspirational and passionate about their work.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My son is in his second year at Barnstable, it has been a great experience for him academically. He really enjoys his teachers, who are attentive, caring and always available to help. The small class size and extra help have been a great support for him.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My daughter has attended Barnstable Academy for four years and is in her last year. Coming from a large school where gifted students and special needs students receive the most attention, I felt my daughter was "falling through the cracks." After attending BA for only a short time, she blossomed, regained her confidence and succeeded far beyond any expectation. I can honestly say this is due to the amazing teaching staff who become mentors and truly care about each and every student. They work to help students achieve their top potential and are available 24/7 for help of any kind. The school offers wonderful physical education, art, drama and journalism electives and students become like a family. The environment is one of respect, nurturing, and growth and I feel extremely grateful that we had such an amazing alternative to public school!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Barnstable Academy is pleased to announce the addition of the Accent Reading program which is offered to all middle school students as well as selected high school students. This additional program provides students support with the fundamentals of reading and writing. Barnstable has also added Executive Function Workshops to aid in organization and time management skills.
- Posted by Administrator, 07/24/15
Barnstable Academy is a warm, caring, supportive environment for children who are motivated to learn and wish to succeed. Faculty are available to their students offering them the skills they need to enter college. A wide range of academic courses are available with a full performing arts competent.
- Posted by Parent, 07/03/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Oakland, NJ is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).