Brown School

150 Corlaer Avenue
Schenectady, NY 12304-0123
Tel: (518)370-0366
Grades: NS-8 | 223 students
previous
Welcome to Brown School, a co-ed, Independent school for grades N-8th. Founded in 1893, Brown's 200+ Students receive a strong and diverse education in mathematics, sciences, languages, literature, history, foreign language, liberal arts, fine arts, music, social-emotional learning, and more in a small class setting.
next
Welcome to Brown School, a co-ed, Independent school for grades N-8th. Founded in 1893, Brown's 200+ Students receive a strong and diverse education in mathematics, sciences, languages, literature, history, foreign language, liberal arts, fine arts, music, social-emotional learning, and more in a small class setting.
Brown School's educational program for children and young people recognizes the importance of making up one's own mind and heart about what is true and what counts as knowledge, of knowing where one's passions lie, and of trying to determine what the future holds for humanity and the planet.
We want to inspire and equip young people to be caring, knowledgeable, and active citizens of our increasingly complex world.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
New York State Association of Independent Schools (NYSAIS)
Religious Affiliation Non-sectarian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Year Founded 1893

Student Body

Total Students 223 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
35%
State avg.: 29%
Students by Grade Brown School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 33 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 12 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Please contact our admissions director for tuition rates.
Admissions Director Joan Brooks

Sports

Total Sports Offered 9 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Dance, Field Hockey, Nordic Skiing, Rock Climbing, Soccer, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCross Country,
DanceField Hockey,
Nordic SkiingRock Climbing,
SoccerTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 20 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Afterschool Program, Art Clubs, Basketball, Chess Club, Club Scientific, Cooking Club, Debate Club, Drama, Drum Lessons, Guitar Lessons, Movement and Dance, Music Lessons, Olympics of The Visual Arts, Piano Lessons, Science Bowl, Ski and Snowboard Club, Soccer, Spanish, Technology, Volleyball Art Clubs, Basketball, Chess Club, Cooking Club, Debate Club, Drama, Drum Lessons, Guitar Lessons, Music Lessons, Piano Lessons, Science Bowl, Soccer, Spanish, Technology, Volleyball, Afterschool Program,
Club Scientific,
Movement and Dance,
Olympics of The Visual Arts,
Ski and Snowboard Club,

School Notes

  • Brown School helps each child become a well-educated, responsible, caring, and productive citizen of the world. We cultivate every student's unique potential within a structured and balanced educational program grounded in the liberal arts, fine arts, and sciences. Within our dynamic and nurturing community, we pursue and share knowledge and teach valuable social and emotional, thinking, and communication skills. The depth and breadth of Brown School's curriculum challenges students to extend their understanding of humanity and the world. Our students are prepared to make sound ethical judgments and to live happy, productive lives. This is the core of Brown School's perspective on education.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Scotia
    Grades: PK-12 | 346 students
    4.6 miles
    36-38 Sacandaga Rd
    Scotia, NY 12302
    (518)370-4272
    4.6PK-12
    346
  • Schenectady
    Grades: K-6 | 245 students
    1.2 miles
    1801 Union St
    Schenectady, NY 12309
    (518)382-8225
    1.2K-6
    245
  • Schenectady
    Grades: PK-8 | 44 students
    1.1 miles
    2117 Union Street
    Schenectady, NY 12309
    (518)937-9338
    1.1PK-8
    44
  • Schenectady
    Grades: 6-12 | 324 students
    0.5 miles
    2600 Albany St
    Schenectady, NY 12304
    (518)393-3131
    0.56-12
    324
  • Glens Falls
    Grades: PK-8 | 273 students
    38.6 miles
    10-12 Church St
    Glens Falls, NY 12801
    (518)792-3178
    38.6PK-8
    273

School Reviews

Brown School has been an excellent choice for our two children. The teachers are incredibly dedicated, knowledgeable and flexible about accommodating a wide variety of learning styles, and clearly love their work. Their joy and positive attitude permeates the culture of the school. The administrative infrastructure of the school is professional yet personable. And last, but certainly not least, the school's generous financial aid has made it a feasible choice for our family.
- Posted by Parent, 06/03/16
We initially enrolled our three kids in Brown as it had an all-day nursery/pre-school program; we intended to leave once they reached school-age. We stayed, and there are several reasons we decided that Brown was a worthwhile investment. First of all, all of the children and staff seem to truly love the school and care about each other; there is very much a sense of pride and a sense of community. Older children are matched with younger children in a "buddy" program, classes collaborate on projects and activities, parents are engaged, teachers are passionate, creative and caring. Additionally, class sizes are small and learning is very individualized. Our children have different strengths and they receive a significant amount of individual attention that has allowed each to work at his or her own ability level. Furthermore, we are very impressed with the academics offered. There is a lot of focus on making learning fun, and on decreasing/managing pressure and stress, while holding children to high standards and providing the building blocks to meet those standards. Brown does not participate in extensive testing but does stay on top of educational trends (eg: "common core") and from all accounts I have heard, Brown "alumni" have excelled when arriving in high school or transferring to other districts. While "traditional" academics are strong, significant attention is given to other critical areas - arts, music, mindfulness, compassion, community engagement. It is a "whole person" learning experience. Our children are excited everyday to go to school and we thrilled with the education they are receiving.
- Posted by Parent, 06/03/16
When my husband and I decided that we needed a change from our public school's increasing class size, decreasing budgets, and almost complete reliance on then test, test, test model of education, we toured many private schools. And while many private schools offer small class size and families who value education, we found that Brown School offered something that no one else did: a learning environment that truly educates the whole child, and teaches them to be confident and independent thinkers. Brown accomplishes this with dedicated and caring teachers, who go above and beyond to provide a creative, project-based, hands-on curriculum where children thrive. Brown offers diversity, in both the student population and in educational opportunities. My children's education is well balanced, between science and technology (STEM, computer programming) and the arts (guitar, public speaking, band, just to name a few.) Brown School employs a reading and a math specialist, to offer additional support to children who might need it. They also have, on staff, a teacher certified in gifted education who, working in partnership with the classroom teacher and the student, develops personal and scholastic goals for each student a truly personalized and customized education based on a child's individual strengths and weaknesses. My children are thriving at Brown, and we couldn't be happier.
- Posted by Parent, 05/20/16
Brown School has been such a positive experience for our son. We do not have any extended family nearby, which is tough for an only child. Brown provides him such a wonderful sense of community, and belonging. The teachers are fantastic, creative & truly care for each and every child at the school. He loves to go to school everyday & has developed such a genuine love for learning. I am so thankful to have found Brown School for my son's education.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
Brown School offers our children what few other others in our region are able to do: the opportunity to grow into confident, independent and joyful learners. At Brown, my children have thrived and have developed remarkable critical thinking skills and creative expression. Brown School's commitment to educating the "whole child" is clear and their celebration of the Arts is impressive. One of the most amazing things about Brown is the opportunity for children to feel at ease participating in diverse activities without being "judged," or stereotyped. For example, this year my son quite happily joined the Science Bowl Team, starred in the School Musical, played in band, joined select strings and competed on the soccer and volleyball teams without being "pegged" as a "geek," or a "jock." I love that at Brown, kids have the chance to explore their interests freely and to express their enthusiasm without fear of being teased or bullied. Brown School is a fantastic place, and I highly recommend it!
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
Our son has attended Brown School for the last three years. It has been an amazing experience for him and our entire family. Our family was quickly included into the Brown School Community. The school has provided a quality education, utilizing a small class size. His teachers have been kind, loving, and creative. They have also addressed his individual learning style, while going above and beyond what is expected. We are so thankful that we found Brown School for our son's education.
- Posted by Parent, 05/17/16
My kids love learning and I love Brown! The programs, class lessons, special classes, and extra curricular activities are amazing. In addition to art, music, P.E., computer, Spanish, and library classes, my Kindergartener will be taking a STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) class twice a week. For my middle school children, I am constantly amazed at the depth and diversity of their curricula their favorites: art, technology, guitar, science, history of rock 'n roll (an elective) as well as the after-school activities available to them. Every staff person strives to make Brown the best that it can be.
- Posted by Parent, 05/13/16
We spent a lot of time considering what school we wanted our son to attend. A LOT. So why did we choose Brown? They were really a head above the rest, in so many ways. All the other schools seemed to have a shtick which was attractive in theory, but felt empty after a visit: beautiful buildings, all sorts of technology, cutting edge educational theory. It was eye candy for sure. But when we sat down to figure out what we really wanted, it was simple. We wanted a genuine, authentic environment that fostered a love for learning, without gimmicks. The teachers are top notch. Not only are the Brown faculty incredibly caring, but they are also smart and creative. They go above and beyond expectations, many times over. Their responsiveness has been outstanding if I make an inquiry: teachers, staff and administration. But perhaps what I appreciate most about them is how they all look at the kids holistically. My son is not just a name, or an attitude, or a grade. He's a boy going in and out of developmental phases, with various things going on in his life at home. And they get that, and embrace it. Kids and teachers walk the halls with smiles on their faces. What impressed me (and still does) is how the older kids and younger children interact with such respect towards each other. It is a community of kindness and compassion in a world that can be anything but. I am so glad for Brown's PreK-Grade 8 spectrum which gives young students opportunities to see what's ahead, and lets the older ones guide those who are up and coming. Generally speaking, there are 10-12 kids per class which allows for individual attention and low stress for teachers. What a rarity! In such a small class, the kids who are behind, or ahead, get the support or enrichment they need without having to be pulled out of their class for supplementation. Plus all sorts of activities can be done within a classroom with such a small group of kids, which could never be done otherwise. The classrooms are magnificent, full of beauty and energy. The teachers obviously care about the learning environment. Should you be concerned that Brown is all about environment, and not content, let it be known that the kids who come out of Brown are routinely placed in AP high school classes. The academics are challenging, for sure. There are so many bright kids at Brown who will knock your socks off when they open their mouths to talk. I am also really impressed by all the hands-on classwork they do. Lectures, note taking and exams are NOT the model here (thank goodness!) There is lots of collaboration, discussion and action! The lack of standardized testing for the young children allows Brown teachers to go beyond worksheets, and into hands-on exploration of both academic subjects and the arts. Yes, the arts! The interior hallways of Brown are covered from floor to ceiling in the student's colorful artwork. My husband, who is an art professor, noted that many of the 8th graders in Brown are more skilled than his college freshman. Music and drama are also given the same kind of attention which is such a treat when most schools have cut them entirely. As a parent of an energetic child, I am happy to report that he comes home not just academically and emotionally satisfied, but physically content as well. There is plenty of recess, physical education, and music/movement time. Even within the classroom, he is not expected to sit at a desk all day long. For those who are kinetic learners, students can sit on yoga balls in lieu of chairs. What a relief to know that he wouldn't be labeled as a hyper child because he needs to move, and instead is accepted for what he is: an active, healthy boy. Going in, I was a bit concerned about community. Brown takes in families from all geographical regions, and I was worried about not getting to know the other families, or finding out they were all elitist. I am happy to report that it's a wonderful group of people - a diverse, down to earth community. I see them frequently at school events, or birthday parties and everyone has been lovely. Another concern I can alleviate - there is very little pressure to volunteer or donate money. As a volunteer, I've been welcomed into both the classroom and into the head of school's office, with open arms, and walked out feeling great about helping to make a difference. What else can I offer? My son is sad when he can't go to school when it is closed for a holiday. Staying at home isn't nearly as fun as Brown is, apparently. He asks to stay after school to participate in the many clubs and activities (which I as an adult wish I could participate in cooking club, sign me up!) . For working parents, there is the PLUS program which offers before and after school care on site. A healthy lunch, with many options, is provided by the school chef, taking into account allergies. Also of concern to many I have heard of no stories of bullying. In fact, mindfulness is a concept taught to even the youngest of children at Brown and I can tell my son has become a more respectful, aware person because of their MIND UP program (google it!) Brown represents what education is meant to be. We couldn't be happier with our experience there.
- Posted by Parent, 05/13/16
We have two children at Brown School. We love it! The school has small class sizes and literally the students know everybody. The staff is extremely dedicated to their jobs and take excellent care of the children. There is a kindness that is taught to the kids that makes it way home. A 'buddy' system of upper grades and lower grades teaches empathy as well as leadership. Brown School uses a mindfullness method that helps with stress and keeping calm, which I have actually seen my boys use at home. They have an excellent program for STEAM (the extra 'a' is for art). Brown School has a super program called IGNITE that is truly individualized for needs and goals to get them to ENJOY learning, not just do it. Plenty of extra-curricular things to do (sports, arts, exploration); a great before & after care program; excellent summer camp offerings. We enjoy being able to have them be at one place for before/after care. Can't say enough good things about Brown School.
- Posted by Parent, 05/12/16
From the moment I met with school personnel about a mid-year transfer for my two children out of the public school system I could tell I had entered a school unlike any other. Brown School is simply outstanding in every way. The extraordinarily professional staff is highly motivated to do what is in the best interest of every single child. Brown School offers developmentally appropriate education for all of students with small class sizes, nearly more curriculum hours than any other school in the Capital District, the individualized learning experience of the I.G.N.I.T.E. program, MindUp, a research-based curriculum that uses the latest information about the brain to dramatically improve behavior and learning for all students, a strong arts program, open communication, and holistic assessment of student performance. Most importantly, however, everyone - students, staff, and parents - at Brown is genuinely thrilled to be there. Beautiful student artwork adorns the hallways, smiles abound, and academic achievement appears to happen seamlessly. My children are excited to go to school each and every day. My family simply holds Brown School in the highest regard.
- Posted by Parent, 01/19/16
Brown is what a school should be. Beyond typical expectations, some of what sets Brown apart is: -small class sizes -a dedicated, skilled and caring faculty (from top to bottom) -a culture of a close community with school leadership, teachers and students -attention paid to not only scholastic development but also development of the budding individual. When, as a father, I see how much my sons are learning and yet watch them (at 10 and 12) excited each morning to go to school or disappointed in June when it's over...something special is happening.
- Posted by Parent, 10/20/15
Brown School ranks as one of the best parts of our lives in the Capital Region. When we moved to the area, finding the right school for my daughter was a top priority. As the daughter of an English teacher and a journalist, I valued academic excellence first and foremost in a school. As a social psychologist, I knew the social-emotional environment was also incredibly important. I wanted my daughter to love school, to develop her own personal creativity, interests and style and to learn real foundational academic skills. Brown school has offered us everything we wished for and more. The curriculum combines mindfulness education, the arts, extensive writing programs, and increasingly impressive science programs to create whole-child development of the highest order. My daughter has thrived. She loves the Brown community like family. Her friends are kind, comfortable with adults, and skilled beyond their years at resolving conflicts, integrating new class members, working in teams and individually. Her class is diverse and just the right size to allow for individual attention and good social opportunities. We wouldn’t have her any other place.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School is an amazing school! We have 2 children at Brown School. We love it because the curriculum is hands-on/interactive learning that engages and excites my kids. It makes learning fun for them. The atmosphere is energetic and positive. The classes are small and the teachers really know my children and care about them. The teachers at Brown School encourage my kids to be creative problem solvers and to think outside the box. We are very happy with Brown School and highly recommend it!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School allows our children to thrive in a nurturing, comfortable and challenging learning environment. The children explore a variety of topics from multiple perspectives. They hear, touch, discuss and engage friends in projects related to the topic they are discovering. They are taught to be leaders, good friends and encourage all to find their voice. Everyone gets a chance to perform on stage, present to a group of peers as well as parents and play sports. The remarkable glue that knits this community together is the sense of family that allows for resolution of conflicts as well as individual growth. We always walk away from school events with a huge smile knowing we are giving our children the best learning opportunity. Watching the children run into school every morning is a great way to start my day.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Brown School is an exceptional school that provides wonderful opportunities in and out of the classroom. We have two children at Brown and are very pleased with the education and positive experiences our children have received. Our initial attraction to Brown School were the caring teachers, the sense of community, the evident mutual respect between students and staff, the strong art and music program, and an early second language instruction. As our children have grown at Brown, we have also come to appreciate the programs that the school offers which have contributed to their personal development, such as the Mindup program and Ignite. These programs along with an emphasis on hands on learning and relevance through projects have provided a strong foundation for our children that we believe will help them as they continue their education in the coming years.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My daughter has had a wonderful experience at Brown. She started in Pre-K and is about to enter third grade. The teachers challenge their students in a supportive and nurturing environment. There is an emphasis on character development which I really appreciate. The kids treat one another with kindness and respect. The focus is on matters of importance--academics, the environment, social responsibility--and not overly focused on pop culture. It has been a great fit for my daughter and well worth the money we pay.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in New York is $9,395 for elementary schools and $20,122 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in New York is 80% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos