Fortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School)

5.00 5 1 (11 reviews)
5626 Lawton Loop Dr.
Indianapolis, IN 46216
Tel: (317)377-0544
Grades: 1-12 | 100 students
Fortune Academy , an ISACS,AOGPE and IDA accredited school, is designed to provide a multisensory environment using the Orton-Gillingham Approach.
All faculty members are trained under AOGPE guidelines.
Most teachers have advanced degrees in special education, gifted education, learning disabilities, and reading.
Speech and Language Pathologists, Social Worker and school nurse are also on staff.

School News

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other school association(s)
Learning Disabilities Association of America (LDA)
Independent Schools Association of the Central States
Orton Gillingham Academy of Practioners and Educators
Grades Offered Grades 1-12
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dylexia/Language Based Learning Differences/ADHD
Year Founded 2000

Student Body

Total Students 100 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
22%
State avg.: 20%
Students by Grade Fortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School) Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 4:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
75%
Average Class Size 5 students
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Khaki or navy pants, white, green or blue shirt, plaid jumpers)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,000
Tuition Notes Tuition assistance available to 15% of student population
% on Financial Aid
12%
Average Financial Aid Grant $5,000
Acceptance Rate
60%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Lori Jones

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Golf, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballCheering,
Cross CountryGolf,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 14 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. ACT II Performers, Art club, Boys Club, Extreme Science, Games Club, Girls Club, Intramural soccer, Jump Rope Club, Kidz Choir, Lego Club, Public Art Club, Robotics Team, Student Council, Yugioh Club Art club, Boys Club, Games Club, Girls Club, Jump Rope Club, Kidz Choir, Lego Club, Robotics Team, Yugioh Club, ACT II Performers,
Extreme Science,
Intramural soccer,
Public Art Club,
Student Council,

School Notes

  • Students must have completed cognitive and achievement testing either from their home school district or from a private evaluator. Fortune Academy does not accept children diagnosed with PDD, Autism, or Behavior/Emotional challenges.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Fortune Academy (formerly The Hutson School) also viewed these schools: Worthmore Academy, Cornerstone Baptist Academy, Midwest Academy and St Lawrence Catholic School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Indianapolis
    Worthmore Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-12 | 58 students
    4.8 miles
    3535 Kessler Boulevard East Dr
    Indianapolis, IN 46220
    (877)700-6516
    4.8K-12
    58
  • Indianapolis
    Grades: K-12 | 175 students
    2 miles
    10701 E 56th St
    Indianapolis, IN 46235
    (317)826-1160
    2K-12
    175
  • Carmel
    Midwest Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 96 students
    9.7 miles
    1420 Chase Court
    Carmel, IN 46032
    (317)843-9500
    9.74-12
    96
  • Indianapolis
    Grades: PK-8 | 278 students
    1.9 miles
    6950 E 46th St
    Indianapolis, IN 46226
    (317)543-4923
    1.9PK-8
    278

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (11 reviews)
5.0  11/20/2014
i kijed the review. i would like to speak with someone about enrolling my child. i can be reached anytime after 2pm monday thru friday. my name is shawana shelby and my number is 438-4405
- Posted by
5.0  2/10/2014
My name is Sarah and this is my first year at Fortune Academy. I am in the 7th grade and I love it. The teachers are so helpful and interact with you and spend one on one tie with you to help you. They are so kind and loving, and care about there students. When ever I am haveing truble my teachers are always there to help me. I always love coming to school every day. I always have a great experense.
- Posted by
5.0  9/7/2013
Fortune Academy has transformed my child from a nonreader to a child who reads beautifully! His confidence has soared. Worth every penny and we are here to stay!
- Posted by
5.0  4/9/2012
My son is happy going to school and is learning again!
- Posted by
5.0  2/28/2012
The Hutson school is the answer to a very long prayer. Our son is in his 3rd year and couldn't be happier. The administration and staff go above and beyond to meet the individual child's needs. They all work tirelessly to provide a nurturing , enriching, positive educational environment !! We are blessed to have such an amazing school here in indianapolis!!
- Posted by
5.0  2/28/2012
When wanting the best of the best of the best for your child is all that really matters to you as a parent, then having The Hutson School is all that is required. The professional approach to the needs of my son has been breathtaking. The academic standards that have been set forth by the amazingly dedicated facility is beyond any that will be found in the public system. When your child has been discarded by so many Hutson opens their doors and says "Really, well we will just see about that!" My son has a future because of Hutson. I am only sad that I did not find them sooner. I owe them so much that simply could never bee repaid!
- Posted by
5.0  2/28/2012
My name is Noah and I have been at The Hutson School since 6th grade. It is the greatest school I have ever been to. The teachers took time to see me and to teach me. I am going to go to college and become a teacher so I can help students just like the teachers at Hutson. Some of the best days of my life have been at The Hutson School, I never want to leave school!
- Posted by
5.0  2/28/2012
Our daughter has attended The Hutson School for the past 8 years. This school has met her every learning need. It is a state of the art education facility for children who have learning differences. Hutson has taught our daughter how to "learn" in a way no one else was able.
- Posted by
5.0  1/28/2012
Excellent academic programs. Faculty highly trained, professional, compassionate. A wonderful learning environment. A 5 Star School to be sure!
- Posted by
5.0  1/28/2012
I thank my lucky stars that we found The Hutson School. The teachers and staff are wonderful and truly care about every single kiddo. The head of school is the most amazing person.
- Posted by
5.0  1/28/2012
The Hutson School is excellent!!! The teachers are fabulous and have inspired my son as a learner. Dyslexia is no longer a disability but a difficulty that he is overcoming. If you have a child with dyslexia this is a must school to check out. Our son is happy, thriving and loves going to school. We couldn't be happier with our choice in The Hutson School.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Indianapolis, IN is $6,211 for elementary schools and $9,981 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Indianapolis, IN is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).