Bethel Christian Academy

Tel: (301)725-4673
Grades: NS - 8 | 301 students
Bethel Christian Academy is an authentic christian learning enviorment which trains students from k-3 through 8th grade.
We strive to teach students excellence in their spriritual life, their acadmeic life and their behavior.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Association of Christian Teachers and Schools (ACTS)
Christian Schools International (CSI)
Religious Affiliation Assembly of God
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool - 8
Year Founded 1984

Student Body

Total Students 301 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 90%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade Bethel Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 33 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 25%

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $7,300
% on Financial Aid 10%
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,500
Admissions Director Patti Wecker

Sports

Total Sports Offered 6 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Soccer, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
SoccerVolleyball,

School Notes:

  • In addition to their core academics students recieve weekly instruction in:
  • Art
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Library
  • Computer
  • Chapel

Profile last updated: 04/11/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is High SchoolRoad Academy (1.2 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is High SchoolRoad Academy (1.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Julia Brown Montessori Schools (2.1 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Laurel
    High SchoolRoad Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-11 | 77 students
    1.2 miles
    9705 Washington Blvd N
    Laurel, MD 20723
    (301)483-8605
    1.24-11
    77
  • Laurel
    Phillips School - Laurel
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 138 students
    1.7 miles
    8920 Whiskey Bottom Road
    Laurel, MD 20723
    (301)470-1620
    1.74-12
    138
  • Laurel
    Grades: PK-4 | 60 students
    2.1 miles
    9450 Madison Ave
    Laurel, MD 20723
    (301)498-0604
    2.1PK-4
    60
  • Laurel
    Grades: 9-12 | 460 students
    2.6 miles
    113 Saint Marys Place
    Laurel, MD 20707
    (301)725-3228
    2.69-12
    460
  • Laurel
    Grades: KG-8 | 413 students
    2.6 miles
    106 Saint Marys Pl
    Laurel, MD 20707
    (301)498-1433
    2.6KG-8
    413

School Reviews

We have been at Bethel for two years. We were at a school that had a lot of love, but wasn''t very strong in academics. I chose Bethel because I heard it was an academically challenging environment. My son''s first year at Bethel, I commented to his teacher that I knew he was a bit of a follower and she said no, he has grace and doesn''t want anyone to be left out or upset. I''d never really looked at it that way. Bethel definitely has great academics, but what I really love is that I also have that environment of love that I didn''t want to lose.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Bethel Christain Academy is providing a strong foundation for my children. There are academic skills that they are being taught that are not emphasized in public school. The teachers are caring and challenge their students.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
One child has already graduated from Bethel and I have more still attending. Bethel provides a nurturing Christian environment but also an academically challenging curriculum which we were looking for. The Principals, teachers and staff are very involved and truly believe in parent-teacher partnership. The classes are small which provides an opportunity for teachers to interact with students and for students to really gain friendships and trust. I would highly highly recommend Bethel Christian Academy. As parents, we love it .. but when your children also say they love their school .. that speaks volumes!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My children have been at Bethel from K4 all through middle school. It provides a wonderful Christian environment and a great learning atmosphere. Classes sizes are small and the teachers care about their students. As my children graduated one by one, they were prepared spiritually and academically for all challenges in high school. They were able to adjust to rigorous schedules as well as maintain good grades and Christian character because of the foundation at Bethel. I highly recommend this school.
- Posted by Parent, 02/10/14
At Bethel Christian Academy, we provide a rigorous curriculum that prepares our students for high school and beyond in a caring Christian environment. It has been my pleasure to work with many parents and students over the years, and I always look forward to the times when alumni come by to visit. They are doing well in high schools, colleges, and in their chosen careers and many continue to report that the education they received at BCA was instrumental to their success. I encourage prospective parents to come by and check us out!
- Posted by Administrator, 02/09/14

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Howard County, MD is $7,723 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Howard County, MD is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos
Bethel Christian Academy 2:43

Bethel Christian Academy
3 years ago

View more school videos