Elvaton Christian Academy

8422 Elvaton Road
Millersville, MD 21108-0211
Tel: (410)647-3224
Grades: PK-8 | 48 students
Elvaton Christian Academy offers small classes, affordable tuition, high academic standards, and strong Christian values in a loving and safe environment.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Baptist Association of Christian Schools (SBACS)
Other school association(s)
Religious Affiliation Baptist
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Speech difficulties and language barriers.
Year Founded 1984

Student Body

Total Students 48 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 34%
Students by Grade Elvaton Christian Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 10 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
Average Class Size 5 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $5,500
Tuition Notes Preschool cost based on days attending.
% on Financial Aid
Average Financial Aid Grant $1,000
Acceptance Rate
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Dallas Bumgarner, Administrator
Admissions Associate Evelyn May


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Awanas, Music and voice instruction, Sign language, Special tutoring Awanas, Sign language, Music and voice instruction,
Special tutoring,

School Notes:

  • The education program at Elvaton Christian Academy is committed to academic excellence and is designed to promote the development of knowledge, wisdom, and critical thinking, which are the skills required in academic pursuits and all of life. Strong academic teaching with a Biblical worldview provides students with the competency and inner strength necessary for success in life. The Cornerstone of Elvaton Christian Academy is its commitment to the Lordship of Jesus Christ. Our educational philosophy is derived from the Bible. From Scripture we obtain knowledge about children that teach us those essentials needed to nurture a student to become all he/she can be. From Scripture we obtain direction, discernment, and the insight into instruction with God's perspective. We become partners with parents to accomplish their God given responsibilities toward their children.

Profile last updated: 07/16/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Calvary Baptist Church Academy (1.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Calvary Baptist Church Academy (1.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Calvary Baptist Church Academy (1.6 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Glen Burnie
    Grades: PK-12 | 317 students
    1.6 miles
    407 Marley Station Rd
    Glen Burnie, MD 21060
  • Pasadena
    Pasadena Early Learning Center
    Daycare / Preschool (Methodist)
    Grades: NS-PK | 78 students
    1.6 miles
    61 Ritchie Highway
    Pasadena, MD 21122
  • Pasadena
    Grades: NS-5 | 70 students
    1.9 miles
    144 Ritchie Highway
    Pasadena, MD 21122
  • Glen Burnie
    Grades: PK-12 | 246 students
    1.9 miles
    7823 Oakwood Rd
    Glen Burnie, MD 21061
  • Millersville
    Forbush School At Anne Arundel The
    Special Education School
    Grades: 8-11 | 7 students
    2 miles
    648 Old Mill Rd
    Millersville, MD 21108

School Reviews

I have been involved with Elvaton Christian Academy for 26 years. My daughter went to the WEE program in 1987 and now her daughter is in our school. I love the at home atmosphere. The curriculum is very structured but fun. The godly ministry through the teachers and staff is the best. The school is a safe haven for all children.
- Posted by Administrator, 07/24/15
We love Elvaton! This is our first year and both my boys have been doing so great. They love their teachers and the staff. Everyone is very friendly and helpful and its a great family setting.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I have been involved with Elvaton Christian Academy for a couple of years now. We have our two oldest children who attend and it has been a fantastic experience. The teachers and staff are very accommodating and most important to me, very open with communication. Although a religious affiliation, they mix a great blend of fun activities and school with Christianity. It is not a prayer study from start to finish by any means. Obviously no problem with that, but not really what we were looking for. I have my 3rd child ready to attend next year and is already involved when we pick up and drop off the others. Warm, friendly organized environment that I highly recommend to others.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Elvaton has been a wonderful experience for my three children. They are excited to go to school and I love the personal attention they receive. It is a comfort to know they are in a physically, emotionally, and developmentally safe environment that fosters learning.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We are very pleased with the school, curriculum, the entire staff, and the loving care that my children receive at ECA. My children have been attending ECA for 8 years and I couldn''t be more pleased with the "people" they have become through the help of the loving, safe, and Christian environment that my kids are in every day.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We have been a part of the Elvaton family for three years now. It is a wonderful place to work! It is a wonderful place to see kids at work! My days are so easy at Elvaton. The classes are fun and the kids are eager to learn. We love being together as a school and I love the blessing of being one of the teachers! Come and join us!
- Posted by Teacher, 07/24/15
Our three children have been a part of ECA for the last 4 years. It was a wonderful transition from homeschooling for them. The class sizes are small. The teachers are caring and go the extra mile for their students. My kids love their school and have developed fantastic friendships. They also have developed a great sense of confidence. I highly recommend ECA!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
November, 2013 - My family has been at the school for 9 years! We love the faculty and staff, the children and the families who attend the school! I have been teaching at the school for the last few years, and there is no place that I would rather be! My three children are getting the academics, the spiritual lessons, and making good friendships to prepare them for a bright future. We offer Music, Art, and P.E. to grades K - 8th. Please come and join us! We can''t wait to meet you! :)
- Posted by Teacher, 07/24/15
I would highly reccommend Elvaton Christian Academy to any parent who desires a safe, Christian oriented, and academically ''top of the line'' school for their child or grandchild. 8 of my 10 grandchildren have attended ECA and they have all excelled as they have graduated to other schools. The small class size and loving teachers make a tremendous impact on every students'' life!
- Posted by Administrator, 03/05/13
I am a grandparent. 8 of our 10 grandchildren have attended Elvaton Christian Academy and/or Preschool over the past 17 years. Each have excelled academically and spiritually. Five now attend public school and are all honor students due to the strong foundation and love of learning they received at ECA. I would highly recommend this school!
- Posted by Parent, 03/05/13
We have been at the school for 7 years and the academics are excellent. The extracurricular activities are great! I will be teaching the upperschool extracurriculas activities and I can''t wait to see how well the kids will do! I love children and the Lord, and I can''t wait to see what blessings this new year will bring! We can''t wait to meet you and have you join our school! We pray that we will see you in the Fall! P.S. I have never seen so many academic and athletic awards given in one place! And the facilities are wonderful!
- Posted by Parent, 06/20/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
The A to Z of Private Schools
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Is Your Skill-set Still on Release 1.0?
September 20, 2015
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
5 Reasons You Might Be Looking At The Wrong Schools
September 07, 2015
Choosing the right school for your child is a major project. We look a five reasons why you might be looking at the wrong schools.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Anne Arundel County, MD is $7,756 for elementary schools and $13,495 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Anne Arundel County, MD is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).