Washington Christian Academy

16227 Batchellors Forest Road,
Olney, MD, 20832-0209
Tel: (240)390-0429
Washington Christian Academy is more than just a school -- it is a diverse community of families who share common faith, values and goals.
Established in 1960, WCA partners with parents, teachers, and churches to provide a biblically-based, college preparatory educational experience that is reverent, adventurous, and academically serious.
At WCA, children in grades K-12 discover that learning extends outside the classroom, reaching onto the stage in musical and theatrical performances, on the athletic fields and courts, in clubs, community service projects, field trips, family events, and beyond.
The 60-acre campus is home to an academic building, gymnasium, athletic fields, and extensive wetlands.
To learn more about the WCA experience, visit www.washingtonchristian.org, email admission@washingtonchristian.org or call 240-390-0429.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Christian Schools International (CSI)
Religious Affiliation Christian (no specific denomination)
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 12
Year Founded 1960

Student Body

Total Students 258 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 39%
State avg.: 30%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 39 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 46%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 8 courses
Advanced Courses AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Comparative Government & Politics, AP English Literature & Composition, AP European History, AP U.S. Government & Politics, 
Average SAT score 1810

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Half Day Kindergarten: $7,299; Full Day Kindergarten-Grade 5: $14,598; Grades 6-8: $16,098; Grades 9-12: $17,598
% on Financial Aid 31%
Acceptance Rate 65%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Karen Fleming
Admissions Associate Karen Fleming

Sports

Total Sports Offered 8 sports
Sports BaseballBasketballCheeringGolfSoccer
SoftballTennisVolleyball
BaseballBasketball,
CheeringGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
TennisVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 12 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess Club, Children's Choir, Media Club, Middle School Band, Middle School Drama, National Honor Society, Photography Club, Student Ambassadors, Student Government Association, Upper School Drama, Upper School Music Guild, Yearbook Chess Club, Media Club, Yearbook, Children's Choir,
Middle School Band,
Middle School Drama,
National Honor Society,
Photography Club,
Student Ambassadors,
Student Government Association,
Upper School Drama,
Upper School Music Guild,

School Notes:

  • Reverent: We educate our children to examine all things in the light of God's glory.  A Christian school plays a vital role in forming mature, thoughtful disciples. At Washington Christian, the progression begins with Bible verses in early grades, continues with Scripture study and church history, and includes theology in the high school years. 

    Adventurous: We believe that God is the source of all creation and all truth; therefore we teach and learn with enthusiasm and vigor, never with narrowness or fear.  We study all things through a biblical lens. For this reason, we do not limit ourselves to a "Christian" curriculum. We study the same source materials and aim at the same standard as the best schools, religious or secular; we always seek to develop both intellectual integrity and Christian discernment in our students. 

    Academically Serious: Our curriculum represents the full range of arts and sciences, physical education and sports, drama and music.  Our goal is to lead students to the highest academic levels of which they are capable.  But the higher goal remains the formation of persons toward their fullest capabilities as men and women made in the image of God.  We believe that these goals are totally compatible and complementary.  Foreign languages include Latin in grades 6-8, and Spanish in grades 9 -12.  At the high school level, we offer Advanced Placement courses in Literature, Chemistry, Calculus, Biology, Government, and European History.  We present art exhibitions, concerts, and plays each year.

  • Profile last updated: 10/10/2012

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Our Lady Of Good Counsel High School (1.8 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Oakdale Christian Academy (0.8 miles away)
The nearest preschool is The Julia Brown Montessori Schools (1.7 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Olney Oakdale Christian Academy
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Methodist)
    3425 Emory Church Rd
    Olney , MD , 20832
    (301)774-5369
    Early Childhood / Day Cares (Methodist)
    0.8  mi  |  12  students  |  Gr.  K
  • Rockville St. Patrick School
    (Roman Catholic)
    4101 Norbeck Rd
    Rockville , MD , 20853
    (301)929-9672
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.1  mi  |  223  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Rockville
    Norbeck Montessori Center
    Montessori School
    4500 Muncaster Mill Rd
    Rockville , MD , 20853
    (301)924-4233
    Montessori School
    1.2  mi  |  141  students  |  Gr.  K
  • Olney The Julia Brown Montessori Schools
    Montessori School
    3400 Queen Mary Dr
    Olney , MD , 20832
    (301)774-5700
    Montessori School
    1.7  mi  |  148  students  |  Gr.  PK-3
  • Olney
    Honored for National Blue Ribbon Award Our Lady Of Good Counsel High School
    (Roman Catholic)
    17301 Old Vic Boulevard
    Olney , MD , 20832
    (240)283-3235
    (Roman Catholic)
    1.8  mi  |  1200  students  |  Gr.  9-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended February 10, 2014 - I''ve been at Washington Christian Academy for two years and it''s been an amazing experience! From the very beginning, I felt welcomed in. The building is beautiful and very new. The teachers are great and each of them cares about the students individually. All of them know their subjects well and form relationships with each student. They are also ready to have fun when it''s time to. The classes are pretty small, so that everyone gets attention from the teachers and gets to participate in discussions. One of my favorite parts about the school includes our house system. We have crazy, year-long competitions for the house cup. Also, I have made many friends from all backgrounds. Overall, I would definitely recommend WCA to any high schooler! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Washington Christian Academy provided me with college level classes, excellent staff, and an environment in which I not only felt comfortable to achieve my greatest goals but to grow in my faith. I loved every minute of my time there! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We are grateful for the preparation and academic seriousness of a WCA education. Not only do the teachers uphold a regard for truth and integrity, they live and model it before their students. Not only was our daughter prepared for college academically but the extracurricular activities and additional class enrichment activities WCA encouraged and supported enabled her to balance studies, work, and athletics in both high school and college. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We are grateful for the preparation and academic seriousness of a WCA education. Not only do the teachers uphold a regard for truth and integrity, they live and model it before their students. Not only was our daughter prepared for college academically but the extracurricular activities and additional class enrichment activities WCA encouraged and supported enabled her to balance studies, work, and athletics in both high school and college. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - My son is in the kindergarten of WCA. The teachers in the school is very passionate. My son tells me everyday how much fun he has in school with all the new and creative activities. The school also does a very good job in helping my son to open up himself. He used to be very shy, and wasn''t willing to try new things. Now he has the courage to try and learn from his errors. Academically I think the school is above average as my son could do a grade 2 brain quest workbook by himself even before his has finish his Kingdergarten. Christian value is taught in all classes and they have a nice chapel program. One day my son came home sharing about a ministry to help those without clean water and glasses to wear that he heard in chapel. They have very good role models all around the school. I have met with the kids in upper school and middle school and they are all very friendly and nice. I''m surprised to see those well behaved kids because I myself had very rebellious teen years. I highly recommand this school to anyone who is considering Christian education. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - Our three children have had very supportive and caring teachers their last three years at WCA. They are learning everyday how to handle social and educational life lessons in a Christlike manner. They also benefit by being on WCA''s various team sports. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - We are in the 5th year with two children (boy and girl) at WCA. What a blessing this school and the parent community has been for our whole family! The curriculum is challenging but there is also a good balance of fun activities as well. When we first arrived at WCA the students in both classes reached out to our kids to make them welcome and we have seen this spirit continue as new students arrive. Since WCA is a small to mid-sized school our children have had more opportunity to make the roster and play on the school''s sports teams. We were thrilled to see our daughter be part of WCA''s 2012 league champion varsity girls soccer team! We highly recommend WCA to any parent looking for quality Christian education for their children. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - For the past four years, my two daughters, ages 16 and 8, have attended WCA. Our family''s experience has been amazing. WCA offers a strong academic and spiritual curriculum. WCA is progressive. It continues to find new and creative ways to enhance their educational opportunities. I higly recommend this school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 09, 2014 - I am a student in the sixth grade. I love this school. I get to all play the sports I want to. The teachers teach in a very kind way and help you till you get the concept. The teacher are always smiling and are kind. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended April 23, 2013 - Both of my children attend WCA, and I couldn''t be happier and more pleased with the education and individual attention they revive. They both have established long term relationships with the other children, and seem genuinely happy, and excited about school. Thank you WCA. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 23, 2013 - I consider Washington Christian Academy as one as my homes. I am currently a Student here at WCA and I know that WCA wants this to be place of fun but obviously a place to learn. I have been going to WCA ever since Kindergarten and the journey has been hard but prosperous. We were moving from building to building, but finally we found our own building in Olney, Maryland and it is great place to go everyday. There are so many talented students and many actives for them to show their talents. I love the sports teams because we all become a family and work together. Also the plays and lower school actives are fun to attend. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended April 23, 2013 - We have been part of the WCA community for 13 years and couldn''t imagine being anywhere else. We feel the academics are excellent and the teachers exceptional. I would highly recommend this school. And WCA is very generous with financial aid! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 18, 2013 - WCA is such a good school! They teach great material and you can make amazing friends! I love WCA because the teachers and students are nice and it''s a good environment! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 24, 2013 - My family (6 kids)has been attending WCA for over 22 years. We have also gone to other popular schools in the area (Our Lady of Good Counsel, St. Johns College High School and Gonzaga) but still believe WCA is the best. It''s K-12 academic program is designed to produce an intelligent, curious and Christ-like young adults. The teachers are amazing. They are passionate, many over-qualified and personal. The school has a hardworking and encouraging atmosphere. There are many fun sports (basketball, fall/spring baseball, golf, tennis, soccer, volleyball, etc.). The students are always encouraging of one another as well and going to eachother''s games. WCA really tries hard to not let a week slip away without some fun - whether that''s a field trip, half day, community project, House Festival day, etc! They acknowledge the challenging academics and make sure their student balance hard work and fun. There are plenty of opportunities for the artsy students as well. We have excellent art teachers and directors. We have middle school plays and upper school plays as well as drama options for lower school. The Music Guild is a high school group for superior musicians that practice/jam together and host a quarterly CoffeeHouse. They even recorded an album you can purchase on the WCA website! If you get the chance - GO to a WCA open house and just talk to one of the students for a few minutes. You will soon realize the difference of the WCA experience. Washington Christian Academy isn''t just a place for your kid to learn, but a place for your whole family to grow together in a Godly way. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 24, 2013 - I have two daughter that are 7 years apart in age. One began their school curriculum in seventh grade and the other began in first. It has beena a great experience for our family. The combination of their growing relationship with God and their pursiot of academic excellencs has been impressive. Each of them are eager to go toschool each day which is a blessing in itself. The overall living environment present in the school encourages this trpy of attitude. I am also impressed with the variety and content of classes offered. We have been veryhappy with all of their teachers as well. I would higly recommend this school to anyone. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 21, 2013 - WCA offers many opportunites, fun and exciting activities, intriguing learning opportunities, and a God-fearing environment. The people there are without compare, and I am so blessed to have the priveledge to go to such an amzing school! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 21, 2013 - WCA has been my home since Kindergarden and I have loved every moment of it. WCA has been a very influential part of my life. It has helped me learn so much about myself, God, and my relationship with him. WCA has one of the best curriculums out there. It challenges the student to do the best that they can. WCA has improved my study habits and given me life lessons that I believe no other school could. When you get a chance come to an open house to learn more! - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended February 14, 2013 - We have two children at the school now and look forward to having our third child begin there in the fall. We''ve been extremely please with the academic, spiritual, social, and athletic environment of the school. We have also been humbled by the extra love and support that the teachers provide whether it is from special words of encouragement about our children or supporting their summer mission opportunities. The teachers and staff live what they believe and instill that into our children. I''m so grateful for WCA! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 14, 2013 - My family joined the WCA community three years ago with one child in kindergarten, another in the lower school and our oldest in middle school. Our experience during the last three years has been wonderful. The campus is amazing and was clearly designed and built with the schools mission specific vision in mind. The sense of community within the school is a big part of what makes the school a great place for our family. We have found it to be a place where it is easy for our children to feel like an accepted part of the WCA family. My children have friends in the grades above them and below. My wife and our children and I feel supported by all, including students, teachers and staff. All are welcoming, friendly, and supportive. The faculty is positive, compassionate and more than willing to go that extra mile for the students, their parents, and the programs. Academics are challenging without being overwhelming. Lower School History Night is an experience that absolutely blew me away... it is awesome. The Physical Education Program is excellent, in that, in a K-12 school, all classes are developmentally appropriate. I only wish my kids could have more time for PE in their schedule. The athletics programs begin in middle school and continue through high school. Offerings are quite good and the Athletic Director is more than willing to seriously consider every other possibility. Teams are historically quite successful with several conference and league championships, at the Middle School level as well as varsity programs, in recent years. This is a wonderful growing institution that I would recommend to any family looking for a school that can provide every student with the personal attention that will make the most of each child''s potential. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 14, 2013 - WCA is a fantastic school: one of the most important schools in perhaps the most important city in the world. Teachers truly love and seek to serve the Lord. Our daughter has been at the school for 11 years and loves it. Academic programs are challenging but teachers are encouraging. They want the students to succeed. School also has a Model UN club, which is not listed on this web site. Campus is well laid out; facilities are in great shape. Bus service works well. Please visit during an Open House or just call and arrange your own visit. You will be glad you did. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - We have been with the school for 15 years and could not be happier. Academically, at each level of elementary, middle and high school my children have been challenged and engaged by wonderful caring teachers. The model of Christianity that we have seen year after year from each and every staff member as well as the high quality of academics impress me each and every year . The sports program has also been a blessing to our children as well as the other extracurricular activies such as the school plays and lower school choir. I encourage anyone that is interested to look into WCA! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - WCA is a great school with awesome teachers and faculty staff. I''ve been here 2 years and I feel I''ve been connected to God even more than before I came. The courses I take challenge me but not too much that I fell overwhelmed.. We have a fantastic music, arts, and sports program, and we have fun activities for the students. WCA is a great school. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - I have been a student here for 3 years now, and I always have something to look forward to every day! The teachers here are great! They try to connect with the students to help them out in their classes. One of the most interesting parts of WCA is the House program. There are four houses that work together to try and achieve different goals. The house with the most points wins. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - Our daughter attended WCA from K-12. She was well prepared, both spiritually and academically, for the rigors of college life. The teachers are nurturing and helpful, and the community of families involved with the school are supportive and caring.. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - I am in 6th grade and I love the staff. They always have a smile on their face. They are very nice and teach me what I need to learn. - Posted by Student/Alumni
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - We have 2 sons at WCA, and plan for them to complete High School there. High academic standards and a Christian world view are priorities for us, underpinning the way we raise our children at home. The teachers are dedicated, responsive and open to receive and give feedback. The homework load is heavy, but we prefer the children to be pushed rather than becoming complacent about achievement. When I drop the children at school in the morning, I experience a sense of peace knowing that my sons are in a beautiful environment with teachers that truly seek their individual well being. We have lived in several countries and experienced many schools, and can say without reserve that WCA comes out on top. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 11, 2012 - We came to WCA six years ago looking for a nourishing environment for our daughter. On the first day of school, the phone rang showing the caller ID of her teacher. We asked "what could have happened already?" Her teacher called to let us know what a blessing it was to have our daughter in her class. We were floored! That personal touch, the encouraging words, the open communication, the extra effort, the Christian love have been repeated year-after-year, day-after-day since then. The result is that my daughter thrived because she was taught well by engaged, creative teachers who cared for her, embracing her unique style, interests, and talents. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - Excellent school with exceptional, caring teachers. I would highly recommend this school to anyone!! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended March 16, 2012 - We have three childen here and we are very happy. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!