Academy Of Saint Elizabeth

Tel: (973)290-5200
Grades: 9 - 12 | 212 students
Established in 1860, the Academy of Saint Elizabeth is the oldest high school for girls in the state of New Jersey, a designation that affirms the highest levels of tradition, excellence, and vitality.
Our goal is to inspire each of our young women to acquire a strong sense of self, a purpose, and a vision; to develop her talents and leadership skills and to imbue in her a code of moral responsibility that will be her compass for life�s journey.
The Academy of Saint Elizabeth is a Catholic, independent, college preparatory school for young women, founded and sponsored by the Sisters of Charity of Saint Elizabeth.
The Academy's mission is to promote the disciplines of academic excellence and moral responsibility within a nurturing community of faith.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
State or regional independent school association
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12

Student Body

Total Students 212 students
Student Body Type All-girls
Students by Grade Academy Of Saint Elizabeth Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 24 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Shepard Academy (1.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is French American Academy of Morris Plains (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is French American Academy of Morris Plains (0.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Morris Plains
    Grades: PK-1
    0.9 miles
    131 Mountain Way
    Morris Plains, NJ 07950
    (973)206-1114
    0.9PK-1
    n/a
  • Morris Plains
    Saint Virgil Academy
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8
    0.9 miles
    238 Speedwell Avenue
    Morris Plains, NJ 07950
    (973)539-7267
    0.9PK-8
    n/a
  • Morristown
    The Red Oaks School
    Montessori School
    Grades: PK-8 | 206 students
    1.4 miles
    21 Cutler Street
    Morristown, NJ 07960
    (973)539-7853
    1.4PK-8
    206
  • Morristown
    Shepard Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 9-12 | 40 students
    1.6 miles
    8 Columba St
    Morristown, NJ 07960
    (973)984-1600
    1.69-12
    40
  • Morristown
    Shepard High School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 9-12 | 72 students
    1.6 miles
    10 Columba St
    Morristown, NJ 07960
    (856)767-5757
    1.69-12
    72

School Reviews

The Academy of Saint Elizabeth has been a positive experience for my daughter. She has been able to explore a variety of interests as a novice that she would not have been able to at our public high school. The small class size allows her to have a relationship with each one of her teachers past and present, who are invested in her success. I am watching as the Academy of Saint Elizabeth is fostering my daughter and her classmates in becoming confident young women and our future leaders.
- Posted by Parent, 10/28/14
This school has been a positive and challenging experience for our daughter. She came from a public school and has thrived with the academic challenges of the honors and AP classes. She has improved on on her PSAT scores each year, and the school is focused on getting girls to the next level. With a small school, they have challenged her to be a leader and join clubs and participate in sports, all things that she would not have done in the local public school. She has risen to the challenge. My daughter is looking forward to succeeding in the next level of education, and becoming a leader in the community due to the teachings at AOSE. The faculty encourages her to be the best person she can become and she has thrived at the school. The school is also conveniently located on the Morris & Essex line of NJ transit which, while a worry at first, has turned into a positive experience of meeting other students from both AOSE and other schools on the train line. I highly recommend the Academy of Saint Elizabeth. The single sex education has been something that both my wife and myself wish that we had had while growing up after seeing the positive results in our daughter.
- Posted by Parent, 10/16/14
My daughter is a Freshman and absolutely loves it! The campus is big and beautiful with athletic fields, tennis courts, and a swimming pool, and the classes are small (12-14). The buildings itself are authentic, with a brand new science lab. The curriculum is challenging and the teachers are interested and helpful. The Varsity sports teams are great, and everyone can play the sport they want. Also, St. E''s is the only school with an all year round Equestrian team!
- Posted by Parent, 10/16/14

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Morris County, NJ is $7,198 for elementary schools and $17,938 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Morris County, NJ is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos