The Ellis School

6425 Fifth Avenue,
Pittsburgh, PA, 15206-0152
Tel: (412)661-5992
Grades: PK - 12 | 399 students
The Ellis School is Pittsburgh's only age 3 - grade 12 independent school dedicated to the superior education of girls and young women.
We continually innovate to ensure that all aspects of the Ellis experience are of the highest caliber and are tailored to help girls thrive in school and excel in life.  Since 1916, girls have enrolled here to come into their own and become outstanding women.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Coalition of Girls
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Pennsylvania Association of Independent Schools (PAIS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12

Student Body

Total Students 399 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color 34%
State avg.: 20%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 74 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director Sara Imbriglia Leone

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Yeshiva Schools Of Pittsburgh (0.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Sacred Heart Elementary School (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Yeshiva Schools Of Pittsburgh (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Pittsburgh Sacred Heart Elementary School
    (Roman Catholic)
    325 Emerson St
    Pittsburgh , PA , 15206
    (412)441-1582
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.3  mi  |  451  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Pittsburgh
    De Paul School For Hearing & Speech
    Special Education School (Roman Catholic)
    6202 Alder St
    Pittsburgh , PA , 15206
    (412)924-1012
    Special Education School (Roman Catholic)
    0.4  mi  |  57  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Pittsburgh
    St. Bede School
    (Roman Catholic)
    6920 Edgerton Ave
    Pittsburgh , PA , 15208
    (412)661-9425
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.6  mi  |  362  students  |  Gr.  K-9
  • Pittsburgh
    Kentucky Avenue School
    5701 5th Ave
    Pittsburgh , PA , 15232
    (412)361-5332
    0.6  mi  |  75  students  |  Gr.  K-8
  • Pittsburgh
    Kentucky Avenue School
    5701 Fifth Ave
    Pittsburgh , PA , 15232
    (412)361-7559
    0.6  mi  |  80  students  |  Gr.  K-8

School Reviews

  • Recommended April 18, 2014 - My daughter came to Ellis from public school in 6th grade. She had a bit of catching up to do in study skills because Ellis already taught the 6th grade girls how to organize their work, such as making outlines when they read textbooks. But Ellis'' attentive faculty spent some extra time with her until she was comfortable. She is now in 9th grade at Ellis and has truly blossomed as an independent thinker and writer. I like Ellis'' focus on the "whole child." Each year Ellis pays more and more attention to balancing academics, sports, life skills, volunteering, etc., and making more partnerships with resources like the Pgh. Center for the Arts and nearby businesses. I also like that the girls learn to be leaders of clubs and sports teams, and practice public speaking over and over. I am sure that this will help my daughter to be confident and successful when she enters college. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 18, 2014 - As parents, we are big fans of Ellis! But more importantly, my daughter just loves going to school!!! It''s an environment with high expectations but also one that nurtures and encourages. The school gives high priority to academics (English/writing, History, as well as STEM programs) while balancing intellectual advancement with athletic achievements. There are also many other activities such as involvement in the school play -- each grade has its own play every year plus the Lower School has a play for all of its students, as well as the usual class field trips. In the Middle and Upper Schools, the girls also have overnight (2-3 days) trips where they also learn while having fun and strengthening their social skills. The teachers are absolutely wonderful! And because of the low student/teacher ratio, the classroom discussions are much more meaningful. If your family is considering the school for your daughter, it would be great to schedule a campus visit and then eventually, a day in the classroom to get a better idea of the school environment. We highly recommend Ellis! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - The Ellis School has been life changing for my daughter. We came in lower school and saw a change immediately. A highlight: that the girls learn to draw a map of the United States by hand, creating real meaning for them in social studies, geography, and art. Thanks to Ellis, she''s now comfortable speaking out in class and and has discovered a love and talent for science. The fact that the program is interdisciplinary makes for very deep understanding. For example, in 5th grade she is now studying the history of Greece, studying Greek myths in English, and learning about the art of the ancient Greeks in studio art class. The girls are a year ahead in math class, taking pre-algebra now. She''s made incredible progress in French and has discovered video game programming in computer science. She''s also really excited to take Latin in grade 6. I''ll close by saying that the school''s focus on social and emotional intelligence has helped us resolve friendship issues easily, and that the sports program is just amazing. Nearly the entire 5th grade plays a team sport even though participation isn''t required. Thank you Ellis for encouraging my daughter to be a scholar and an athlete! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2014 - I love this school because I see my daughter trying new things, taking advantage of the unique opportunities, and truly knowing herself as a result of the small classes and the attention each student receives as a result. She loves it and so do we! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended February 10, 2014 - We love Ellis! My daughter is in 5th grade now and I remain incredibly impressed with her growth academically, creatively, and socially since coming to Ellis. She loves her classes, especially science, English, history, and art. The teachers take an interdisciplinary approach: when they study Egypt in history, they study the art of Egypt in art class. She plays sports and has discovered a love of soccer. The Middle School leadership (new this year) is very caring an the advisory program means my daughter always has a special adult mentor to help her manage social issues that are a natural part of the middle school years. I am so grateful my daughter goes to this incredible, caring school. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended December 18, 2013 - I am a parent of a student who attended The Ellis School for the middle and upper schools. We live in a very good public school district, but recognized the negative impact standardized testing has had on education, especially on writing and required a strong English department for a middle school experience, so we compared SSA and WT to Ellis, and Ellis won. After my daughter visited all three, she came home from Ellis beaming, and said, “Ellis is my school!” There is no better school for the smart and motivated girl, in which to learn liberal arts, fine arts, and critical thinking, especially in math, science and technology. My daughter is now in the upper school and is thriving, happy, and very competitively positioned for any of the top colleges and universities of the world and of her choosing. She is strong, confident, accomplished, self-assured and happy. Ellis has given her the knowledge, skills, and the opportunities to develop the critical self-awareness she needs to plan and execute her own vision of her future. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended April 14, 2013 - Some amazing teachers make it a geat school. Your daughter will really know herself by years end. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended January 31, 2013 - Ellis Upper School has strong English and History programs. The Math and Science programs are sorely lacking. If your daughter is passionate or particularly talented in either of these areas, she would do much better at (and received much better preparation for college) from Shady Side Academy. - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Choosing a School: 10 Things Which Matter To Parents
Never lose sight of why you are planning to send your child to private school. This list of ten considerations will help you focus on the things which matter.
3 Tips for an Effective Private School Job Search
Use these tips to tweak your job search strategies as you seek employment in a private school.
5 Financial Aid DOs and DONTs
Part of the private school selection process is financial aid. We point out five issues about which you should be aware.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently grade:
Seeking entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!