Our Lady Of Good Counsel School

8601 Wolftrap Road,
Vienna, VA, 22182-0221
     Tel: (703)938-3600
Grades: K - 8 | 424 students
Our Lady of Good Counsel is a parochial school for children in Kindergarten through grade eight.
The school has a long standing reputation for excellence in academics and a caring, family environment which facilitates learning and the child's spiritual, social, emotional and physical growth.
OLGC School provides a Christian education that is intended to make one's faith a living, conscious, and active one through the light of instruction.
The integration of religious truth and values with life is the focal point of the curriculum.
As part of its educational program, OLGC School strives for academic excellence, encourages appreciation of the fine arts, fosters self respect and respect for all life, and attempts to develop responsibility for the total community.
We at Our Lady of Good Counsel School have the mission to provide an excellent Catholic education primarily for the children of our Lady of Good Counsel Parish, and on a space available basis, to non-parish students willing to commit to our philosophy of education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1957
Awards Honored for National Blue Ribbon Award Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 2005

Student Body

Total Students 424 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 10%
State avg.: 27%
Students by Grade Our Lady Of Good Counsel School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 22 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 20:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 25 students
Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition based upon number of enrolled students per family.

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Basketball, Tennis, Track and FieldBasketballTennis,
Track and Field

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 14 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Altar Servers, Band, Boy Scouts, Chess Club, Choir, Computer Club, Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, LEGO League, Literary Magazine, Spirit Store, Student Council, Wildcat Tales Newspaper, Yearbook Staff Altar Servers, Band, Boy Scouts, Chess Club, Choir, Computer Club, Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, LEGO League, Spirit Store, Yearbook Staff, Literary Magazine,
Student Council,
Wildcat Tales Newspaper,

School Notes:

The campus is located on 25 acres in a neighborhood setting in Northern Virginia.

The school includes:
  • 19 classrooms, a computer lab, science lab, library, music room, band room, art room, resource room, gymnasium, cafeteria, playground, and playing fields.
  • OLGC students have access to the following technology: the school-wide network, the Internet, desktop and laptop computers, wireless slates, LCD and document projectors, wireless access, and interactive whiteboards.
  • The curriculum is supported by and students have access to an online library catalog, Edline, the Accelerated Reader program, Discovery School streaming video, and various other online programs.
  • Our school has 35 faculty members, many with advanced degrees. Instructional aides assist in grades K-3. Limited small group instruction for students with learning disabilities is available. The Terra Nova National Achievement test is administered annually in the spring to students in grades 2-7. Students in grades 5 and 8 take the ACRE (Religion test). All students in grade 8 take the High School Placement Test which is the admissions test for Catholic high schools in the area.
  • Students are transported by car, walk, and bicycle to school. Students bring their lunch to school and milk is sold on a yearly basis. A vendor-provided lunch is available for an extra charge on Thursdays throughout the school year.
  • The Extra-Curricular Activities Program (ECAP) is available from 3-6pm after school. Other enrichment opportunities include Art, Band, Chorus, Chess Club, Computer Club, Dance, Lego League, Wildcat Chat School Newspaper, Yearbook Club,  Student Council, Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, House League Basketball, CYO Basketball, CYO Tennis, and CYO Track & Field. 
  • Some community service activities include food drives, Bracelets for Africa, Christmas Giving Tree and Adopt-a-Family, performances for seasoned citizens, cards for servicemen, and various fundraising activities.

Profile last updated: 04/14/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Way Of Faith Christian Academy (3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Vienna Adventist Academy (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Vienna Adventist Academy (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • ViennaVienna Adventist Academy
      (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    340 Courthouse Rd Sw
    ViennaVA22180
    (703)938-6200
      (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    0.6 mi | 69 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • ViennaWien Private Day School
    916 Ninovan Road Se
    ViennaVA22180
    (703)281-3172
    0.8 mi | 16 students | Gr. PK-1                      
  • ViennaLorien Wood
      (Christian)
    8200 Bell Lane
    ViennaVA22182
    (703)854-1640
      (Christian)
    0.9 mi | 129 students | Gr. K-8                      
  • Mc LeanTysons Corner Childrens Center
    Daycare / Preschool
    8260 Greensboro Dr # 155
    Mc LeanVA22102
    (703)917-9290
    Daycare / Preschool
    1.1 mi | 22 students | Gr. K                      
  • ViennaFaith Baptist Academy
    Daycare / Preschool  (Baptist)
    301 Center St S
    ViennaVA22180
    (703)938-9688
    Daycare / Preschool  (Baptist)
    1.4 mi | 5 students | Gr. PK-KG                      

School Reviews

Recommended
5 months ago
Our family has been part of the OLGC school community for 13 years. Most recently our second son completed OLGC and is headed to high school. My son''s three years in OLGC Middle School were instrumental in his self esteem, organizational skills, academic development and social interactions. The ??upstairs?" is a nurturing environment where students are seen as individuals who are expected to perform to their highest potential. The small class size allows the teachers to get to know the individual student. This relationship grows deeper as the student has the same subject teacher for three years. Together the student and the teachers develop unique relationships to bring about their best work. Our son has some learning challenges for which the teachers developed strategies that worked for his needs. Our son''s success is a direct result of the caring middle school teachers at OLGC.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
I am a parent of two children who have graduated from and two children who currently attend OLGC. I have found the community at OLGC to be warm and welcoming both at the student and parent level. The teachers at OLGC are dedicated and caring and create a nurturing environment, which not only supports the academic development of each child, but also each child''s spiritual development. Religion instruction is not only limited to daily lessons taught in the classroom, but it is also fostered in the celebration of the Mass and special prayer services. Sports are also strong at OLGC. OLGC has an exceptional House League basketball program for 4th and 5th graders and our teams consistently do well in the CYO basketball league and CYO track meets. In addition, our Art teacher inspires students creativity as any visitor can see when visiting the school or attending our Art Fair. The computer club and Lego League robotics club are two other extracurricular programs that enrich the curriculum at OLGC. Overall, my two older children were well prepared for high school and my younger two children are being challenged as well. The bottom line is that my kids were/ are happy at OLGC.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
I grew up in suburban area in the Northeast in a town where families truly looked out for one another and where people were invested in their community. It was a special place to live. I am so grateful to have found a similarly special place in OLGC so that my children can have that same experience. OLGC provides my children with a high quality education all the while providing my family with a wonderful community that often feels like family. The school administration, the teachers and the families at the school truly care and I know that my children benefit greatly on a daily basis. My husband and I could not be happier with our decision to send our children to OLGC.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
My son has attended OLGC for the past three years and I could not be happier with his education and faith formation! Even in a class of 30 students, he receives individual attention and help. His teacher is in regular communication with me on his progress and areas of concern. My son is so happy here and comes home with a big smile everyday!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
OLGC has been a wonderful school for our daughters. We have been pleased with the high quality education that our children have received and the nurturing environment in which they have received it. The teachers have been very caring and supportive. Our girls have been academically challenged and have thrived in the loving environment that prevails throughout the school. OLGC has played a significant role in teaching our daughters important values and how to strive to "live like Jesus and have Jesus shine through your heart." The Catholic values that have been instilled in our children will help them overcome the challenges they may face in the future. Our children have been very happy and comfortable at OLGC. We could not be more pleased with our experience at OLGC. We feel very blessed to be a part of the OLGC family.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
We are thrilled with OLGC!! Our children are receiving an excellent Catholic based education. There are many educational opportunities for both remedial assistance and advanced academics. The full time school counselor, Mr. Raab works with all the classes on social skills and academic organization. And the full time nurse, Mrs. Barker is so compassionate! My children love her classroom lessons!! Since moving to Virginia, we have been so fortunate to to find not only an excellent educational environment for our children, but also a community that has welcomed us from the very beginning!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
9 months ago
As a veteran teacher, I find the students at OLGC among the most intellectually curious and well-prepared of those I have ever taught. In general the students are academically stronger and more motivated than kids I''ve taught in other private schools in the area. The academic program is demanding yet thoughtful, and the school''s mission of holistic education comes through in the many class activities, service projects, and quite simply the depth to which teachers, administrators, and staff really know the kids and want to help them succeed. The staff, children, and families here make the school a very special place to be.
- Posted by Teacher
Recommended
9 months ago
The faith-based education our children are receiving at OLGC is exceptional! OLGC exceeds the educational needs of both of our children-one who is working ahead in math and the other who needs more assistance in reading. The art program is extraordinary! We are always amazed by the work our children bring home. I have decorated my office in their art work and receive complements on their work daily! OLGC also has a full-time School Counselor and a full-time nurse who, aside from working and helping students and families individually, also provide topical classroom lessons. The community at OLGC has always been kind and welcoming. As a family that moved to the area a few years ago, we are so thrilled to have found OLGC School and community!!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Being that we have 5 children, we have been able to experience each grade at OLGC. On all levels we are extremely satisfied.The caliber of the teaching staff and the education our chidren are receiving is superior. We are excited about the many middle school enhancements. We are also very pleased with the Chrsitian example and teachings practiced throughout a typical day. Along with attending weekly mass, our kids are taught Religion on a daily basis. Also, the community at OLGC is like no other. It is a very special and welcoming group of amazing families. We are so happy to be a part of it all! Amy & Tim McConville
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
My daughter has attended OLGC for a year now, and we are pleased with the school. I can clearly see my daughter progressing academically, and in her faith formation. I am impressed with the language arts focus; my daughter''s reading and writing are clearly progressing well. And the school has a reputation for strong middle school math. The teachers are dedicated, and care about the children. I especially like the science lab. The parents are also involved, which adds another strong dimension to the school community.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
Recommended
1 year ago
OLGC is a faith based school with exceptional academics. It fosters community service, service to the school and church and a general atmosphere of family. The school has a wonderful and caring staff and faculty who make many sacrifices to give our children an excellent Catholic education. The classes range in size depending on the grade and are often supplemented by an aide. Our four children are very happy there and we could not imagine sending them anywhere else.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Our Lady of Good Counsel is a school which effectively combines formation in Catholic morals and faith with rigorous academics. Middle School teachers regularly receive unsolicited comments regarding how well graduates are prepared for high school, including honors and AP courses, from former students, parents and high school staff members.
- Posted by Teacher

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Paying for Private School: 7 Options
Don't assume you cannot afford private school. Don't assume that you make too much money to be eligible for financial aid. Ask. Always ask.
Cristo Rey Schools: A Different Kind of School
The Cristo Rey Network of schools currently comprises some 26 schools in 17 states and the District of Columbia. Truth is they are just getting started.
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!