Praise Academy

4052 Hiram Lithia Springs Rd.
Powder Springs, GA 30127
     Tel: (770)943-2484
        
   
Grades: PK - 12 | 381 students
item which has been noted, verified.
Praise Academy is a private Christian school serving metro Atlanta, Georgia.
item which has been noted, verified.
Praise Academy is accredited by SACS and ACSI.
item which has been noted, verified.
Praise Academy provides an education that inspires Love, Life, and Learning ...
item which has been noted, verified.
At Praise Academy, we partner with the family by teaching children how to love God and others, how to live for God, and how to think with a biblical worldview.
item which has been noted, verified.
Praise Academy prepares students for today, tomorrow, and eternity.
item which has been noted, verified.
Our philosophy is Christ, Self-worth, Academics

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Georgia Private School Accreditation Council (GAPSAC)
Religious Affiliation Methodist
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Year Founded 1983

Student Body

Total Students 381 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 30%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade Praise Academy Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 21 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 19:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 30%
Average Class Size 20 students
Number of AP Courses 12 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(School uniform dress)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $5,175
Tuition Notes Yearly Tuition: K3-4 (Half day) $3286; K3-4 (Full day) $4638; K5 $4691; Grades 1-3 $5088; Grades 4-6 $5300; Grades 7-12 $5830; Multi-Child Discounts Available
Acceptance Rate 85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Jane Mitchell
Admissions Associate Jane Mitchell

Sports

Total Sports Offered 11 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Football, Golf, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, Volleyball, WeightliftingBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
FootballGolf,
SoccerSoftball,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Weightlifting

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 9 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art Club, Band/Orchestra (Elementary & Middle School), Chess Club, Drama Club, Elementary Music/Chorus, Photography Club, Praise Band (Middle & High School), Praise-in-Motion, Robotics Club Art Club, Chess Club, Drama Club, Robotics Club, Band/Orchestra (Elementary & Middle School),
Elementary Music/Chorus,
Photography Club,
Praise Band (Middle & High School),
Praise-in-Motion,

School Notes:

Why consider Praise Academy? "Our children ... God's greatest gift to the family"

We partner with Christian families by providing the very best in Christian education: Christ First, Self-worth, Academics.

Children are trained to
think and live biblically.

Our environment is one of caring and loving by the faculty, staff, and students ... a family atmosphere.

Praise Academy is fully accredited by
the Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI) and by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS).

A proven track record -- Praise Academy is celebrating 30 years of making disciples for Christ and His Kingdom.

Location: Praise Academy serves the metro-Atlanta and the tri-county area: Cobb, Paulding, and Douglas County.

Stability: Our administration has over 50 years of combined experience in Christian education. Governance is by an experienced school board.

Praise Academy offers a wide range of exceptional opportunities for cultural, athletic, and community service involvement.

Size: At over 280 students in K-3 through 12th Grade, we are large enough to incorporate many co-curricular activities and small enough to keep the family environment.

Curriculum is regularly reviewed, meticulously evaluated, and consistently improved to reflect "best practices" in education.

Athletic program offers both competitive and a model of sportsmanship.

Praise Academy offers the most competitive tuition rate among accredited schools in the metro-Atlanta area. See the tuition compaison chart under Tuition and Fees section.

  • VISION STATEMENT: Growing Disciples to make Disciples through Christian Education.
    • MISSION STATEMENT: Partnering with Christian families to provide a Christ centered educational system where students can achieve academic excellence, a life long commitment to Christ, and a passion for success.
    • PHILOSOPHY STATEMENT: Christ First, Self-Worth, Academics

Profile last updated: 05/20/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Youth Christian School (1.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Youth Christian School (1.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Youth Christian School (1.3 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Powder SpringsYouth Christian School
      (Baptist)
    4967 Brownsville Rd
    Powder SpringsGA 30127
    (770)943-1394
      (Baptist)
    1.3 mi | 164 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • AustellCumberland Christian Academy
      (Christian)
    Main Office 2356 Clay Road
    AustellGA 30106
    (770)819-5040
      (Christian)
    2 mi | 494 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • Powder SpringsGrace Baptist Christian School
      (Baptist)
    Po Box 578
    Powder SpringsGA 30127
    (770)222-8955
      (Baptist)
    2.6 mi | 469 students | Gr. PK-12                      
  • Powder SpringsTrinity Chapel Academy
      (Christian)
    4665 Macland Road
    Powder SpringsGA 30127
    (678)831-1062
      (Christian)
    4.2 mi | 308 students | Gr. K-12                      
  • Powder SpringsJubilee Christian Preparatory Academy
      (Pentecostal)
    3000 Macedonia Rd
    Powder SpringsGA 30127
    (678)384-0656
      (Pentecostal)
    4.4 mi | 32 students | Gr. PK-1                      

School Reviews

1 day ago
I would just like to take a moment to say thank you to Praise Academy. To all administration, teachers, staff, coaches, volunteers. This was our very first year at Praise. Words cannot express what a great year we have had. You have welcomed our son with open arms and he has fit right it like he's been here for years. So grateful to call you all family. This morning I had big tears during the sports recognition ceremony because I know the years fly by and one day our son (today, a 6th grader) will be one of the seniors leaving, but the tears came because I always see the great bond the students have with one another...I see this each week during lunch break, and it is a priceless gift. I want to say a special thanks to Mrs. Shelly Franks for all her hard work & dedication to the Athletic Dept. This is a huge blessing to us. We feel it wouldn't be where it is without Shelly--thank you!! It's a joy to be at Praise! Thank each of you for all you do and it's an honor to serve along side of you. Looking forward to another great year.
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
My two children have attended Praise Academy for 3 years and both have grown in so many ways. The teachers and administration are so caring and truly take an interest in every child. Academics are top notch and the variety of sports and extracurricular activities are astounding. Every child can find a place to share and grow their gifts whether they be academic, athletic, artistic or other. The school motto of "Christ, Self-Worth, Academics" is on display in everything they do.
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
Absolutely wonderful! We are so happy that we chose to put our kids in Praise Academy. The teachers care about them, and they want them to be the best that they can be. I know that from the classroom to the field or courts they are cared for and held to a high standard of excellence. I would highly recommend Praise Academy to any one who is looking for a good Christian School.
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
I am beyond pleased with Praise Academy, they truly exceeded my expectations. Not only do I feel that my son is getting a very solid education, but he is being taught things like accountability, making good choices, learning to celebrate well-earned successes and that working hard does pay off. I believe the teachers truly love their jobs and love these kids and it is such a pleasure watching Mrs. White interact with the kids, she just adores them. You will not find a better school than Praise Academy!
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
Praise has been a wonderful experience for us this year. We are grateful for all the teachers and administrators, coaches and parent volunteers.
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
We have just completed our 13th year with Praise Academy and my wife and I commend this school to your family whole heartedly. Praise Academy offers excellent academics, college preparatory level, and retains an atmosphere of Christian family...this staff personifies the call of excellence in all things to the glory of Christ! Dr. Keith Stell, father of an awesome and amazing Junior!
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
My Step-daughter attended Praise from Kindergarten through 12th grade (graduated 2013) and my daughter has also attended since Kindergarten and is currently in the 7th grade. I could not imagine sending my children to a different school, the teachers and faculty are the best!!
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
We have been very pleased with Praise Academy. Our daughter has thrived and become an amazing student. The staff is always willing to go the extra mile for their students.
- Posted by Parent
1 day ago
My first child will be graduating from Praise Academy in a few days and I am experiencing the whole range of emotions about that situation, but one thing I can state unequivocally is that during his 12 years of attendance at this school he has never felt more loved (mom and dad excluded!) than he has at this school. This faculty/staff/administration has made it apparent that one of their first priorities is loving these students, and loving to lead these students to Christ. We feel a great peace as our first 'college student' heads out in to this world, as we know that he has a sound foundation which has been encouraged by his teachers all the way from the first grade! Thank you Praise Academy, you have been a blessing in our lives.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
What Makes Praise Academy Different? Best described by a parent attending chapel today ... Dear Mr. White: I wanted to drop you and Mrs. White a line to let you know that I attended my first Chapel at Praise Academy this morning and it was such a wonderful experience. To see the children praising the Lord in their own way ?? some sang (my daughter did), some played the piano, and one showed a piece of art ?? was amazing. The feel in the Chapel was of complete love for each other and for Jesus. I want to express to you both that I am so very proud that my daughter attends Praise Academy. It was wonderful to see the support from the children in the audience for the children that were in the front of the Chapel ?? that was amazing. I looked at the high school students when the younger children were singing and they were smiling at them and mouthing the words to the songs along with them ?? that was awesome! I realize this is something that you must experience at your school on an everyday basis, but I wanted to let you know that as a parent, it brought tears to my eyes to see and feel the love this morning in Chapel. Thank you both so much for everything you do! Sincerely, Linda Mosley (Michaela Mosley?''s mom) (Michaela is in 3rd Grade)
- Posted by Parent
6 months ago
This is my sons first year at Praise Academy. We came to this school after pulling my son out of kindergarten at public school due to many conflicts of interest and lack of education. My son is in the kindergarten class and we absolutely love it! My son brings home all of his school work weekly so I can see that he is being challenged, and he has excelled in his reading and writing abilities in a very short amount of time! We are thrilled we discovered Praise Academy!
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
My son has attended Praise Academy since the 6th grade. He is currently in the 11th grade. Coming from a military enviroment my son could not adjust to the nonstructure of public school. The first time meeting the staff, I was so impress by the genuine care for the children at Praise. They also accommodate each childs need. One day I couldn''t help my son with a homework Algbra problem,without hesitation, he told me he will ask Mrs White to help...She is the Principal whom i know is busy, but my son knew if he needed her she would help him..THATS Praise Academy
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
This is my daughter?''s first year at Praise. Just last night she told me she loves her school. Her comment alone is priceless. I am excited to watch her grow spiritually and academically. I thank God for bringing Praise Academy into our lives.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
Genuine Christian values with a good measure of common sense. Consistency is important - no pretense, just solid education that prepares for life''s next phase, with the love of Christ as the backbone. Parents may volunteer as much as they''d like - I have access to "behind the scenes" daily life at Praise and I wouldn''t have my kids anywhere else. The HIDDEN JEWEL i n the Atlanta/ West Metro area. We''re thankful to have found Praise Academy!
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
Praising God that we found Praise Academy. This is our 2nd year and we''re thrilled to be apart of this loving family oriented organization. WE LOVE OUR SCHOOL!!!
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
We are truly blessed to be at Praise Academy. The administration is excellent! Christ first, self-worth, academics. Consistent contact from teachers and administration; Spiritually and academically solid environment. A large variety of extra-curricular activities, spiritual growth opportunities and programs for parents as well.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
We have been at Praise Christian Academy for two years now and are very happy! It is obvious that the administration and staff have a heart for the students. We feel confident that our children are in an environment where the school has partnered with us (the parents) to provide the best education possible with a Christian worldview. Our children participate in numerous athletic and extracurricular activities. We are thankful that God has brought us to Praise.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
What a blessing it has been to be a part of the Praise Academy family for the past 7 years . I have story after story of how God has blessed our family while at Praise. We have had 2 children graduate from Praise and one more that is a freshman. We have been in public school before and our children have told us how thankful they are that Lord allowed them the opportunity to be a part of Praise. I can''t say enough great things about the school and the Christ centered environment. Mr. & Mrs. White really love the students and strive to always put Christ first.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
My child is new to Praise Academy as a Senior. We were very nervous to move him 2500 miles his senior year, but the staff and student body have been amazing in making him feel like he belongs from the day he started. The teachers are very welcoming and concerned with him not just as a student but as a person and we do appreciate how they have brought him into their family like he has always been there. Thank you Praise for being a blessing to our family.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
My daughter started K3 this year at Praise. She loves school and ALL of the teachers that are around her. She will go up and hug teachers that are not even hers. She has come out of her shell in the last three weeks and I am beyond thankful. God led me to Praise for a very important reason, and He is continuing to show me that I was not the only one He led to Praise. This is an amazing school with a wonderful staff. My goal is to have my daughter walk across that stage and receive a diploma from Praise Academy.
- Posted by Parent
8 months ago
The faculty, staff, and administration at Praise Academy are what really set this school apart from any others we are familiar with. Although the academics are extremely respectable (and continue raising the bar every year) the knowledge that our children are in an environment where they are not only ''lectured'' about a Biblical perspective but also learn this worldview by observing all of the actions of the school employees gives me a peace in knowing that we made the right decision.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
We''re here by the Grace of God. Being new to GA, we almost chose a different private school. This truly is an awesome experience for my family. The teachers are fair yet they challenge and push the students to their learning potentials. We''re so pleased with every aspect of this institution.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Praise Academy is a school that has pushed my children academically with teachers that care. My children have been able to pursue a well-rounded education that includes college-prep academics while being exposed to community outreach, clubs that enhance their critical thinking skills, and various sports.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Praise is a great school!! Christ center with lots of extra curricular activities. Faculty and staff love the children. Small class sizes and great communication.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
We are going on our 3rd year at Praise and are extremely satisfied with the curriculum, staff and their core values. We have seen a complete turn around with our son and attribute it to the teachers and administrators. Great school!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Praise Academy provides quality education to students and are accredited by SACS and ASCI. The teachers are very dedicated to their students and demonstrate a commitment to excellence in education. My son loves this school and his teachers. Praise Academy also provides extracurricular activities i.e. basketball, baseball, soccer, Robotics Club, Chess Club, and Art Club.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
If you''re looking for an "elite" private school education with a perfect faculty/staff then don''t come to Praise Academy. If you are looking for a Christ-centered, Biblical worldview education and want to partner with the faculty/staff to educate your child(ren) then Praise is exactly where you should be. This will be our 7th year and we couldn''t be happier. My oldest graduated with high honors and continues to excel in a state university. My youngest who is in high school is excelling & thriving at Praise as well. Although academics are important, the main reason we were drawn to and remain at Praise is that they make every effort to abide by their philosophy "Christ first, Self-Worth, Academics". It is a blessing to have a faculty/staff that care about my children''s spiritual growth above academics & athletics. We couldn''t ask for a better, more well-rounded education for our children! Grateful to God for Praise!!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
This was our sons first year of school and we wanted him to feel safe and be in a great learning environment. We found Praise and Mrs. Jackie. I am very much pleased with our choice.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
My son is going up into 5th grade and in all his years up until now he was always B/C student. This past year we saw a dramatic change. At first we thought it might prove more challenging as the curriculum was going to be different then what he was used to in public school. Tis not to suggest that the public school system curriculum is inferior but between the amazing teacher (Mrs Runyun) and the amount of communication from the school staff) he was an A/B honor roll student! It was the best decision we have made and have since enrolled our other child with Praise. Check this school out, they have so much to offer both spiritually and academically. The icing on the cake is that they promote Financial Peace, which is financial education that my family has employed. To know that children are leaving with both a solid education AND understanding fiscal responsibility is simply fantastic. Highly recommended!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Praise is a wonderful school where the staff really care about the students.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Excellent school, great staff, amazing admin staff, family atmosphere, current academics, always making improvements to the school due to student growth, many different extracurricular activities for all ages of students (not just middle & high), after my own research truly the best! "God first, and the rest will follow" Ms. Georgia
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
What About a Foreign Language School?
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Cobb County, GA is $8,311 for elementary schools and $9,125 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Cobb County, GA is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).