Squaw Valley Academy

235 Squaw Valley Rd
Olympic Valley, CA 96146-0961
Tel: (530)583-9393
Grades: 9 - 12 | 80 students
We challenge with rigorous academics; we support with consistent behavioral standards; we train in life-long sports; we provide outdoor adventure; and we foster self-esteem through real accomplishment.
We are strictly college-preparatory, yet we readily accept students who need a second chance academically.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Independent Private Schools Association
Other school association(s)
Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
Grades Offered Grades 9 - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1978

Student Body

Total Students 80 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Squaw Valley Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 10 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 66%
Average Class Size 8 students
Number of AP Courses 8 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses Biology, Calculus AB, English Language & Composition, English Literature & Composition, Physics B, U.S. Government & Politics, U.S. History, World History,
Average SAT score 1500
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Khaki pants and polo shirt)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $48,789
Tuition Notes Tuition shown for: Nine-month Boarding Student August 18, 2013 - May 16, 2014 For more information on tuition, please visit http://sva.org/tuition-financial-aid
Acceptance Rate 85%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Adrienne Forbes

Sports

Total Sports Offered 21 sports
Sports Alpine Skiing, Badminton, Basketball, Bowling, Cross Country, Cycling, Flag Football, Freestyle Skiing, Golf, Ice Hockey, Kayaking, Mountain Biking, Nordic Skiing, Rock Climbing, Snowboarding, Soccer, Swimming, Tennis, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, WeightliftingAlpine SkiingBadminton,
BasketballBowling,
Cross CountryCycling,
Flag FootballFreestyle Skiing,
GolfIce Hockey,
KayakingMountain Biking,
Nordic SkiingRock Climbing,
SnowboardingSoccer,
SwimmingTennis,
Ultimate FrisbeeVolleyball,
Weightlifting

School Notes:

Squaw Valley Academy is a college-preparatory school at Lake Tahoe for grades 9-12. As the oldest private school at Lake Tahoe, founded in 1978, the individual needs of each student remain an integral part of Squaw Valley Academy campus life. Our staff and faculty believe self-esteem is enhanced through real accomplishment in the academic, athletic, and social aspects of life at a boarding school. With an average of eight-to-twelve students per class, SVA is ideal for students who need the individual attention provided by small class size, study halls, and experienced, patient teachers. SVA accomodates most student needs and allows for an active lifestyle to compliment academic prowess.

Profile last updated: 08/24/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Sugar Bowl Academy (20.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Tahoe Montessori House (12.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Tahoe Montessori House (12.2 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • South Lake Tahoe
    Tahoe Montessori House
    Montessori School
    Grades: NS-K | 25 students
    12.2 miles
    848 Glorene Avenue
    South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
    (530)544-1818
    12.2NS-K
    25
  • Incline Village
    Grades: PK-8 | 133 students
    16.3 miles
    995 Tahoe Blvd
    Incline Village, NV 89451
    (775)831-5828
    16.3PK-8
    133
  • Carson City
    Grades: NS-8 | 185 students
    20.3 miles
    567 S Richmond Ave
    Carson City, NV 89703
    (775)882-2079
    20.3NS-8
    185
  • Norden
    Sugar Bowl Academy
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: 8-12 | 43 students
    20.4 miles
    Po Box 68
    Norden, CA 95724
    (530)426-1844
    20.48-12
    43
  • Minden
    Grades: K-8 | 62 students
    20.4 miles
    2320 Heybourne Rd
    Minden, NV 89423
    (775)782-7811
    20.4K-8
    62

School Reviews

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Placer County, CA is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos
Squaw Valley Academy 6:51

Squaw Valley Academy
1 year ago

Squaw Valley Academy 4:11

Squaw Valley Academy
2 years ago

View more school videos