The Cornerstone Christian School

Tel: (860)643-0792
Grades: PK-12 | 206 students
2012-2013 Theme
Finally, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think about these things! Philippians 4:8
2012-2013 Theme
Finally, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable, if anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think about these things! Philippians 4:8
Established in 1981, The Cornerstone Christian School is a PreK-12th grade school serving the greater Hartford area for over 30 years and is located in Manchester, CT. At Cornerstone we seek to educate the whole child, recognizing each student as a unique child who is growing not only academically, but also spiritually, physically, and socially.
 It is our desire that our graduates will possess a solid spiritual foundation, be academically prepared, and will leave our doors to engage the world as Christ's ambassadors.
We seek to accomplish this goal through a quality program that includes high academic standards built upon the unshakable foundation of a biblical worldview,  and opportunities for students to participate in leadership training and service opportunities.
Here at Cornerstone our purpose is simple--we are ....Teaching Truth...Training Minds...Transforming Lives!

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
Religious Affiliation Church of the Nazarene
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
Year Founded 1981

Student Body

Total Students 206 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade The Cornerstone Christian School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 20 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Uniform Required )

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes We offer financial aid. Please contact us for more information.
Admissions Director Joy Press


Total Sports Offered 2 sports
Sports Basketball, SoccerBasketballSoccer,

School Notes:

  • Look for additional information at our website, or get a more personal look at the school on facebook,

Profile last updated: 01/05/2015

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Clinical Day School - Manchester Memorial Hospital (0.3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Clinical Day School - Manchester Memorial Hospital (0.3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is St. James School (1.1 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Manchester
    Grades: 7-12 | 21 students
    0.3 miles
    71 Haynes St
    Manchester, CT 06040
  • Manchester
    St. Bridget School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: K-9 | 202 students
    0.4 miles
    74 Main St
    Manchester, CT 06042
  • Manchester
    Community Child Guidance Clinic
    Special Education School
    Grades: K-7 | 33 students
    0.7 miles
    317 N Main St
    Manchester, CT 06042
  • Manchester
     St. James School
    (Roman Catholic)
    Grades: PK-8 | 390 students
    1.1 miles
    73 Park Street
    Manchester, CT 06040
  • Manchester
    Summit School/new Hope Manor
    Special Education School
    Grades: 6-12 | 21 students
    1.5 miles
    60 Hillard St
    Manchester, CT 06042

School Reviews

This is the 2nd year that our children have attended Cornerstone and we couldn''t be happier! (They are in pre k4 and 2nd grade) The teachers & faculty are fantastic, they truly care about your children and their development. The communication is great and the teachers build relationships with you. (Unlike our public school where we only received feedback at the few parent teacher conferences) The school provides them with a quality education with an emphasis on the word of God. There is a strong sense of community and most importantly, our children love it!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My four youngest children will be graduates of Cornerstone as of June 2015. I am blessed to have found a school that has steadily been committed to teaching my children from a biblical worldview. The teachers and administrators genuinely care for each and every student, and they have encouraged each of the students to be all that God designed him/her to be. The faculty and staff are always willing to go the extra mile. It is an incredible privilege to be a part of God''s work at Cornerstone!
- Posted by Administrator, 07/24/15
We have been sending our children to this school for the past seven years and plan on continuing there through the graduation of my youngest child. In addition to the wonderful Christian education this school provides, the teachers and staff also provide a safe and loving community for my children to belong to. I highly recommend this school!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Our family is SO thankful for CCS! Both of our children have attended the school since they were very young (they are in the secondary program now) and I believe that both their academic minds and spiritual lives have been richly developed through the school. Teachers are loving and committed to bringing out the very best in each student, administration is fair and attentive to the needs of students and the other students are a delight to know! The servant-leadership program, cross-grade service projects and annual school-wide themes are unique to Cornerstone and in my opinion make it stand out from the rest - CCS is truly the best!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
I love this school and feel so blessed to be able to send my three children here. Not only are they receiving a solid academic education but, more importantly, they''re learning to find their way in their own individual faith walk. They''re witnessing the school''s leadership truly living out their faith. It is clear the staff at this school love The Lord by the way they demonstrate love and grace to the students. It''s a beautiful thing to know that your child''s teacher is praying for and with your child during challenging times. My experience has been that this school accomplishes its mission of "training minds, teaching truth and transforming lives". I''m comforted to watch my children, including a teenager, grow up feeling good about who they are and how our Lord created them, in part because the community is so loving and accepting. I recommend this school to anyone who loves The Lord and wants a school to partner with in the facilitating of their child''s relationship with his or her Creator.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
September 20, 2015
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Hartford County, CT is $7,094 for elementary schools and $25,953 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Hartford County, CT is 66% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).