Admiral Farragut Academy

     Tel: (727)384-5502
        
   
Grades: PK - 12 | 412 students
Admiral Farragut Academy, established in 1933, is a private, college prep school serving PreK-12th grade students and is located in St. Petersburg, Florida.
Farragut also has a world renowned boarding program for students starting in 8th grade.
Starting in PreK, students benefit from a challenging and engaging academic curriculum, such as Foreign Languages, STEM, Marine Science, and hands-on field trips.
Signature Programs at Farragut include Aviation, Engineering, Sailing, and NJROTC.
  • Marine Science students learn from local anglers - 04/22/2015 - Thanks to the NOAA Oral Histories Grant that our school received, 8th grade Marine Science classes interviewed local fishermen and collected a history of recreational fishing in Tampa Bay through recordings and video.
  • Two students earn local leadership scholarships - 04/22/2015 - The JSG Leadership Program is a scholarship based program which recognizes high school girls in Pinellas County who display community awareness and involvement, academic achievement, and embody the values and poise to represent the Suncoasters and the City of ...more
  • Farragut wrestlers claim titles while making history - 04/22/2015 - Enmon and McGee, despite starting their journeys for different reasons and at different periods in their life, cemented themselves in history on the same day, becoming the first Admiral Farragut Academy wrestlers to win state titles.
  • Farragut students change the world in a beary good way - 03/04/2015 - Approximately 40 students built and donated bears from Build-A-Bear to The Haven, a shelter in Clearwater for battered women and children affected by domestic violence.
  • Farragut claims district team titles in boys and girls track & field - 04/22/2015 - Girl's team claimed first title in school history and boy's team secures another title.
  • Upper School student achieves Girl Scout Gold Award - 04/22/2015 - Rachel Goldstein '16 earned her Girl Scout Gold Award which is the highest achievement that a Girl Scout may earn.
  • Three student-athletes sign with colleges - 04/22/2015 - Please congratulate Brittany McGee '15 who signed with Stanford for track, Dontae McGee '15 who signed with Ohio University for wrestling, and Robert Enmon '15 who signed with San Francisco State for wrestling.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Military Colleges and Schools
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
The Association of Boarding Schools (TABS)
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia / Language-based or Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1933

Student Body

Total Students 412 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 20%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 53 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 46%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 9 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Advanced Courses Biology, Calculus AB, Calculus BC, Chemistry, English Language and Composition, English Literature, Environmental Science, Government / Economics, Microeconomics, Statistics, 
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(Khaki and collared shirt and military uniform in Upper School)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $17,000
Tuition Notes PreK 1/2 Day = $8,610 PreK & K = $12,100 1st - 5th = $15,050 6th & 7th = $18,550 8th - 12th = $21,325 8th - 12th 5-Day Boarding = $37,000 7-Day Boarding U.S. Citizen = $43,850 7-Day Boarding International = $46,850

School Notes:

Admiral Farragut Academy, established in 1933, is a private, college prep school serving students in grades PreK-12 for Pre-School, Elementary School, Middle School, and High School. Farragut is located in St. Petersburg, Florida in Pinellas County and is surrounded by the communities of Treasure Island, Gulfport, Pasadena, Tierra Verde, and Seminole. Farragut also serves North Pinellas County, which includes the communities of Clearwater, Belleair, and Palm Harbor.

Starting in PreK at age 3, students benefit from achallenging and engaging academic curriculum, such as foreign languages (Mandarin Chinese and Spanish), STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math), Marine Science at the campus' waterfront, hands-on field trips, and are all taught using a strong foundation of Character Education.

Once students reach 8th grade they may also enroll in signature academic programs like Aviation (including Dual Enrollment with Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University), all levels of Scuba Diving, Sailing, Engineering, and Naval Jr. ROTC.

Farragut also has a strong 5 or 7-day boarding program for students starting in the 8th grade. Because Farragut is a Florida boarding and day school, the school attracts students from an average of 32 countries and 17 U.S. states. The national and international community makes attending Farragut a global experience.

With a 100% college acceptance rate, graduates from Farragut succeed in college as organized, accountable, self-disciplined, and respectful critical thinkers who understand that dreams and hard work go hand in hand.

Summer Camps: Fun and educational day camps for PreK-9th graders on our waterfront campus. Lunch included. 8th-12th grade students may also experience boarding school over the summer while earning high school credit and going on weekday and weekend excursions! Learn more at www.farragut.org/summer.

Profile last updated: 04/22/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is St. Petersburg Catholic High School (1.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Pasadena Community Church School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Pasadena Community Church School (0.9 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Saint PetersburgPasadena Community Church School
      (Methodist)
    112 70th St South
    Saint PetersburgFL 33707
    (727)345-3167
      (Methodist)
    0.9 mi | 222 students | Gr. PK-4                      
  • Saint PetersburgArgonauta Christian School
    Alternative School  (Christian)
    6646 1st Ave S
    Saint PetersburgFL 33707
    (727)347-8783
    Alternative School  (Christian)
    1.1 mi | 27 students | Gr. K-6                      
  • Saint PetersburgSt. Petersburg Catholic High School
      (Roman Catholic)
    6333 9th Avenue N
    Saint PetersburgFL 33710
    (727)344-4065
      (Roman Catholic)
    1.4 mi | 551 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • St PetersburgSt Jude Cathedral School
      (Roman Catholic)
    600 58th St N
    St PetersburgFL 33710
    (727)347-8622
      (Roman Catholic)
    2 mi | 386 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • Saint PetersburgGulfcoast SDA School
      (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    6001 7th Ave S
    Saint PetersburgFL 33707
    (727)345-2141
      (Seventh-Day Adventist)
    2.1 mi | 17 students | Gr. K-8                      

School Reviews

4 days ago
AFA is a great school for academics and athletics along with creative arts. I have been going to Admiral Farragut Academy for eight years and I have noticed that the learning process taught by the teachers is much easier (while still teaching you what you need to know) than other schools people I know outside of AFA go to. There are multiple athletics available and available to every gender with coaches who are inspiring and helpful in many ways. For example I am the only girl on the Wrestling team and also another student here is the only girl on the Lacrosse team. There is almost an endless amount of after school clubs for art, literature, and theatrical arts that welcome all. Admiral Farragut Academy teaches you things and gives you the opportunity to do things that you wouldn''t be able to do at other schools. AFA raises you as a family member and helps you become a leader.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
4 days ago
I have been at Admiral Farragut Academy since fourth grade and I am currently in eighth grade. I have had amazing teachers, and have met many great friends over the years. When my old school closed, I didn''t think any school could replace it. Then, I shadowed at this school. I had an extraordinary experience. The teachers and students welcomes me like family. I had no trouble making friends. When I started to go to Farragut, I knew this was the perfect school for me. I also found out that you can get your SCUBA certification and get your pilots license here. When I was in the sixth grade, I earned my QBH (Qualified Boat Handlers License), and was allowed to sail at the school waterfront whenever I wanted to. That is another benefit of this school. Right across the road is the school waterfront. I enjoy fishing and sailing there. I am also in the Admiral''s Own Band, the school band. We play at the school football games and also played at the East - West Shriner Game. Cross Country, track, and soccer are the sports I participate in at Farragut. The middle school soccer team had an amazing season, suffering only one loss. So, would I recommend this school to anybody? The answer is obviously yes.
- Posted by Student/Alumni
4 days ago
I have been at Admiral Farragut for 2 years and am now in 8th grade, during my time here I have met amazing friends and teachers. My teachers help me before, during, and after school and encourage us to use the full extent of our abilities. When I first came here from my old school I believed this would be a strict school like most military schools; I was wrong, I was at first nervous but after the span of a few days I learned the school could offer much more than any of my old schools and the community around was great. I was able to excel in Academics, Leadership, and Athletics; I was able to become apart of many different clubs, groups, and athletic teams. I got to try out Soccer, Track, Lacrosse, Tennis, and Exhibition Drill. But, little would I know I would continue committing to each one year after year. The facilities here are top notch and are still being renovated going through the brand new Student Center, PLTW (Engineering) Lab, and even the Aviation Center. I am able to study at all times of the day and even use the extensive learning materials around me to help my friends and I prepare for the next day. Admiral Farragut Academy also has many different extracurricular-activities, some of which may include: Sailing, NJROTC, Aviation, the Rife Team, NJHS, and even Scuba. Speaking of sailing, my second year here I was able to get my QBH (Qualified Boat Handlers Licence) this is a licence you receive after going through several tests which includes boating safety, parts of the sailboat, and even how to sail a sailboat. After this, I was intrigued; I continued on through sailing until I reached my QM2 (Quarter Master Two). NJROTC is also another benefit of the school, to be honest at first I believed this would be a pain. But, after a while I was able to see how the program changed me as a person. Learning Leadership Skills, Military History, and the rest of the basics helped me grow into a better person. Now, going back to the Exhibition Drill Team; I have been a part of it ever since I joined the school. On the Drill Team we are basically the face of the school; we perform at events all around the state and are the first to meet honored guests from around the world. We are basically a family inside a family, we practice every day after school for the whole year and try our best to excel in Exhibition Drill until we are perfect. In the past few years we have also won the County Championships year after year. This was all thanks to our Commander Steve Edwards former Commander of the infamous Purdue Drill Team (Six time National Champion). Thanks to his commitment he was able to carve us into the best team we were able to be. Not leaving out of course Joy Edwards, she is our Drill Team mom; she organizes all our events, prepares our food, and makes sure we are where we are supposed to be. I hope to stay at Admiral Farragut Academy until my Senior Year and be able to experience the boarding side of things and continue on my path to success and become one of the best leaders this school has to offer. As of now, my brothers are even attending or coming to the school. They are 7 years old and 11 years old, entering elementary school at Farragut. When I grow up I want to become a neurosurgeon, helping people is one of my many traits. Admiral Farragut has been helping me continue on that path and is making me grow as a person every day of the week. So would I recommend Admiral Farragut Academy? My answer is absolutely, I am having the learning experience of a life time.
- Posted by Student/Alumni

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Facebook Page Essentials
Small private schools often feel that they cannot afford to market their schools. Facebook is free. Here is how to use it effectively.
Attributes Which Make Military Schools Special
What are the attributes which make 21st century military schools so special? We find out in this article.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Pinellas County, FL is $6,446 for elementary schools and $7,050 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Pinellas County, FL is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos