Jewish Academy of Orlando

851 N Maitland Avenue
Maitland, FL 32751-0327
     Tel: (407)647-0713
        
   
Grades: K - 8 | 155 students
previous
School Spirit!
next
Featured School
School Spirit!
Jewish Academy of Orlando provides academic excellence within a culture of Jewish values.
Our goal is to produce excellent students who are filled with self-confidence and are comfortable with their Jewish identities.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Florida Council of Independent Schools (FCIS)
Florida Kindergarten Council (FKC)
Religious Affiliation Jewish
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1977

Student Body

Total Students 155 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 1%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade Jewish Academy of Orlando Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 33 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
((choice of 7 solid color) collared shirt w/ navy or Khaki bottome)
Admission Deadline None / Rolling

Sports

Total Sports Offered 2 sports
Sports Basketball, SoccerBasketballSoccer,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 4 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. After School Classes, Choir Chimes, Chorus, Theater Department Choir Chimes, Chorus, After School Classes,
Theater Department,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Orangewood Christian School (0.9 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Park Maitland School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Maitland Montessori School (0.5 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Maitland
    PO Box 941095
    MaitlandFL 32794
    (407)647-3038
    0.5 mi | Gr. K-6 | 629 students                      
  • Maitland
    236 N Swoope Ave
    MaitlandFL 32751
    (407)628-0019
    Montessori School
    0.5 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 145 students                      
  • Maitland
    1300 W Maitland Blvd
    MaitlandFL 32751
    (407)339-0223
    (Presbyterian)
    0.9 mi | Gr. PK-12 | 716 students                      
  • Altamonte Springs
    869 Maitland Ave
    Altamonte SpringsFL 32701
    (407)830-6245
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.9 mi | Gr. PK-8 | 466 students                      
  • Maitland
    Maitland Academy
    Special Education School
    140 Tonina Cove Ste 100& 150
    MaitlandFL 32751
    (407)599-5777
    Special Education School
    1.1 mi | Gr. K-12 | 40 students                      

School Reviews

4 days ago
This is an excellent school! It has the latest technology, strong academics, enrichment, and talented teachers. We love it!
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
We have enrolled our two children here, because of the strong recommendations of peers and have found out through our own experience that they were correct. The children are thriving in this environment. They are very successful in tailoring the overall learning experience to your child so that if they excel faster they are not bored or if they aren''t learning as fast they are not left behind... Overall I would recommend this school to any parent who wishes to give their child a top rated education. All you need to do is schedule a visit and you will see why, we love his school!
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
the JAO is an amzing school. My child feels so connected to the school and teachers. It is more than just a school for them - it''s a second family. The education is great, Ieven learn from my 4th grader. TFhe teachers are enthusiastic, and the classes are small, so they really get a lot of individual attention. My child has amzing friends and so do I. We are very lucky to be a part of the school and community.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
Quality teachers. Jewish values. The iPads and technology at the school is the best. My kids LOVE this school. Enjoy Shabbat as a family ! Great sense of community/ very family oriented. Lots of parent involvement. Would HIGHLY recommend!!
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
We moved to Central Florida from NYC not knowing what to expect. We have found a wonderful inclusive community at this school. The academics exceed any school private or public, in the area. They''ve who awards for their technology, but for us it''s the people. I recommend this school to those who are observant or non-observant.
- Posted by Parent
4 days ago
my oldest goes here and we love it. Focus on Hebrew/judaica as well the latest in technology and learning techniques. I''ll be signing my youngest up for kindergarten next year.
- Posted by Parent
3 months ago
My son is currently in kindergarten at JAO and he has really thrived this year. He looks forward to going to school and I am amazed at how much his confidence has grown this past year. From rewarding reading, learning the true meaning of Jewish traditions, taking the children on many memorable field trips (including visiting the elderly and theatre), to the childrens'' live performances right from the start, this school teaches much more than a superb education. My son''s overall life skills have really developed, much more than I would''ve ever imagined in kindergarten. I couldn''t be happier and I am looking forward to my daughter beginning her JAO experience next year!
- Posted by Parent
7 months ago
My boys have attended JAO for the past 7 years and I can''t say enough how great it has been!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Jewish Academy of Orlando (JAO) has been an amazing experience for our three children ranging from grade K to 5th. We relocated from the west coast this school year and enrolled our children at the Academy. We have been welcomed so warmly by the staff and the community. The teachers are hugely talented and have helped my children to feel successful and reach their potential. They are challenged by a creative curriculum, inspiring music and art programs and physical education that they truly enjoy. Every day that I pick my children up from school they are smiling and feeling confident because of the fabulous support they are receiving at school. I would highly recommend JAO.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
The Jewish Academy of Orlando not only offers an excellent education that caters to all types of learners but an amazing Hebrew and Judaica program as well. I feel as though I am part of a second family. All of the teachers and staff work together to offer the best education a child can receive!
- Posted by Teacher
1 year ago
Wonderful school with great academics and a caring environment. All three of my children have attended with exceptional results!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Jewish Academy of Orlando is an amazing place to work. We are family. We love our children.
- Posted by Teacher
1 year ago
Excellent academics with a real family oriented environment. We have had a great experience over the past 5 years
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Love, love, love this private school! We''re new to the community and I can''t brag enough about the JAO. The staff is amazing. My son absolutely loves his teacher. And, he''s having so much fun learning. Watching him grow is just amazing. He''s reading, he''s speaking Hebrew, and he''s constantly singing. There are so many get togethers and fun activities. We''re delighted to have been accepted. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Mom of 2 Boys
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Our child has been a student at JAO for a few years. Teachers work diligently each year to ensure academic growth. The school''s advanced technology in the classroom gives our child necessary skills for the future as well as a variety of ways to learn. The staff is amazing and always willing to hear suggestions.
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
If you are looking for state-of-the-art academic programs, individualized learning along with Hebrew immersion classes and Judaica teachings, this is the place for you! The school has a strong sense of community which starts at the top. My son has attended for 3 years now. The staff encourage his growth and learning in all areas of his life - not just academics (although the academics are very strong). Jewish values are stressed. Music and art classes are wonderful! Very happy with the school!
- Posted by Parent
1 year ago
Jewish Academy of Orlando (formerly HDS) is a wonderful school focused on academic excellence and jewish values. There is no other school like it in the area - and no other community like the parents at JAO!
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Why Would I Want to....
Why Would I Want to....
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
What About a Foreign Language School?
Sending your child to a foreign language school makes good sense when you have been posted to this country from abroad and in other circumstances as well.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Orange County, FL is $5,852 for elementary schools and $8,894 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Orange County, FL is 86% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).
Related School Videos

View more school videos