The Waldorf School of Atlanta

827 Kirk Road,
Decatur, GA, 30030-0300
     Tel: (404)377-1315
Grades: PK - 8 | 216 students
The Waldorf School of Atlanta provides a strong academic, arts-integrated, developmentally attuned curriculum based on the philosophy of educational pioneer Dr.
Rudolf Steiner.
Established in 1986, the school offers preschool through middle school classes, and is one of more than 800 Waldorf schools worldwide.
Learning at The Waldorf School is a vital and dynamic process, permeated with the power of imagination and working with the intellectual, spiritual, emotional and physical development of the individual within the social context.
Innovative teaching methods and a rich classical curriculum provide the foundation for a lifelong love of learning.

School Overview

School Type Waldorf School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Association of Waldorf Schools of North America
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Georgia Accrediting Commission
Waldorf Early Childhood Association of North America
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1986

Student Body

Total Students 216 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color 35%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade The Waldorf School of Atlanta Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 10:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 20 students
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 15 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $12,515
Tuition Notes Costs range from $6,144 to $13,755 depending on the program/grade.
% on Financial Aid 34%
Average Financial Aid Grant $4,000
Admissions Director Stacey Alston

Sports

Total Sports Offered 5 sports
Sports Basketball, Soccer, Tennis, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballSoccer,
TennisTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 7 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Archery, Babysitting, Cooking, Fencing, First Aid/CPR, German Club, Lego Engineering Archery, Babysitting, Cooking, Fencing, First Aid/CPR, German Club, Lego Engineering,

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Academe Of The Oaks (0.7 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Friends School Of Atlanta (0.2 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Friends School Of Atlanta (0.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools  | Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • DecaturFriends School Of Atlanta
      (Friends)
    862 Columbia Dr
    DecaturGA30030
    (404)373-8746
      (Friends)
    0.2 mi | 70 students | Gr. PK-8                      
  • DecaturAcademe Of The Oaks
    Waldorf School
    146 New St
    DecaturGA30030
    (404)405-2173
    Waldorf School
    0.7 mi | 80 students | Gr. 9-12                      
  • DecaturDecatur First Umc Weekday Childrens Ministries
    Daycare / Preschool  (Methodist)
    300 E Ponce De Leon Avenue
    DecaturGA30030
    (404)377-5784
    Daycare / Preschool  (Methodist)
    1.1 mi | 18 students | Gr. NS-K                      
  • DecaturDecatur Presbyterian Children''s Community
    Daycare / Preschool  (Presbyterian)
    205 Sycamore St
    DecaturGA30030
    (404)378-1770
    Daycare / Preschool  (Presbyterian)
    1.1 mi | 14 students | Gr. PK-KG                      
  • DecaturThe Community School
    Special Education School
    308 Clairemont Avenue
    DecaturGA30030
    (404)308-8548
    Special Education School
    1.4 mi | 16 students | Gr. 7-12                      

School Reviews

Recommended
4 months ago
This is the way all schools should be! We love that our daughters get plenty of art, music, handwork and exercise/play time outside along with academics. The teachers are truly committed to the WHOLE child and go above and beyond what is required. Our daughters are thriving here and I cannot imagine a better place in Atlanta to send my girls to.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
The Waldorf School of Atlanta is a caring wonderful place that both our daughters are thriving in. It touches all parts of the person and creates a community of acceptance and love. My daughters are eager to go to school every day.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Dedicated teachers, strong community. Waldorf curriculum provides excellent experiential and interactive education. Our children''s social development in the Waldorf community has created strong, happy, responsible individuals.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
WHat a great school! My daughter is in K, the other is Grade 3. I cannot say enough about the place. Not just for my kids, but Waldorf has had a profound effect on my familiy as well. This school is def. not your run of the mill typical private school, but the school takes on a different approach where it''s all about: Chilld First. Ms.Keeney and Ms. Dilworth are true gems, the same is true of most of the staff from the specialty teachers to others as well. Words cannot di this place justice.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
The school is for your whole child. They teach your child to be self sufficient, creative and innovative in their academics. Our child comes home satisfied and tired ever day from their rigorous curriculum. Teachers are dedicated to honoring your child''s childhood while shaping them to be independent, analytical thinkers.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
Waldorf is a school which fosters a lifelong love of learning through a curriculum that uses all subjects to provide a full spectrum of facets for the active mind. Emphasis is strong in Art, Music(chorus, stringed orchestra, flutes, drums, and other instruments), and Science used throughout the day to explore different topics based on developmentally targeted units. This school focuses on exploring how the individual can be the best they can be and also be a productive and creative member of a team or community. We have found this school to be wonderfully refreshing in that we are very creative, analytical, and active in the outdoors. Now my children are encouraged to think and create rather than stifled.
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
The quality of the teaching at this school is top notch. We feel so lucky to have found this school because our kids are thriving in this environment and with this style of teaching. They are learning so much and most importantly they love school. We love WSA!
- Posted by Parent
Recommended
1 year ago
A fantastic school that I cannot recommend enough. The teachers and staff of this wonderful school take my breath away with their tireless work and dedication to the children''s excellent development and education.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
Homeschool or Private School?
Homeschool or Private School?
What do you do when you are dissatisfied with your local public schools? Homeschool your children? Send them to private school? Let's look at your options.
Religious Schools: An Overview
Your religion matters to you. You want your child to attend a school which will combine academics and religious education. Here is an overview of what is available together with some links to denominational web sites.
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Request Information
I am a: Parent   Student  
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Male   Female  
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Related School Videos

View more school videos