St. Mark Lutheran School

45-725 Kamehameha Highway,
Kaneohe, HI, 96744-0967
Tel: (808)247-5589
Grades: K - 8 | 204 students
Saint Mark Lutheran School was established in 1956 and has grown to include Kindergarten through Eighth Grade with an enrollment of about 200 students.
Saint Mark Lutheran School is operated as an integral part of the educational ministry program of Saint Mark Lutheran Church.
The curriculum is set up to facilitate students who are working at or near grade level.
The school does not offer special educational programs for students with severe learning disabilities and/or disciplinary problems.
Our teachers are certified to teach in private schools, and many are graduates of our own Lutheran teacher training colleges of the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod.
Saint Mark Lutheran School extends the love and care of Jesus Christ to all people, while nurturing families and preparing students to integrate faith with life, through quality Christ-centered education.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Hawaii Association of Independent Schools (HAIS)
Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten - 8
Year Founded 1956

Student Body

Total Students 204 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade St. Mark Lutheran School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 17:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 40%

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Tuition Notes Grades K-5 Tuition = $7,090; Grades 6-8 Tuition = $7,530
% on Financial Aid 25%

Sports

Total Sports Offered 3 sports
Sports Basketball, Track and Field, VolleyballBasketballTrack and Field,
Volleyball

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Le Jardin Academy (3 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Windward Nazarene Academy (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Windward Nazarene Academy (0.6 miles away)
 All Schools  |High Schools High Schools  |Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  |Preschools Preschools  |Public Schools Public Schools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • Kaneohe Windward Nazarene Academy
    (Church of the Nazarene)
    45-232 Puaae Rd Pob 1633
    Kaneohe , HI , 96744
    (808)235-8787
    (Church of the Nazarene)
    0.6  mi  |  230  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Kaneohe
    St Ann''s Model Schools
    (Roman Catholic)
    46-125 Haiku Rd
    Kaneohe , HI , 96744
    (808)247-3092
    (Roman Catholic)
    0.8  mi  |  289  students  |  Gr.  PK-8
  • Kailua Le Jardin Academy
    917 Kalanianaole Highway
    Kailua , HI , 96734
    (808)261-0707
    3  mi  |  640  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Kailua
    Trinity Christian School
    (Presbyterian)
    875 Auloa Road
    Kailua , HI , 96734
    (808)262-8501
    (Presbyterian)
    3.4  mi  |  343  students  |  Gr.  PK-12
  • Kailua
    Kailua Christian Academy
    (Christian)
    1276 Kailua Rd
    Kailua , HI , 96734
    (808)263-9999
    (Christian)
    3.6  mi  |  28  students  |  Gr.  5-12

School Reviews

  • Recommended June 01, 2012 - I am a parent of a third grader at St Mark. What I see at St Mark is a community of children and adults who treat one another with respect and really care about one another. There is a partnership between faculty and parents with open communication. Their standards are high with faculty that are able to recognize each childs strengths and weaknesses. I owuld reccomend this school to any family who is looking for a safe enviroment for their child to grow intellectually, socially and spiritually. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended June 01, 2012 - Moving from the mainland we had a lot of decisions to make and things to learn about island life. Our daughter attending St Mark was the best decision so far. The faculty and staff has not only embraced our daughter but our entire family and made us feel welcome. We have learned so much and enjoy every moment of it. The content and quality of the curriculum is outstanding! Our daughter is learning, understanding and applying what she has learned. She is excited to attend school every day. They say it takes a village to raise a child and this school exemplifies that saying. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - All three of my children attend here and they all love it! The teachers are the best because they love the children and they stay up to date with current research on best teaching practices. My children are pushed hard academically and are succeeding with work above their grade level. My oldest is in band and he does very well with his very talented and devoted band teacher. The classes blend instructional time with field trips that put the learning into practice. It has a competitive athletic program that teaches sportsmanship and teamwork. One of my favorite parts is attending chapels with the kids. They sing loud and praise God and really get invigorated for the day. The principal, pastor, and DCE all stand out front each morning and greet all the children by name and welcome them to school. This school is a blessing to our community and I am proud to be part of it. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - We enrolled our daughter at Saint Mark because of glowing reviews of the staff. Our expectations were heightened, and literally have been vastly exceeded. Our daughter has thrived in the environment provided both in and out of the classroom. The help and guidance to bring about our child''s best efforts has allowed her to succeed and be more than ready for her next steps in life. Perhaps larger than what they have offered our daughter, our family has become a part of and thrives at Saint Mark. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - We transferred our daughter here after a semester at a public school and my husband and I could NOT be happier. All the staff is wonderful, the older students are amazing, and the environment is great. Our daughter has advanced more in the few months that she has been at St. Mark than she did at her old school. We regularly say that St. Mark is completely worth the price - we''d pay much more for the education she''s getting. - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - Our family really loves this school. Our son is in his third year here. SMLS combines excellent academics with a really personal, caring environment. The students get individual attention, rise to challenges and are polite, motivated learners. The teachers are innovative, supportive and really know each child. This is a gem of a school and a private school bargain! - Posted by Parent
  • Recommended May 21, 2012 - Jr. High Teachers collaborate to make an enriching learning opportunity for the students! - Posted by Teacher
  • Recommended April 09, 2012 - I enrolled my grandson into this school and the only regret I have is that I did not do so sooner. The teachers, faculty, and principal intimately know each child & make certain that they grow into young adults who not only love God, but walk as Christians. I would highly recommend this school!! - Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?         Add School Reviews - Recommended Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Recent Articles
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
7 Ways to Improve Your Math Scores
Add things up and you'll quickly find the answer- math is crucial both in academics and the real world. By following these strategies and following personal training programs, students can uncover their weaknesses and conquer math.
Why Did You Select That School?
"Because I heard it is a good school." That may well be, but there are some other factors in the private school selection process we need to consider.
Elements of a Successful YouTube Channel
Running a small to medium sized private school? Can't afford marketing staff and expensive marketing programs? Read on.
Request Information
I am a:
Parent   Student  
Email:
Parent or guardian name:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Country of citizenship:
Student is:
Male   Female  
In grade:    For entry grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Public   Private   Parochial  
Applying for financial aid?:
Yes   No   Don't Know  

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Honolulu County, HI is $7,943 for elementary schools and $13,219 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Honolulu County, HI is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).