St John The Baptist Catholic School

Tel: (303)776-8760
Grades: PK-8 | 369 students
  • Saint John the Baptist Catholic School has been investing in future generations of Longmont and surrounding cities since 1926.
  • Our students are provided with a rigorous, time-tested curriculum.
  • Our dedicated staff is committed to providing a faith-based and nurturing environment.
  • In partnership with parents and families, Saint John the Baptist Catholic School provides a Catholic learning environment that enhances spiritual growth, stresses academic excellence, fosters mutual respect and develop personal responsibility.
  • Saint John the Baptist Catholic School is called by faith to proclaim the Risen Christ through the lives and experiences of its parents, students, and staff.
  • It is committed to providing faith, academic, and social experiences to prepare its students to be life-long learners and leaders in the church and community as witnesses to the gospel of Jesus Christ.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Catholic Educational Association (NCEA)
Religious Affiliation Roman Catholic
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8

Student Body

Total Students 369 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
18%
State avg.: 25%
Students by Grade St John The Baptist Catholic School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 15:1
National avg.: 13:1

Nearby Private Schools

All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Longmont
    Mountain States Children's Home
    Special Program Emphasis (Church of Christ)
    Grades: 9-12 | 4 students
    0.2 miles
    Po Box 1097
    Longmont, CO 80502
    (303)776-6841
    0.29-12
    4
  • Longmont
    Solid Rock Christian School
    Alternative School
    Grades: 8-12 | 12 students
    0.2 miles
    601 3rd Ave Suite 200
    Longmont, CO 80501
    (303)772-6820
    0.28-12
    12
  • Longmont
    Desiderata School
    Alternative School
    Grades: 4-12 | 45 students
    0.3 miles
    333 1st Ave. #2
    Longmont, CO 80501
    (303)678-9335
    0.34-12
    45
  • Longmont
    Grades: PK-12 | 308 students
    0.3 miles
    550 Coffman St
    Longmont, CO 80501
    (303)776-3254
    0.3PK-12
    308
  • Longmont
    Grades: PK-12 | 17 students
    0.9 miles
    1146 Kimbark St
    Longmont, CO 80504
    (303)651-1325
    0.9PK-12
    17

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (4 reviews)
5  5/17/2016
SJB provides an excellent culture academically and spiritually. We are incredibly impressed with the entire teaching staff. Each teacher is dedicated to assuring the success of each child. Class sizes are small and intimate. The curriculum is tough and advanced. 90% of kids graduating SJB end up in IB/AP high school programs. The school has awesome sports, art, Spanish and music programs as well. We couldn't imagine our children outside of this amazing environment.
- Posted by
5  5/17/2016
St. John's is a great school. I have sent four kids through St. John's, and the opportunities they had in academics, art, sports and Spanish far surpass what I had as a kid, even though I went through a very good public school system. The school is also excellent at developing faith-filled Catholic young people who understand how to treat others and how to follow Jesus Christ.
- Posted by
5  5/13/2016
We couldn't be happier with our experience at St. John the Baptist Catholic school in Longmont. The SJB family is welcoming, faith-filled, and positive. We have three children enrolled at SJB. While we live in unincorporated Boulder County (closer to Niwot), the kids have friends from many of the near-by cities (Frederick, Firestone, Berthoud, Erie, Lafayette). Our youngest attended the pre-school last year two are currently at the elementary school and our oldest attends the middle-school. This K 8 institution provides an excellent education with rigorous academics, but it's the catholic education, small class size, and faith-based approach that we appreciate most. The curriculum is focused (AP/IB prep), provides a solid approach to all subjects (religion, Spanish language, science, math, English, music, literature, physical education) and has strong sports programs (including widget sports programs).
- Posted by
5  4/10/2015
My children have attended St. John the Baptist Catholic School for the past two years. SJB boasts small class sizes and rigorous academics. Pre-school incorporates religious education in all aspects of learning while grades K-8 have a specific class for religion. In addition, they offer specials classes such as art, physical education, music, and Spanish, some starting in pre-K. The teachers and staff genuinely care about each and every student, which makes for a strong sense of community. The school has made such a name for itself that students are drawn from area communities, such as Firestone, Frederick, Berthoud, and Erie. SJB is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a school that develops the whole child.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
February 11, 2017
Let's think about the employment process from the point of view of your making me want to hire you. Here are some points to ponder.
February 10, 2017
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
February 10, 2017
The only way private schools can build their financial security is through gifts. Major gifts offer proof of how deeply many donors feel about their private schools. Their munificence is a wonderful example to others.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Boulder County, CO is $10,622 for elementary schools and $18,463 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Boulder County, CO is 91% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).