Woodward Academy

  • Woodward Academy is the largest independent day school in the continental United States and offers a full-range of college preparatory instructional tracks to students in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 on two campuses.
  • Woodward includes families from 23 metro Atlanta counties, creating a community rich in diversity of faiths and ethnicities.
  • At Woodward Academy students receive wise, individual guidance every step of the way, gain a deep respect for difference, and enjoy prolific opportunities to try and triumph.
  • This allows students to discover their own greatest strengths and to reach their fullest potential.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-12
ADD/ADHD Support Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1900

Student Body

Total Students 2715 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
49%
State avg.: 24%
Students by Grade Woodward Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 378 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
79%
Average Class Size 15 students
Number of AP Courses 25 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Khaki pants and polo (uniform))

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 28
Yearly Tuition Cost $16,000
Tuition Notes Tuition rates range from $16,000 (Pre-Kindergarten) to $25,800 (Middle and Upper Schools). Rates vary for Transition and International students. For more information, please visit http://www.woodward.edu/admissions/tuition-fees.
% on Financial Aid
12%
Admissions Director Rebecca Eckstein
Admissions Associate Holly Ferguson

Sports

Total Sports Offered 23 sports
Sports Archery, Ballet, Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Dance, Diving, Drill Team, Equestrian, Fencing, Football, Golf, Lacrosse, Riflery, Soccer, Softball, Swimming, Tennis, Track and Field, Ultimate Frisbee, Volleyball, WrestlingArcheryBallet,
BaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
DanceDiving,
Drill TeamEquestrian,
FencingFootball,
GolfLacrosse,
RiflerySoccer,
SoftballSwimming,
TennisTrack and Field,
Ultimate FrisbeeVolleyball,
Wrestling

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 11 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Academic Clubs, Athletic Clubs, Club Scouts and Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, Leadership Clubs, Performing and Visual Arts Groups, Religious Clubs, Service Groups, Special Interest Groups, Student Government, Student Publications Academic Clubs, Athletic Clubs, Girl Scouts, Service Groups, Club Scouts and Boy Scouts,
Leadership Clubs,
Performing and Visual Arts Groups,
Religious Clubs,
Special Interest Groups,
Student Government,
Student Publications,

School Notes

  • Mission:
  • Woodward Academy combines the proud traditions of Atlanta`s oldest college-preparatory school with an innovative, challenging, and well-rounded educational experience. In a broadly diverse and caring community, Woodward embraces the uniqueness of each individual. Guided by our core values of Excellence, Character, and Opportunity, we champion student success.Motto:
  • Excellence Character Opportunity
  • Vision Statement: 
  • Woodward Academy will be a national model in college-preparatory education, developing critical thinkers and ethical problem solvers, in an inclusive community, rich in opportunities for student success.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Atlanta
    Grades: K-12 | 1107 students
    13 miles
    966 W. Paces Ferry Road NW
    Atlanta, GA 30327
    (404)262-1345
    13K-12
    1107
  • Atlanta
    Grades: K-12 | 1673 students
    13.5 miles
    4075 Paces Ferry Rd NW
    Atlanta, GA 30327
    (404)262-3032
    13.5K-12
    1673
  • Atlanta
    Grades: K-12 | 1845 students
    12.8 miles
    1424 W Paces Ferry Road NW
    Atlanta, GA 30327
    (404)609-6202
    12.8K-12
    1845
  • Fairburn
    Grades: PK-12 | 804 students
    10.5 miles
    50 SE Broad Street
    Fairburn, GA 30213
    (770)306-0647
    10.5PK-12
    804
  • Atlanta
    Grades: PK-12 | 740 students
    14.9 miles
    215 West Wieuca Road NW
    Atlanta, GA 30342
    (404)252-8389
    14.9PK-12
    740

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (14 reviews)
5  10/26/2016
All three of my sons have been, or is going, or will go to Woodward. My 19 years old has moved on to college, my 16 year old is a junior and my 11 year old will attend next year. I highly recommend Woodward for many reasons. First, there is a place for everyone, no matter a child's level of academics, level of sports or his/her extracurricular interests. Since Woodward is the largest independent day school in the country, there are dozens of sports, arts, clubs and activities. There is truly something for everyone. BUT the best part is, despite the large numbers, Woodward manages to work quite well with individuals. Your child will not be a number in the system! We had problems with one son and the middle school principal worked with us and him to make sure his needs were met. Everyone who works at the school, from the facilities department to the teachers to the administrators, is happy to work there and you can tell. I highly everyone who is looking at independent schools go on a tour of Woodward. You will be impressed with the campus and their programs.
- Posted by
5  10/1/2016
My husband and I have had our three children at Woodward for over 10 years. We cannot imagine a better place for our family.
- Posted by
5  10/1/2016
Our son has been at Woodward for 5 years. We have been involved parents every step of the way. The support, faculty, and academics have exceeded every expectation. I wish everyone had the opportunity to attend Woodward.
- Posted by
5  10/1/2016
Both my children have attended Woodward for their entire life. They have been so happy at school and are really turning into mature, intelligent, happy teens. They are able to explore so many passions at Woodward from academics to sports to service learning to robotics. It is an exciting place with a beautiful campus with so many opportunities. Woodward also addresses logistics with multiple bus routes and times, MARTA and carpool options. They are truly becoming wonderful community citizens and problem solvers. Thank you Woodward Academy!
- Posted by
5  4/15/2016
Our daughter, sought out Woodward herself and initially we as parents in the Catholic school system went into the interview with some trepidation, however at that initial visit we were blown away. We began our internal research and decided that we would love for her to begin her career at "The Academy". Her progress academically as well as athletically has been more than we expected and we couldn't be more proud of her or our decision to attend. The choices she's making so early in life to where she sees her future prospering is just simply amazing. She has been extremely involved since the 1st day of school, has set many goals for herself and has been determined to accomplish them. She has join several different clubs and has been a part of 3 athletic teams so far this year. She's a hard working student and needless to say we are proud to be part of the Woodward family.
- Posted by
5  2/24/2016
Once we walked into the Primacy School, we could not imagine sending our twins to any other school. Our experience with Woodward Academy has enriched our whole family. The diversity of friends is amazing. The teachers are nurturing and realize that not every student learns the same way. Now in 5th grade, we are at the Lower School and still smiling. As our kids are growing they are given more responsibility and freedom. In addition to academics, they are invited to try many different sports and after school activities. Woodward Academy offers the world to my kids.
- Posted by
5  8/1/2015
My father graduated from Georgia Military Academy (GMA, now Woodward Academy), I graduated from Woodward Academy, and now my son is enrolled at the primary school. He is a 3rd generation to go there. I highly recommend Woodward to anyone that is interested in a GREAT EDUCATION!!!!!! I'm so proud to say that my family has been apart of Woodward for years and we will continue to be apart of it for years to come.
- Posted by
5  3/19/2015
My daughter is enrolled at the Primary School. We had our hearts set on Woodward even before she was born! For the last 3 years Woodward has exceeded our expectations!
- Posted by
5  3/5/2015
Woodward Academy has been an amazing school for my daughters. Both of my girls started Woodward at Pre-K. When it comes to academics the faculty is top notch, the classes are small, the support for students who need help is available and the academic guidance is provided. The extracurricular programs are great - a wide range from football and riflery to Outdoors Club and Debate Team. We love being part of the diverse Woodward family!
- Posted by
5  3/5/2015
Choosing Woodward Academy was one of the best decisions my husband and I have ever made for our children (current 8th and 10th graders). We have been at Woodward since they were in 1st and 3rd grades. There is no better school in Atlanta. The level of education excellence and commitment to real learning constantly amazes us. The students are being taught to be lifelong learners who deeply analyze issues and take pride in their education and knowledge. Woodward is also a family. The teachers, staff and administration really know the students and care about them. They go the extra mile to help the students achieve their individual goals. We live far from Woodward - almost 45 miles. It is not easy for us to make this work but it is well worth it! We are grateful for Woodward every day.
- Posted by
5  3/5/2015
My child has attended Woodward since kindergarten (seven years now). She has always loved the school, and so have I as her parent. The teachers and staff are very attuned to each student and know them very well. In the early grades, the teachers and staff are very nurturing. In the upper grades they are supportive and set clear expectations. The arts programs are really top notch, even in the elementary grades. The facilities are amazing. The academics are very solid. Woodward is an inclusive environment where diversity of many types exists within a very comfortable school community. I highly recommend this school.
- Posted by
5  3/5/2015
My two children, (7th & 9 th grade) each with very different interests and learning styles, have been very happy at WA. The unparalleled arts program and stellar athletics program have offered many opportunities for each child. The depth and breadth of the course offerings challenge both of my very different learners. We are very pleased with the diversity at Woodward as well as their international studies programs and learning opportunities.
- Posted by
5  2/24/2015
Woodward is an excellent school. My children are learning to be creative independent thinkers. In the younger grades, they learn by participating in many hands-on learning experiences. They are nurtured and cared for by extraordinary teachers. My older children are challenged and excited about school. I highly recommend Woodward.
- Posted by
5  10/28/2014
I went to this Academy K-12 and my brother as well, overall it is a very good school that offers many opportunities to its students.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Recent Articles
February 11, 2017
Let's think about the employment process from the point of view of your making me want to hire you. Here are some points to ponder.
February 10, 2017
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
February 10, 2017
The only way private schools can build their financial security is through gifts. Major gifts offer proof of how deeply many donors feel about their private schools. Their munificence is a wonderful example to others.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Atlanta, GA is $12,005 for elementary schools and $15,965 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Atlanta, GA is 78% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).