German International School

5.00 5 1 (8 reviews)
3900 SW Murray Blvd
Beaverton, OR 97005-0972
Tel: (503)626-9089
Grades: PK-5 | 160 students
It's like sending your child to Germany for the day.
At the German International School Portland we have a knack for teaching children a second language.
We make it fun.
Not only do our students learn a second language, they are immersed in German culture through music, art, books and conversation with everyone around them.
In return, they have the opportunity to become better listeners, more flexible in their thinking and more open to other languages and cultures.
A bilingual education, the gift that lasts a lifetime.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-5
Year Founded 1995

Student Body

Total Students 160 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
14%
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade German International School  Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 18 students
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Mar. 1 / rolling
Tuition Notes Tuition rates vary depending on selected program.
% on Financial Aid
16%
Acceptance Rate
98%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Elizabeth Gillespie

School Notes

  • Nine reasons to give your child the gift of a bilingual education.
  • Take advantage of your child's window of opportunity for learning a second language easily and naturally.
  • Enrich and enhance your child's mental development.
  • Increase your child's ability to have more flexibility in thinking, greater sensitivity to language, and a better ear for listening.
  • Improve your child's understanding of his or her native language.
  • Give your child the ability to communicate with people she or he would not otherwise know.
  • Open the door to other cultures.
  • Increase understanding, appreciation and empathy for people from other cultures.
  • Give your child a head start in language requirements for college.
  • Increase career and educational opportunities in fields where language fluency is a real asset.

Profile last updated: 04/28/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Tualatin
    Grades: NS-12 | 551 students
    10.1 miles
    23370 SW Boones Ferry Rd.
    Tualatin, OR 97062
    (503)612-6521
    10.1NS-12
    551
  • Beaverton
    Grades: PK-8 | 45 students
    1 miles
    4855 SW Watson Ave
    Beaverton, OR 97005
    (503)671-9112
    1PK-8
    45
  • Potomac
     German School Washington Dc
    Special Program Emphasis
    Grades: PK-12 | 522 students
    2344.8 miles
    8617 Chateau Drive
    Potomac, MD 20854
    (301)767-3807
    2344.8PK-12
    522
  • Tampa
    Grades: NS-12 | 917 students
    2500.4 miles
    1515 W. Bearss Avenue
    Tampa, FL 33613
    (813)920-2288
    2500.4NS-12
    917
  • Washington
    Grades: NS-12
    2352.9 miles
    2001 Wisconsin Avenue NW
    Washington, DC 20007
    (202)829-3700
    2352.9NS-12
    n/a

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (8 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
As a German family living in the U.S. we''re very happy to send our kids to the GSP. This way our kids won't have any disadvantage, once they change over to a school in Germany again. In contrary, with the English language added (for grade school) and all the multicultural and multinational aspects that melt together in this school, they have a great advantage now and later on. We truly love the high level of education at this school as well as the extraordinarily friendly, professional staff. We feel like being part of a big family there. In preschool and kindergarten as well as in grade school our kids experience a safe, multifaceted learning environment. Our kids love to go to the GSP.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Very unique and great community. This school has an interesting mix of students, not all families have affiliations to Germany, or German parents. I met families who join the school for their great curriculum only. There are plenty of extracurricular activities introducing children into arts, science, sports and logical thinking. On top of all it is fun for the children, they usually don't want to leave school!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
When I first entered GSP almost 10 (yes, ten!) years ago - I immediately fell for the school, and my first thought was: "I would love to have a child so he/ she can attend this wonderful school!" Now I am the happy mother of a GSP first grader who has attended the school since preschool, and we all still appreciate the unique opportunity for bilingual and bicultural education this school offers, along with a few other perks like the extensive library including thousands of German books, the music room with five pianos/ keyboards and other instruments or the huge sports room which allows for much needed exercise throughout the day even when it is pouring outside. The quality of teachers and other staff is just the icing and cherry on a beautifully layered cake, the blending of both American and German curriculum makes the school's program a most thorough and well-balanced educational experience. A lot of planning and outstanding efforts go into providing diverse opportunities for learning and practicing important concepts through different methods, so students with different learning styles and various talents are encouraged to pursue the best that they can be. We love GSP!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
We have been at the school for 3 years now. Major positives are the German curriculum. The kids learn / work with German in a multitude of subjects, including math, language arts and science, giving them a much broader sense of the language than just a foreign language classroom. Just today I heard a kid (whose parents are American and German) after science class making a really clever play on words about the Big Bang, but in German. How cool is that?!
- Posted by
5.0  2/14/2013
We are really glad we enrolled our son at GSP. The school is a great place for young minds to learn another language. At GSP, they have a good program that helps kids to blend in smoothly and be confident foreign language learners.
- Posted by
5.0  2/14/2013
GSP is a warm and welcoming place. The teachers and staff are friendly, creative and professional which creates a wonderful learning environment for our daughter. GSP offers a well rounded and challenging curriculum as well as lots of after school clubs on a variety of topics. We believed that learning a second language would be a great benefit for our child and we new it would be challenging, however our daughter is thriving with this challenge. She loves learning German and learning about the German culture and traditions.
- Posted by
5.0  2/14/2013
Mom: "What do you like best about GSP?" 5 year old daughter: "The teachers. They work very hard all year long and so does everyone else." The school is amazingly organized, well ran and great introduction to German language and culture. A truly great language school. Before and after care are also very good.
- Posted by
5.0  6/20/2012
Our daughter just finished her first year of preschool at the German American School and it has been a great year for her and for the whole family. We found a very friendly and warm environment. Teachers are professional and caring. They know very well how to make a child thriving. However, everybody in the school loves children and makes them feel cherished. The organization of the school is exemplar. My daughter is very proud of her school, of learning another language, of her new friends and she is happy of going to school, which actually is what really matters.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
December 07, 2016
In addition to complying with all the usual admissions requirements, international students must also obtain a student visa. Here are five tips to help you navigate the admissions process.
November 30, 2016
SSAT and ISEE scores are one part of the total picture which most private school admissions staff review. These standardized tests reveal what you have learned in key mastery areas.
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Beaverton, OR is 96% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).