Glenwood Academy

We specialize in an individualized, nurturing and multi sensory approach to educating students who struggle in traditional settings.
We believe that all children can be successful in their intellectual, creative, and social development. Our goal is to guide each student to discover his or her individual potential for greatness.

School Overview

School Type School with Special Program Emphasis
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Other associations(s) for exceptional children
Children and Adults with Attention Deficit or Hyperactivity Disorder (CHADD)
Orton Gillingham Academy of Practioners and Educators
Religious Affiliation Nonsectarian
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-10
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia,ADHD, Language-based learning difference; mild learning differences
Year Founded 2010

Student Body

Total Students 55 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
45%
State avg.: 34%
Students by Grade Glenwood Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 7 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 8:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
90%
Average Class Size 8 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Matriculation DataMatric. Data Link to Matriculation Data
Classroom Dress Code Formal
(school uniforms)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $20,000
Tuition Notes Glenwood Academy offers a limited number of annual needs-based scholarships for its school year program and makes every effort to ensure that the education provided is available to as many children as possible.
% on Financial Aid
40%
Average Financial Aid Grant $8,000
Acceptance Rate
40%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Cheryl Stradling

School Notes

  • As a small school, we specialize in an individualized multi-sensory approach to education.  We have the luxury of knowing each child individually and ensuring that each child feels known and understood.  While Glenwood Academy prides itself on its nurturing environment, it is also academically challenging.  We set the bar high for each student by setting challenging and attainable goals that builds self- confidence and breeds successful students.
  • The Glenwood Difference:
  • *10/1 Student to teacher ratio
  • *All of our teachers have advanced degrees in education
  • *All of our teachers are certified in Orton-Gillingham, Visualizing &    Verbalizing & Framing Your Thoughts
  • *Technology Infused
  • *Multi Sensory Approach
  • *We intergrate an on site Speech & Language Pathologist, Occupational Therapist, Math & Reading Specialist & Guidence Counselor
  • *No Homework is sent home.  Is is completed in our "Study Hall" program from 3:00-5:00PM by our teachers who reinforce what is taught in the classsroom.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Mount Airy
    Cornerstone Academy
    Special Education School (Christian)
    Grades: 7-11 | 6 students
    2.6 miles
    17455 Old Frederick Rd
    Mount Airy, MD 21771
    (301)829-4730
    2.67-11
    6
  • Frederick
    Trinity School of Frederick
    (Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (formerly AELC, ALC, or LCA))
    Grades: K-8 | 121 students
    18.5 miles
    6040 New Design Road
    Frederick, MD 21703
    (301)228-2333
    18.5K-8
    121
  • Columbia
    Grades: NS-6 | 148 students
    15.9 miles
    9151 Rumsey Road
    Columbia, MD 21045
    (410)715-9600
    15.9NS-6
    148
  • Marriottsville
    Grades: NS-12 | 373 students
    10 miles
    2600 Marriottsville Rd
    Marriottsville, MD 21104
    (410)442-5888
    10NS-12
    373
  • Buckeystown
    Grades: 9-12 | 263 students
    20.9 miles
    3989 Buckeystown Pike
    Buckeystown, MD 21717
    (301)662-4210
    20.99-12
    263

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (9 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
My son is so much happier to be attending Glenwood than when he was at public school. He is now in a small class with teachers who understand that he learns differently - they don't try to force him to fit into the standard teaching mold but customize assignments to help him be successful. Thank You Glenwood!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
My son loves the way he is taught at Glenwood Academy. The multi-sensory approach has made all the difference in my son's math and reading grades. He is at grade level in both subjects and he was a whole year behind when he started at Glenwood 14 months ago. The small classes and having teachers and specialists that are trained to work with children that have learning differences makes all the difference in the world.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I am very pleased with my son's progress at Glenwood Academy. He is on the Autism Spectrum, but is high-functioning. Public school was just not working out for him because his preferred style of learning did not mesh with the "one size fits all" philosophy embraced by the public schools. The individualized approach to teaching and the use of technology have been tremendously beneficial and he is thriving and growing. Socially, he has found an environment of caring and friendly children who support each other, like each other and are respectful of each child’s differences. We are grateful to Glenwood and appreciate the wonderful work and commitment by the teachers to make it a safe and positive teaching environment.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
My son is thriving at Glenwood Academy. We always knew he needed smaller classes and more personal attention than he would recieve in public school, so he has always been in private school. They all promised small class size and one on one attention, but it was not until Glenwood Academy did it really happen. Glenwood Academy is the only school that fufilled it's promise to find how my child needed to learn and then taught him. The only regret we have is that we did not find Glenwood Academy sooner.
- Posted by
5.0  3/18/2016
My daughter attended Glenwood Academy for 6 years. If not for this school I am certain her learning experiences would have been a less than positive experience. Thanks to a well trained and exceptional team we had an early diagnosis of her dyslexia and ADD, and a plan of action to help her move forward using muti-sensory teaching with the Orten-Gillingham approach for reading. The small class size and individualized learning gave her the room to learn, grow and build confidence in her own abilities, equipping her with the tools she needed to meet the different types of challenges she will continue to face throughout life. I am forever grateful to Glenwood Academy for providing such a wonderful environment for students with learning differences.
- Posted by
5.0  9/2/2015
This is our second year at Glenwood and we couldn't be more pleased. Our son has ADHD and dyslexia. He was falling behind in public school and in spite of an I.E.P., they had no answers. We found an answer in Glenwood. Their nurturing and individualized approach to teaching is getting results. Our child's confidence and desire to learn grows by the day. The Glenwood approach works. We couldn't be happier.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
This past year at Glenwood has been so beneficial for my daughter. As a result of the teaching ability of Ms. S. and the loving support of the staff and teachers, my daughter has the confidence and skill to independently tackle the demands of school work. Her organizational skills have improved and she is much happier. Best wishes to the Glenwood staff and teachers as you continue to bring immeasurable success to the lives of your students.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Our family is all so thankful for Glenwood Academy. After school was full of fighting, frustration and crying. The homework my child had every night was a drain on our family, he was unable to finish his work in school so that was also sent home to do on top of all the other work. But now we are at Glenwood and they have teacher guided study hall and our child does not realize he is doing homework because it is fun and interesting and if he has questions the teacher is right there to answer them.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
My son has been going to Glenwood for six years. He has dyslexia and ADHD and this school is a perfect fit. They provide an individual learning plan for him that is challenging, yet attainable. His classmates are supportive and everybody wants the kids to excel. The teachers have special training with language-based learning differences and really care about the kids. I would highly recommend the Academy.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Howard County, MD is $7,807 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Howard County, MD is 85% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).