Grace School

5.00 5 1 (19 reviews)
10219 Ella Lee
Houston, TX 77042-0770
Tel: (713)782-4421
Grades: NS-8 | 486 students
previous
next
For 40 years, Grace School, a private school in Houston, has been committed to building smart, joyful and confident learners who are excited to come to school each day.
Accredited by AdvancedED and the National Association for the Education of Young Children, our students ages 2 to grade 8 are cherished by their teachers, respected by their peers, and are known and cared for by all.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association for the Education of Young Children
National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
AdvancED
Religious Affiliation Presbyterian
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1975
Awards  Blue Ribbon School - Selected in 1996, 1997

Student Body

Total Students 486 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Grace School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 55 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Formal

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling
Admissions Director K.C. McMordie

Sports

Total Sports Offered 10 sports
Sports Baseball, Basketball, Cheering, Cross Country, Drill Team, Football, Soccer, Softball, Track and Field, VolleyballBaseballBasketball,
CheeringCross Country,
Drill TeamFootball,
SoccerSoftball,
Track and FieldVolleyball,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 10 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. After-school Enrichment Classes, Band, Choir, Lunch with the Lord, Men & Women of Integrity, Recreation Ministry Sports, Student Council, Studio Art, Technology, Theater Arts Band, Choir, Studio Art, Technology, Theater Arts, After-school Enrichment Classes,
Lunch with the Lord,
Men & Women of Integrity,
Recreation Ministry Sports,
Student Council,

School Notes

We know that the greatest gift you`ve ever been given is your child. The love and devotion you have for them can never be put into words. Your dedication to them seems infinite. There`s nothing in the world you wouldn`t do for your child. 

As you begin your quest to find the perfect school, you`ll notice that the options are endless. Any school can boast small class sizes and a rigorous curriculum, but at the end of the day, a child who is happy and eager to attend school is priceless. Whether it`s private, public, Montessori or faith-based-it all boils down to one thing: finding the best possible fit for your child. 

For 40 years, Grace School has been committed to building smart, joyful and confident learners who are excited to come to school each day. Accredited by AdvancedED and the National Association for the Education of Young Children, our students ages 2 to grade 8 are cherished by their teachers, respected by their peers, and are known and cared for by all. We welcome you to visit and see, firsthand, why Grace School was chosen as the best fit for more than 495 students and their parents. 
  • Our mission is to provide a rigorous educational program that embraces the teachings of Jesus Christ in a safe and inclusive environment.
  • Our vision is to inspire compassionate, thoughtful students eager to engage in the world around them.
This mission statement is the heart and soul of what we do at Grace School. It is our visible investment in your child, the reason behind our methods, and the faith that propels us forward. We hope you will partner with us as we relentlessly pursue excellence.

Profile last updated: 05/23/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Houston
    Grades: NS-5 | 174 students
    0.1 miles
    2525 Seagler Rd
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)783-0260
    0.1NS-5
    174
  • Houston
    Grades: K-5 | 64 students
    3.2 miles
    1315 S Dairy Ashford St
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)493-3700
    3.2K-5
    64
  • Houston
    Grades: PK-8 | 723 students
    5 miles
    1400 Parkway Plaza Drive
    Houston, TX 77077
    (281)496-1500
    5PK-8
    723
  • Houston
    Wesley Academy
    (Christian)
    Grades: PK-8 | 141 students
    1.3 miles
    10570 Westpark Drive
    Houston, TX 77042
    (713)458-4756
    1.3PK-8
    141
  • Houston
    Grades: NS-5 | 294 students
    3.1 miles
    14120 Memorial Dr
    Houston, TX 77079
    (281)531-6088
    3.1NS-5
    294

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (19 reviews)
5.0  5/17/2016
I am a current Grace School parent and I''m extremely pleased with my child's experience. My son is a PreK 4 student and LOVES his school!!! We took him out of the daycare he attended since he was a baby and put him here...night and day! This is our first year and we thought it would be a hard transition but not at all. The people here are so loving and 10 students compared to the 28 in his last school is amazing. His teacher knows exactly what he needs and is always attentive. Communication is wonderful as well. I couldn't imagine him attending any other school.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
This is my fifth year teaching and my second year at Grace. My teaching experience at Grace School has been nothing but amazing! The class size is small enough so that I am able to provide support and challenge each and every one of my students. I am able to get the opportunity to truly understand each child so that I can make an impact on their learning. The administration and faculty are wonderful to work with. We all truly care about each other and the success of all of our students. I couldn't imagine being at a better place than Grace!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Our two sons have attended Grace School from preschool forward. Our eldest is now in 4th, and our youngest in 1st. Both absolutely love their school, and look forward to going everyday. The teachers are engaging, and the atmosphere is very family oriented. Feels like a small town setting in the midst of a bustling city. Grace can't be beat!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
Grace School has beyond met our expectations!!!!!!!! Our daughter is in her second year here and the environment is such a loving, safe and comfortable one that she has just been able to grow. She loves coming to school and is excited to see what everyday holds. The teachers and staff have made our family feel so welcome!! We love to share with friends and family all the exciting things going on in the classroom at Grace. Our daughter's learning has excelled because of the exceptional environment provided at Grace. We are proud to be a Grace family and would recommend Grace to ANYONE!!!
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I have one daughter that graduated from Grace in 2009 (currently a freshman at OU) and a daughter that is in 5th grade. Grace has always been her school "home." The teachers have made such an impact in her spiritual and academic life. With the challenges that life brings at every turn it's always a comfort to know that school is a safe place for her to learn and grow, but also a safe place to fall. Her teachers have gone the extra mile time and time again. Everyone truly becomes a family.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I have been a teacher and parent at Grace School for the last six years and I have never experienced a community as nurturing and welcoming as the one that is provided at this school. The teachers are dedicated to continued learning and strive to provide a curriculum and learning environment that is equitable, challenging, engaging, and relevant. My son has attended Grace since the age of two and throughout that time he has grown in all areas and is thriving. Seeing the positive effect that Grace has had on him is a true testimony to the amazing program and staff at this school. I would recommend Grace to anyone who is in search of a school and community that is committed to their child's development and success.
- Posted by
5.0  5/17/2016
I am currently a Grace School parent and educator. This school is a Houston gem! Rarely, do you find an institute where children's hearts and minds are nurtured yet challenged with age appropriate rigor. The real world application and "out of the box" thinking that occurs here is a joy to watch. The students and faculty serve others with happy hearts.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
I am a preschool teacher at Grace School, and cannot explain in words how much I LOVE working here. The families are all so very nice and their children are as sweet as can be! We have Chapel every Wednesday, the kids LOVE learning about Jesus and praising him through fun songs and dances. Grace School is an excellent place for children to learn about Jesus and academics as well.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
I have been a teacher at Grace School for over 8 years in primary school. Our quality program has helped students reach new heights while caring to the whole child. We help prepare students for future success throughout their education. We also center our program around Christ to help build a strong faith-based foundation.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
It is an honor to serve at such an amazing school! Grace School is dedicated to the growth and development of the students in every area of life. I have always felt so taken care of by the community of people and I cannot imagine teaching anywhere else!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Grace is a wonderful environment! This is my second year teaching at Grace. The staff is great, the parents are great, and the curriculum is age appropriate. Children are challenged with a variety of activities daily. They are able to explore things hands-on. We are not afraid to get messy! We have made play-dough and a piñata this school! We believe that children learn from their experience from the environment they are experiencing.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Best-Value Private Christian School If there was a Princeton Review for primary, lower, and middle school private education, The Grace School would be ranked in the top three schools in Houston based on academic quality and cost of attendance. Truly, amidst a sea of educational options, The Grace School is a beacon to many in its academic excellence while firmly holding to its faith based heritage. My wife and I have watched our daughter blossom into her own person since attending The Grace School. Through the nurturing faculty and staff, The Grace School offers a distinctive uniqueness to each child by encouraging them to develop mentally, socially, spiritually, and physically as a whole person. We believe a Grace School education is the greatest gift we can give our daughter to help her prepare for a successful future. Bottom line: Best value for our money, Christian environment, phenomenal teachers, engaged administration, and state of the art facilities. -- Betsy and John
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Grace School is the best environment for kids ! I LOVE working at Grace!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
I have been a teacher at Grace School for 4 years and am now a parent of the school as well. I trust the teachers here to create a positive atmosphere and also embrace the teachings of Jesus Christ in doing so. My daughter has transitioned well and asks everyday to ''go to school with mommy.'' It definitely gives me the peace of mind I need to continue with my day.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
Grace School is an extraordinary place to work and has a high level of professionalism and teamwork that I have rarely seen in other schools and is more like a family in many ways. Grace School strives for excellence and utilizes new and innovative techniques to help students learn and succeed. Most importantly, Grace School emphasizes the teachings of Jesus Christ and helps students to build a firm foundation in their faith that will last a lifetime. I am also a parent and wouldnt'' want my child anywhere else! Grace is the place to be!
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
I love working at a school where everyone cares about each other, students and faculty are well known, and I feel like I am a member of the Grace School Family! I have been teaching at Grace School since 2008. My child is in the Early Childhood program. She is excited to wake up in the morning and be with her friends and teachers. We plan on keeping her at Grace School until the 8th grade.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
I am a parent and a staff at Grace School. And I can say that this is a great school with supportive teachers, and great parent involvement and support. The campus is beautifully kept and you can see how the children and staff enjoy being there. It is a school with academic rigor, and lots of extracurricular activities needed to perform in the real world including music, art, computer class library, science lab, Spanish and Bible. As a staff I really enjoy watching the kids coming from the gym because health and fitness class is always fun and filled with music. This is a school with cultural and racial diversity found only in the best schools. It is truly an amazing place.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
My children have been at Grace School for the last 6 years. They have created a home here that would be hard to replicate. The staff is warm and caring. The parents are involved and supportive as well.
- Posted by
5.0  7/24/2015
I have been a Grace School Board member for the past few years. The Head of School, the Heads of Primary, Lower and Middle School and teachers can be commended for their dedication to provide an exceptional educational experience to the children of Grace School. The strong Christian environment coupled with an outstanding educational curriculum, art and athletic programs provide the children with one of the best Private School experiences in Houston.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Houston, TX is $12,764 for elementary schools and $14,355 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Houston, TX is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).