Heavenly Host Lutheran School

5.00 (6 reviews)
777 S Willow Avenue
Cookeville, TN 38501-0385
Tel: (931)520-3766
Grades: NS-8 | 125 students
2012-2013 Heavenly Host Lutheran School Faculty and Staff
2012-2013 Heavenly Host Lutheran School Faculty and Staff

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. Southern Association Of Colleges And Schools (SACS)
National Lutheran Schools Accreditation
Religious Affiliation Lutheran Church -- Missouri Synod
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1993

Student Body

Total Students 125 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Heavenly Host Lutheran School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 12 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 6:1
National avg.: 13:1
Average Class Size 8 students

Finances and Admission


Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 1 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Chess; Choir; Jewelry Making/Crafts; Guitar; Making Healthy Snacks; Photography; Physical Fitness; Voice Chess; Choir; Jewelry Making/Crafts; Guitar; Making Healthy Snacks; Photography; Physical Fitness; Voice,

Nearby Private Schools

The nearest high school is Endeavor (1.4 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Endeavor (1.4 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Heritage Christian Academy (9.9 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Cookeville
    Alternative School
    Grades: 7-12 | 12 students
    1.4 miles
    1200 S Willow Ave
    Cookeville, TN 38506
  • Cookeville
    Grades: 7-12 | 12 students
    1.5 miles
    Po Box 3165
    Cookeville, TN 38502
  • Cookeville
    Grades: 9-12 | 43 students
    1.5 miles
    728 South Jefferson Avenue
    Cookeville, TN 38501
  • Cookeville
    Highland Rim Academy
    Special Program Emphasis (Christian)
    Grades: K-9 | 49 students
    7 miles
    Po Box 3022
    Cookeville, TN 38502
  • Bloomington Springs
    Chance Girls Residential Center
    All-girls  | Alternative School (Baptist)
    Grades: 8-12 | 11 students
    7.7 miles
    Po Box 8
    Bloomington Springs, TN 38545

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (6 reviews)
5.0 Stars   01/31/13
All 3 of my children attend HHLS in different grades, we LOVE the the Christ centered atmosphere they are in on daily basis and the great amount of learning going on too!! Heavenly Host is a wonderful school with a very caring an family like staff!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   01/31/13
I have a a child in 6th grade at HHLS. My older children started attending there the second year HHLS was open 15 years ago. Although HHLS went through many "growing"pains, the school has remained dedicated to providing a Christian education to the children in addition to nurturing them in acedemic studies. With a well rounded education and a Christ filled heart, they are well equiped to enter public High School. Every year, former HHLS students graduate in the top 10 % of their class.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   01/31/13
My son is currently in the 5th grade at HHLS. My older children also attended HHLS. They started there when the school first opened so I have had a lot of time to observe the school. Heavenly Host is and always has been dedicated to their mission of providing a quality education in a Christ centered atmosphere. The teachers and staff go above and beyond. They offer free tutoring, after school enrichment programs and and an accelerated reading program. I love this school. They are part of my family :)
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
HHLS is a true blessing for students and their families. The academic focus and achievement is outstanding. The family and Christ focused atmosphere is a positive environment for children to thrive. Without hesitation we choose HHLS for our child to receive the best education and the best environment that provides the best opportunity for success. The staff and teachers are the best. We cannot thank them enough. Highly recommended!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
This is a great school.My daughter went from kindergarden through 8th,my son is there now in 5th.Everything in the curriculum is great.I would highly recommend this school.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   04/09/12
Heavenly Host Lutheran School is a nationally accredited and locally respected school in Putnam County Tennessee. We frequently receive compliments from Cookeville High School about how successfuly our school is at preparing the students for high school. We provide year round enrichment activities(including Art, Debate, Spanish, , as well as sports, music, library, and after school programs. Heavenly Host has a classroom per grade level, computers in every room, and is connected to a church and the pastors. We have the normal school issues, but we deal with them in a Biblical and Christian fashion. We have chapel every Wednesday with the pastor, and welcome those of all faiths.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 20, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Tennessee is $8,490 for elementary schools and $8,759 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Tennessee is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).