New Vistas School

5.00 (11 reviews)
520 Eldon St
Lynchburg, VA 24501-0245
Tel: (434)846-0301
Grades: K-12 | 39 students
The mission of New Vistas School is to provide an individualized instructional program for students, kindergarten through grade twelve, with learning and attention differences, as well as the associated emotional difficulties that often accompany these challenges. New Vistas is independent and non-sectarian, organized as a non-profit institution open to students of all races, creeds, ethnic, and socio-economic backgrounds. New Vistas School is licensed by the Virginia Department of Education and is an accredited member of the Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS) and a member of The International Dyslexia Association (IDA).

School Overview

School Type Special Education School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. Virginia Association of Independent Schools (VAIS)
Grades Offered Grades Kindergarten-12
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported ADD, ADHD, Dyslexia, Asperger
Year Founded 1986

Student Body

Total Students 39 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 26%
Students by Grade New Vistas School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 13 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 3:1
National avg.: 13:1
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline None / Rolling

School Notes

  • New Vistas School is the only school in its area that offers both early intervention opportunities for students struggling with learning difficulties in a traditional elementary classroom, and options for middle and high school students who are running out of opportunities to stay in school after years of underperformance.  At New Vistas, we understand that no single method can be effective for teaching children with learning and attention differences.  We provide a nurturing environment and a highly qualified team of educators who are specialists in their field.  Our goal is to develop the skills and self-confidence within each student to assist them in reaching their academic potential and future independence.  Class size is generally between two and six students in an atmosphere of encouragement and support. New Vistas School is the leader in educating children with exceptional needs in Central Virginia and has served more than 750 children with specific LD, ADD, ADHD, and Asperger’s Syndrome.

Profile last updated: 01/18/2016

Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed New Vistas School also viewed these schools: White Oak School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Blairs
    White Oak School
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 20 students
    49.5 miles
    7180 U S Highway 29
    Blairs, VA 24527

School Reviews

   5.00 out of 5 (11 reviews)
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
New Vistas has transformed our two kids from frustrated to successful--one graduated and is attending local community college and the other will graduate this year. We couldn't have done it without New Vistas focus on the student.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
My son Cort is a senior at New Vistas and has been there since the 2cd grade. I have watched Cort evolve from a shy insecure boy to a grown self-confident young man. He is a straight A student and currently taking 2 classes at night at CVCC. New Vistas has brought out the best in Cort. He is mature, disciplined, humorous, trustworthy and the very best child any parent could ever ask for. I simply don't know where Cort would be today without New Vistas. If you too have a special child please do not hesitate to give New Vistas a will change your child's life and at the same time change yours!! Ford Mays
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
Without a doubt, New Vistas School has changed our lives!! Our son loves going to school this year! The teachers and staff are amazing! It's so exciting to pick our son up from school each day and hear about what he's learning and see how far he has come in just just three months! Thank you New Vistas for making such a positive impact in our lives!
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   05/17/16
My daughter, Siri, is a tenth grader at New Vistas and has been there since fourth grade. I would simply say that New Vistas saved her life. The public school from which she transferred had fine, dedicated and loving teachers but, through no fault of their own, could not provide the setting Siri needed in which to function effectively. New Vistas is that place. Every teacher and administrator is deeply committed to each student, and bring out the best in them. More accurately, they enable each child to bring out the gifts in themselves. My daughter's strengths are abundantly recognized, and her weaknesses are addressed with both compassion and rigor in small classes by sensitive teachers with high expectations. New Vistas has improved the quality of life for our whole family immeasurably.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
Even as a part-time, contracted teacher, I feel so welcome and included in the spirit and activities of New Vistas. I can only imagine the comfort and confidence the students and parents involved with NVS feel after they have found themselves in need of specialized solutions to their education.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
As a "Founding Mother" of New Vistas School, I am pleased to say, that what this school has become on all levels , has exceeded all of my original expectations. New Vistas is a treasure in our community. Libby Jarrett
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
Our granddaughters tears are disappearing. Our granddaughter was rapidly becoming a statistic, she was unable to function in the normal school environment. Her tears were flowing, she was not able to participate in normal classroom activities, she was not learning, she did not want to go to school, she simply was not moving forward. She has attended the New Vistas School for one (1) year, there are very few tears, she is actually doing homework with just a little prodding, she is learning, she actually thinks school is OK, she is moving forward. She now has a future. There is what almost seems to be educational magic going on inside the New Vistas School. Our tears are also going away. Very happy Grandparents
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
I have taught at New Vistas School for almost ten years, and continue to enjoy working with our wonderful students! It is gratifying to see them respond to our instructional techniques and transform from struggling/discouraged students into confident young men and women who have a positive attitude about learning.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
New Vistas School is a true treasure in Lynchburg, VA! So many young people have found their place in life because of this school. The testimonies of the parents and students speak for the school. The staff is amazing !
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
My daughter has been attending NVS for 2 years now & all I can say is THANK YOU! Academically she is improving and now loves school. We love her teachers and the small group approach to learning. While she was in public school she continued to get lost & left behind both socially & academically - well not with NVS! I have seen her confidence grow in both areas. I am so thankful that we found NVS and I look forward to my daughter attending as long as she is able.
- Posted by
5.0 Stars   12/11/12
The faculty at New Vistas is the best that there is. Each and every teacher loves and cares for all of the students. My grandson is now in his 7th year there and he will be the first to tell you of all of the positive sides of New Vistas. The one on one attention is the best he says! This school has changed him from hating school to loving school! Thank you New Vistas!
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
October 20, 2016
Among the many forms which you must complete when applying to private school is something called The Candidate Statement. Here's what it is involved in preparing this document.
October 19, 2016
Making your job application easy to read will help your application make the first cut.
October 18, 2016
Submit your employment application the way a Swiss watch craftsman builds a watch. With precision and accuracy.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Virginia is $10,277 for elementary schools and $15,846 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Virginia is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).