Pacific Ridge School

previous
next

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Other school association(s)
Grades Offered Grades 7-12

Student Body

Total Students 600 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
32%
State avg.: 44%
Students by Grade Pacific Ridge School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 74 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 9:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree
80%
Average Class Size 15 students
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses

Finances and Admission

Yearly Tuition Cost $28,900
Tuition Notes Pacific Ridge offers a tuition assistance program for families with demonstrated need, as well as several payment options to help all families manage tuition expenses.
Admissions Director Jean Nassif
Admissions Associate Lettie Minor

Sports

Total Sports Offered 12 sports
Sports Basketball, Cross Country, Flag Football, Golf, Ice Hockey, Lacrosse, Soccer, Surf Team, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Water PoloBasketballCross Country,
Flag FootballGolf,
Ice HockeyLacrosse,
SoccerSurf Team,
TennisTrack and Field,
VolleyballWater Polo,

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 45 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Academic League, Acoustic Jam Session, Astronomy Club, Be The Change, Chinese Arts, Club Firebird, Craft Club, Culinary Club, Dance Club, Digital Arts Club, Drawing Club, Dungeons & Dragons, Engineering Club, Finance & Investment, Football Club, Gardening Club, Improv Theater, Instrumental Music, Math Tutorial, Model United Nations (MUN), Music Production Club, Open Art Studio, Philosophy Club, Photography Club, Reading Club, Robotics, Robotics, Rock Band, School Newspaper, Science Extravaganza, Science Olympiad, Science Olympiad, Scientific Research Club, Singing Club, Skateboarding Club, Spanish Club, Spoken Word Poetry Club, Sports Training, Student Affinity Groups, Student Council, Sustainability Council, Ukulele Music Club, Video Production Club, Wood Shop, Yoga Astronomy Club, Be The Change, Chinese Arts, Club Firebird, Craft Club, Culinary Club, Dance Club, Drawing Club, Football Club, Gardening Club, Improv Theater, Math Tutorial, Reading Club, Robotics, Robotics, Rock Band, Singing Club, Spanish Club, Wood Shop, Yoga, Academic League,
Acoustic Jam Session,
Digital Arts Club,
Dungeons & Dragons,
Engineering Club,
Finance & Investment,
Instrumental Music,
Model United Nations (MUN),
Music Production Club,
Open Art Studio,
Philosophy Club,
Photography Club,
School Newspaper,
Science Extravaganza,
Science Olympiad,
Science Olympiad,
Scientific Research Club,
Skateboarding Club,
Spoken Word Poetry Club,
Sports Training,
Student Affinity Groups,
Student Council,
Sustainability Council,
Ukulele Music Club,
Video Production Club,

School Notes

  • Pacific Ridge School`s curriculum emphasizes  college-preparatory study, ethical development and global engagement. Classes are conducted using the "Harkness" style of teaching, in which 15 students and a teacher are seated around an oval seminar table, encouraging the exchange of ideas and opinions as course material is covered. Studio and performing arts are a standard part of the curriculum and all students have the opportunity to play on either a developmental or a competitive athletic team. Students in every grade level put ethics into practice, locally and globally, in a year-long Service Learning program. During a weekly class period, students gain academic, teamwork, leadership and problem-solving skills to apply in real-world service situations. Global engagement is built into the daily curriculum, and the final weeks of the school year are reserved for student trips. Students learn about communities and cultures other than their own through academic enrichment, cultural and linguistic immersion and service work. Since the school`s founding, students have traveled to over 30 countries on six continents.
Show me:
People Also ViewedPeople Also Viewed Nearby SchoolsNearby Schools
People that viewed Pacific Ridge School also viewed these schools: The Grauer School, Pacific Academy, Bellevue Christian School, The Bear Creek School and Kings Jr-sr High School.
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Encinitas
    Grades: 7-12 | 157 students
    5.6 miles
    1500 El Camino Real
    Encinitas, CA 92024
    (760)944-6777
    5.67-12
    157
  • Encinitas
    Grades: K-12 | 52 students
    4.8 miles
    679 Encinitas Blvd. #205
    Encinitas, CA 92024
    (760)634-1188
    4.8K-12
    52
  • Clyde Hill
    Grades: PK-12 | 1030 students
    1035.8 miles
    1601 98th Ave Ne
    Clyde Hill, WA 98004
    (425)454-4402
    1035.8PK-12
    1030
  • Redmond
    Grades: NS-12 | 767 students
    1037.6 miles
    8905 208th Avenue NE
    Redmond, WA 98053
    (425)898-1720
    1037.6NS-12
    767
  • Seattle
    Grades: 5-12 | 652 students
    1047.2 miles
    19303 Fremont Avenue North
    Seattle, WA 98133
    (206)546-7214
    1047.25-12
    652

School Reviews

  5.00 out of 5  (5 reviews)
5.0  10/29/2016
Great school academically AND socially for my kids. The Teachers are committed to imparting that It is cool to be smart. It is cool to go to college. It is cool to be nice to others. Many kids are on financial aid, and those kids are treated just the same; at least they are in my kids friend groups. ASB president from last year was on a scholarship and his speech at the end of the year was a wonderful tribute to PRS. The athletic teams are getting better every year and rank at the top of the small schools in San Diego county. KIDS that might have to share time on oversized varsity team at other schools, can be starters here, and get a great education at the same time. The arts and drama are outstanding. I never have to worry about where my kid is going after school, which from what I hear, is half the battle with teenagers! Socially they do lots of events with the parents, so you can stay connected with the school community. It is a pretty neat atmosphere..
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
There is no "one size fits all" school. If you want your child to gain a well rounded education that includes solid academics, intended character development, relevant real world discussion and personalized interactions with teachers/staff, PRS is the school for you. "Only wealthy, spoiled children" go to PRS is both incorrect and very misleading. Those "types" of kids are at every school and often people perception can be a self-fulfilled reality. Yes, there is a financial component/investment required for attending PRS, yet there are a considerable number of financial aid recipients and average income household students who choose to invest in education and attend. PRS culture is one of acceptance of others, shared values of kindness, empathy and respect -- disruptive, negative, unmotivated students should consider an alternative. Many families choose PRS because of the positive "peer group" --a deeply influential factor in adolescent lives. Athletics and performing arts are available to everyone rather than funneled to just a few. Teachers and staff at PRS are engaged, energized, current, and relate/adapt well with the student body each year otherwise they are asked to leave. Students gain confidence at PRS in participating/speaking up through the Harkness program - especially introverts (I have one) - what a priceless lifelong skill. Modifications to student experiences are available and needs based. A public school in no way guarantees a better grade let alone retained learning. Colleges understand the difference in GPAs earned at different high schools and factor that AMONG MANY THINGS into decision making. College guidance and counseling resources at PRS are exceptional and extremely personalized. Given the choice between a balanced college prep curriculum delivered in a positive environment where the outcome is a well rounded student who has been exposed to challenges and has put forth the time effort in understanding oneself and becoming a better version of him/herself versus an 'easy ride', socially busy experience is a decision every family gets to decide for themselves - both with high school choices and beyond. There is a reason why so many pictures of PRS school life are riddled with smiling faces... even if learning to learn is an acquired taste for some.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
I have been attending Pacific Ridge School for 5 years now and am currently a junior (11th grade). Ever since I was in 7th grade, I have always felt that I had a place here on this campus. Whether it be on the field, in the dance room, or in the classroom, I feel that I have always play a significant role in the community around me. I came from a big public elementary school and was at first reluctant to attend PRS because I was afraid of the transition from going to a big school to a smaller one. However, after the first week of school, I decided that I could not imagine myself anywhere other than Pacific Ridge and am so glad that I made the transition. As I got older and grew in the school, I quickly began to realize and appreciate what this school has to offer to their students. Something that I have really taken advantage of is the service learning program that this school offers. In 10th grade, I took the opportunity to create and lead my own service program that now works with the homeless youth in our community, and I am so grateful for my school for giving me that opportunity which would be hard to find at any other school. Also, something that I find unique about this school is that there is passion where ever you look; if you are passionate, then Pacific ridge is the place for you because at this school, passion is highly respected. Something that this school emphasizes is global travel; I have learned lessons on my global travel trips with this school that I would not have been able to learn by sitting in a classroom. Lastly but most importantly, the teachers at this school are not only teachers, but also mentors. Being able to meet with my teachers on a regular basis has significantly impacted my learning experience. The teachers encourage you to meet with them which makes it easy for me to constantly get one on one help from them. Going into senior year next year, I feel more than prepared for the college application process and appreciate the step by step plan that the school already has preplanned out for me, making me less stressed. Overall, I can not ask for a better high school experience, because I feel that I have found a purpose and a role in my community.
- Posted by
5.0  10/26/2016
The Faculty at this school is incredible! They are all purposeful and intentional. The school does an amazing job staying true to its mission statement. The teachers are knowledgeable, accessible and deeply invested in supporting students growth. There's a great variety of Arts Theater and sports that everyone can engage. The service and global programs that the students do helps them grow in profound and meaningful ways. My kids have been thriving at the school
- Posted by
5.0  1/19/2016
The academics are outstanding! The social life, not so much. I attended Pacific Ridge and graduated last year. Just going to say it, the school consist of many spoiled, wealthy children. If you are not considered wealthy would are seriously outcasted. Also, if you are an artsy person, this is not the school for you. If you are very into getting a good education and learning go here. Another thing that I was thinking about when applying to college... You learn a lot at PRS, but it's definitely a lot harder to get an A like it is a public school. But if I did go to public school I would get A's and, therefore, having a higher GPA which means better colleges. So there's the catch, good education or good grades to good college. Another thing is if your child is introverted, he will never succeed here unless he changes his ways. Harkness is huge here, everyone sits at a large table and talks their thoughts, which Removeds if there are people talking over you. Also, PRS seems like that school parents put their kids in so they don't get bullied at public school. PRS definitely feels like you in a comfort bubble and they are always watching you. Overall, academically, PRS really prepared me for college, I am much more extroverted than when I went in freshman year. But the social aspect, was ok.
- Posted by

Endorsements should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Name or Alias:

Your review:

Endorse this school:
Area Statistics
Home Gallery
Recent Articles
November 21, 2016
What is really important in choosing a private school? Ranks? Academics? Financial aid? Sports programs? Arts programs? One of these criteria doesn't matter. The others do.
November 09, 2016
Private School Review has a robust search engine which will make your private school search process much easier to do. Here are some tips on how to use this tool.
November 09, 2016
We take a look at the enormous impact a private foundation can have on education.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
Student First name:
Student Middle name:
Student Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average acceptance rate in Carlsbad, CA is 84% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).