St Lukes Episcopal Day School

8833 Goodwood Blvd
Baton Rouge, LA 70806-0708
Tel: (225)927-8601
Grades: PK-8 | 352 students
The mission of St. Luke's Episcopal Day School is to provide for the academic, spiritual, and emotional development of our students.
This is accomplished in cooperation with the family and the Church resulting in a life-long dedication to learning and spiritually guided lives.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES)
Other religious school association(s)
National Association for the Education of Young Children
Other special emphasis association(s)
Religious Affiliation Episcopal
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten-8

Student Body

Total Students 352 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
% Students of Color
State avg.: 22%
Students by Grade St Lukes Episcopal Day School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 26 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 14:1
National avg.: 13:1

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Jehovah-jireh Christian Academy (1.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Hosanna Christian Academy (0 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Hosanna Christian Academy (0 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Baton Rouge
    Hosanna Christian Academy
    (Assembly of God)
    Grades: PK-8 | 465 students
    0 miles
    8850 Goodwood Blvd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70806
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: PK-8 | 830 students
    1.4 miles
    400 Marquette Ave
    Baton Rouge, LA 70806
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: PK-12 | 106 students
    1.5 miles
    1771 N Lobdell Blvd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70806
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: PK-12 | 93 students
    1.7 miles
    1896 Wooddale Blvd
    Baton Rouge, LA 70806
  • Baton Rouge
    Grades: 4 | 1 students
    2.1 miles
    9150 Bereford Dr
    Baton Rouge, LA 70809

School Reviews

Our family loves St. Luke''s. I have a 1st and 5th grader enrolled, we have been there since my oldest was in PreK. I''m a firm believer in the PreK thru 8 model...keeps them from growing up too fast. Outstanding teachers and faculty, great variety of music, art & sports programs. I also love the low student / teacher ratio. My kids are in a safe, nuturing and academically challenging environment. St Lukes kids typically get their pick of schools and transition well into 9th grade.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My son has been at St. Luke''s since Pre-K and is now in the 5th grade. Each year we think we couldn''t possibly get a teacher that we loved as much as the prior year, but even though they all have different teaching styles, we love them all. We love the nurturing environment and spiritual education that St. Luke''s provides. We love the fact that the Middle School students are the leaders on campus and don''t have high schoolers to compare themselves to. They can get through that awkward stage of adolescence in a safe environment. He is excited to start Middle School next year!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Both our girls finished St. Luke''s and have gone on the high school and their success is a direct result of their time at St. Luke''s. The wonderful faculty, small class size, educational value, sports programs, arts, and Christ centered atmosphere make St. Luke''s the gem of Baton Rouge. I really can''t speak highly enough of how much we love St. Luke''s and how beneficial it was for our girls.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
St. Luke''s has been our school of choice for eight years. Both of my children started in Pre-K and are currently in 6th and 3rd grades. St. Luke''s has been nothing less than outstanding. Both my husband and I, as well as our children, have made lifelong friends from the families we have met at St. Luke''s. The caring family atmosphere combined with the academically challenging environment have made every year a fantastic experience. My oldest began middle school at St. Luke''s this year, and we could not be more pleased with the appropriateness of the level of responsibility placed on the middle schoolers in addition to their challenging cirriculum. and learning to be the leaders of the school.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
My family has been a part of the St. Luke''s Episcopal Day School family for almost 10 years. The faculty and staff at St. Luke''s are an extension of our family. They create a school environment that is safe, nurturing, supportive, spiritually driven, and academically challenging. The teachers are exceptional in providing rigorous instruction in a warm environment conducive to learning. They are sensitive to the various learning styles of each of my children, and they strive to maximize their potential.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
St. Luke''s has been a blessing to our family. Our 2nd grader and PreSchooler have flourished in this setting. I''m especially thankful for the concern that has been given to our 2nd grader in regards to her struggles with ADHD. Everyone is so accommodating to her needs. We truly feel like we are part of a huge family there. I wouldn''t trade St. Luke''s for the world!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
The school has absoultely the most incredible staff and teachers ever. They have the best academic programs and the children are all individually cared for and catered to. My child has the best of the best!!!..
- Posted by Parent, 07/12/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Is Your Skill-set Still on Release 1.0?
September 20, 2015
It is easy to fall into the trap of not keeping your skill-set current. There's no time and no need anyway. We look at why you need to keep things current and offer some suggestions as to how to proceed.
5 Reasons You Might Be Looking At The Wrong Schools
September 07, 2015
Choosing the right school for your child is a major project. We look a five reasons why you might be looking at the wrong schools.
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Baton Rouge, LA is $5,119 for elementary schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Baton Rouge, LA is 89% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).