The Julia Brown Montessori Schools

9450 Madison Ave
Laurel, MD 20723-0207
Tel: (301)498-0604
Grades: PK - 4 | 60 students
At The Julia Brown Montessori Schools, we work with nature, not against it, in helping your child achieve his or her goal.
Our program accepts the endless energies, the creative impulses, and insatiable curiosities of the children and gradually directs their efforts into rewarding channels.
Children have a strong natural desire to learn.
This desire can best be nurtured by allowing the child to choose his or her own activities and to work at his or her own pace.
No one can produce a better lesson schedule than the one produced by the child's own interests.
When they are ready for each step in their development, their enthusiasm for this part of the program is obvious.
As a complement to the Montessori program, the children are also introduced to a variety of special activities during the years they spend with us.
In past years, for example, we have offered special programs in dance, gymnastics, music, or a foreign language as a means of enhancing our broad-based curriculum.

School Overview

School Type Montessori School
School Membership(s)School Assoc. American Montessori Society (AMS)
Grades Offered Grades Prekindergarten - 4

Student Body

Total Students 60 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade The Julia Brown Montessori Schools Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 4 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 15:1
National avg.: 13:1

School Notes:

If you feel that your child should begin their formal education in a quiet, calm and busy atmosphere, using a method of education that took sixty years to perfect, we invite your child to join us.  Call to schedule a tour today; we look forward to meeting you!

Profile last updated: 08/11/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is Phillips School - Laurel (0.6 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Phillips School - Laurel (0.6 miles away)
The nearest preschool is First Baptist School Of Laurel (0.7 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Laurel
    Phillips School - Laurel
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-12 | 138 students
    0.6 miles
    8920 Whiskey Bottom Road
    Laurel, MD 20723
    (301)470-1620
    0.64-12
    138
  • Laurel
    Grades: PK-8 | 189 students
    0.7 miles
    15002 First Baptist Ln
    Laurel, MD 20707
    (301)490-1076
    0.7PK-8
    189
  • Laurel
    Grades: 9-12 | 460 students
    0.9 miles
    113 Saint Marys Place
    Laurel, MD 20707
    (301)725-3228
    0.99-12
    460
  • Laurel
    Grades: KG-8 | 413 students
    0.9 miles
    106 Saint Marys Pl
    Laurel, MD 20707
    (301)498-1433
    0.9KG-8
    413
  • Laurel
    High SchoolRoad Academy
    Special Education School
    Grades: 4-11 | 77 students
    1 miles
    9705 Washington Blvd N
    Laurel, MD 20723
    (301)483-8605
    14-11
    77

School Reviews

My son and daughter both attended the Julia Brown Montessori school in laurel and I can say they loved it! The teachers, assistants and administrator were very kind, caring and compassionate. My children enjoyed the beautiful lessons and developed a sense of pride in the their accomplishments. The classrooms were clean, organized and inviting for the children and you could tell the teachers invested a lot of time and making the classrooms warm and welcoming. If I had a question or issue to discuss with the teacher, the administrator would make sure that I was always contacted in a reasonable time. Everyday when I dropped my kids off, I knew they were going to be well taken care of in a safe learning environment. I was very impressed by the level of learning and excited to see my daughter excel in reading as well as my son in Math. This is a wonderful school environment and I am glad that our children had the opportunity to learn so much at such a young age. My children are now attending public school and their teachers are impressed with how much they know and how respectful they are to staff and class mates. I am very happy they attended this school!
- Posted by Parent, 04/16/13
Both of my kids attended JBMS in Laurel, and I couldn''t be more satisfied with their experience. They learned so much while they were there. The teachers and assistants are so supportive and patient in caring for the kids. This school is a gem. I wish they had classes past third grade.
- Posted by Parent, 04/16/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
So Many Choices
June 28, 2015
When it comes to choosing a private school, there are so many choices to consider that the project can be a huge challenge to most of us. We offer some help and advice to help you get started.
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Prince Georges County, MD is $7,723 for elementary schools and $11,930 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Prince Georges County, MD is 77% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).