Oldfields School

     Tel: (410)472-4800
        
   
Grades: 6 - 12 | 184 students
Oldfields School is committed to the intellectual and moral development of young women.
In a culture of kindness and mutual respect, we encourage each student to make the most of her academic and personal potential.
We seek to guide each student to grow in character, confidence, and knowledge by encouraging her to embrace the values of personal honesty, intellectual curiosity, and social responsibility.
Our motto - Fortezza, Umilitade, e Largo Core - Courage, Humility, and Largeness of Heart, are the core values and beliefs that define our school culture.

School Overview

Grades Offered Grades 6 - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia, Language-based, Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1867

Student Body

Total Students 184 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color 21%
State avg.: 34%
Students by Grade Oldfields School Students by Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 67%
Average Class Size 8 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $50,522
Tuition Notes 5-day Boarding: $48,639 Day: $31,003
% on Financial Aid 16%
Average Financial Aid Grant $30,000
Acceptance Rate 46%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Allison A. Letourneau
Admissions Associate Tom Faxon

Sports

Total Sports Offered 15 sports
Sports Badminton, Ballet, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Indoor Soccer, Lacrosse, Sailing, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter TrackBadmintonBallet,
Cross CountryDance,
EquestrianField Hockey,
Indoor SoccerLacrosse,
SailingSoccer,
SoftballTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 24 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art and Design, Asian Culture Club, Baltimore Girls' School Leadership Coalition, Black Awareness Club, Design Club, Dubious Dozen (a cappella), Eco Club, Environmental Club, F.O.C.U.S., Gay Straight Alliance, Images (a cappella), Jewish Culture Club, Model UN, Pilates, Playmakers, School Literary Journal, Steppers, Student Ambassadors, Student Council, Teens Against Drugs and Alcohol, Yearbook, Yoga, Young Democrats, Young Republicans Art and Design, Design Club, Eco Club, F.O.C.U.S., Model UN, Pilates, Playmakers, Steppers, Yearbook, Yoga, Asian Culture Club,
Baltimore Girls' School Leadership Coalition,
Black Awareness Club,
Dubious Dozen (a cappella),
Environmental Club,
Gay Straight Alliance,
Images (a cappella),
Jewish Culture Club,
School Literary Journal,
Student Ambassadors,
Student Council,
Teens Against Drugs and Alcohol,
Young Democrats,
Young Republicans,

School Notes:

Please join us for our Open House:
  • Sunday, October 26th, 2014- 1:00pm-3:00pm
Please join us for our Webinar Series:
  • A Student's Perspective: October 21st, 2014- 7:00pm
  • A Parent's Perspective: October 29th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • Academics at Oldfields: November 5th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • Athletics and Riding at Oldfields: November 11th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • The Arts at Oldfields: November 18th, 2014- 7:00pm
Register here: 
https://www.oldfieldsschool.org/page.cfm?p=1496&LockSSL=true
https://www.oldfieldsschool.org/page.cfm?p=1405&LockSSL=true

Profile last updated: 09/02/2014

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is St. Paul's School For Girls (9.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. James Academy (3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Ashland Preschool Center (4.2 miles away)
 All Schools  | High Schools High Schools  | Elementary Schools Elementary Schools  | Preschools Preschools 
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Students Grades
  • MonktonSt. James Academy
      (Episcopal)
    3100 Monkton Road
    MonktonMD 21111
    (410)771-4816
      (Episcopal)
    3 mi | 290 students | Gr. K-8                      
  • CockeysvilleAshland Preschool Center
    Daycare / Preschool  (Presbyterian)
    116 Ashland Road
    CockeysvilleMD 21030
    (410)527-1845
    Daycare / Preschool  (Presbyterian)
    4.2 mi | 216 students | Gr. PK-K                      
  • Hunt ValleyForbush School At Hunt Valley
    Special Education School
    11201 Pepper Rd
    Hunt ValleyMD 21031
    (410)527-9505
    Special Education School
    4.5 mi | 75 students | Gr. UG                      
  • Hunt ValleyPlay And Learn At Hunt Valley
    Daycare / Preschool
    11350 Mccormick Road Ep1 Ll1
    Hunt ValleyMD 21031
    (410)785-7077
    Daycare / Preschool
    4.7 mi | 74 students | Gr. NS-PK                      
  • CockeysvilleEpworth Childrens Center
    Daycare / Preschool  (Non-sectarian)
    600 Warren Rd
    CockeysvilleMD 21030
    (410)667-0720
    Daycare / Preschool  (Non-sectarian)
    5.4 mi | 7 students | Gr. K                      

School Reviews

1 year ago
We are so happy with our choice to send our daughter to Oldfields. She has blossomed into a beautiful young woman and her grades have improved immensely. It has been a success story for her. We visited many schools and right away we knew this was a good fit for her. The girls were friendly and the staff nurturing. The warm care from the staff has continued throughout the year. I loved working with the Director of Boarding Admission and knew she was a great role model for my daughter. I thought the Admission Office, Office of the Head of School had a direct approach and knew her students well. My daughter thought of her as grandmotherly and even goes up to hug her. Academically, my daughter is challenged and when she needs extra help, she knows she has several opportunities and sources to go to. I am so happy to see her interest in the sciences and she loves the hands on opportunities the school provides. As she puts it, "I really get it." She is mastering Spanish and loves her art class. We are so proud of her accomplishments academically and discovering on how to be a beautiful young woman.
- Posted by Parent

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?          Yes    

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.

Area Statistics

Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Making the Financial Aid Process Work for You
Do you need financial aid? Not sure? Confused by how financial aid works? Here are some answers.
Interviewing the Over-prepared Teacher Applicant
Some applicants can fool you when they interview. Here is some advice on how to prevent that while at the same time keeping the interview process simple and efficient.
Facebook Page Essentials
Small private schools often feel that they cannot afford to market their schools. Facebook is free. Here is how to use it effectively.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        

Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.

Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:

Allow other schools to send me information. Share your information with all schools on our site and let them send you brochures.

Save this data and create your user profile. Create your own user account so you don't have to re-type your user data each time you request information.You'll also be able to track your information requests, get reminded of application dates, and more!

Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Baltimore County, MD is $8,173 for elementary schools and $18,481 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Baltimore County, MD is 83% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).