Oldfields School

Tel: (410)472-4800
Grades: 8 - 12 | 184 students
previous
If theater is you passion, then come to Oldfields!  We produce excellent plays and musicals.  We also offer a Directing course, where each student casts and produces a play of her choosing.
next
If theater is you passion, then come to Oldfields!  We produce excellent plays and musicals.  We also offer a Directing course, where each student casts and produces a play of her choosing.
Oldfields School is committed to the intellectual and moral development of young women.
In a culture of kindness and mutual respect, we encourage each student to make the most of her academic and personal potential.
We seek to guide each student to grow in character, confidence, and knowledge by encouraging her to embrace the values of personal honesty, intellectual curiosity, and social responsibility.
Our motto - Fortezza, Umilitade, e Largo Core - Courage, Humility, and Largeness of Heart, are the core values and beliefs that define our school culture.

School Overview

Grades Offered Grades 8 - 12
Offers Post-Graduate Year Yes
Learning Difference Programs Yes
Learning Programs Supported Dyslexia, Language-based, Mild Learning Differences
Year Founded 1867

Student Body

Total Students 184 students
Student Body Type All-girls
% Students of Color 21%
State avg.: 35%
Students by Grade Oldfields School Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 40 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 5:1
National avg.: 13:1
% Faculty w/Advanced Degree 67%
Average Class Size 8 students
Number of AP Courses 15 courses
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 1 / rolling
Yearly Tuition Cost $50,522
Tuition Notes 5-day Boarding: $48,639 Day: $31,003
% on Financial Aid 16%
Average Financial Aid Grant $30,000
Acceptance Rate 46%
National avg.: 85%
Admissions Director Allison A. Letourneau
Admissions Associate Tom Faxon

Sports

Total Sports Offered 15 sports
Sports Badminton, Ballet, Cross Country, Dance, Equestrian, Field Hockey, Indoor Soccer, Lacrosse, Sailing, Soccer, Softball, Tennis, Track and Field, Volleyball, Winter TrackBadmintonBallet,
Cross CountryDance,
EquestrianField Hockey,
Indoor SoccerLacrosse,
SailingSoccer,
SoftballTennis,
Track and FieldVolleyball,
Winter Track

Extracurriculars

Total ExtracurricularsTotal Extra-curric. 24 extracurriculars
ExtracurricularsExtra-curric. Art and Design, Asian Culture Club, Baltimore Girls' School Leadership Coalition, Black Awareness Club, Design Club, Dubious Dozen (a cappella), Eco Club, Environmental Club, F.O.C.U.S., Gay Straight Alliance, Images (a cappella), Jewish Culture Club, Model UN, Pilates, Playmakers, School Literary Journal, Steppers, Student Ambassadors, Student Council, Teens Against Drugs and Alcohol, Yearbook, Yoga, Young Democrats, Young Republicans Art and Design, Design Club, Eco Club, F.O.C.U.S., Model UN, Pilates, Playmakers, Steppers, Yearbook, Yoga, Asian Culture Club,
Baltimore Girls' School Leadership Coalition,
Black Awareness Club,
Dubious Dozen (a cappella),
Environmental Club,
Gay Straight Alliance,
Images (a cappella),
Jewish Culture Club,
School Literary Journal,
Student Ambassadors,
Student Council,
Teens Against Drugs and Alcohol,
Young Democrats,
Young Republicans,

School Notes:

Please join us for our Open House:
  • Sunday, October 26th, 2014- 1:00pm-3:00pm
Please join us for our Webinar Series:
  • A Student's Perspective: October 21st, 2014- 7:00pm
  • A Parent's Perspective: October 29th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • Academics at Oldfields: November 5th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • Athletics and Riding at Oldfields: November 11th, 2014- 7:00pm
  • The Arts at Oldfields: November 18th, 2014- 7:00pm
Register here: 
https://www.oldfieldsschool.org/page.cfm?p=1496&LockSSL=true
https://www.oldfieldsschool.org/page.cfm?p=1405&LockSSL=true

Profile last updated: 05/26/2015

Nearby Schools:

The nearest high school is St. Paul's School For Girls (9.1 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is St. James Academy (3 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Ashland Preschool Center (4.2 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Monkton
    Grades: K-8 | 300 students
    3 miles
    3100 Monkton Road
    Monkton, MD 21111
    (410)771-4816
    3K-8
    300
  • Cockeysville
    Ashland Preschool Center
    Daycare / Preschool (Presbyterian)
    Grades: PK-K | 216 students
    4.2 miles
    116 Ashland Road
    Cockeysville, MD 21030
    (410)527-1845
    4.2PK-K
    216
  • Hunt Valley
    Forbush School At Hunt Valley
    Special Education School
    Grades: UG | 75 students
    4.5 miles
    11201 Pepper Rd
    Hunt Valley, MD 21031
    (410)527-9505
    4.5UG
    75
  • Hunt Valley
    Grades: NS-PK | 54 students
    4.7 miles
    11350 Mccormick Road Ep1 Ll1
    Hunt Valley, MD 21031
    (410)785-7077
    4.7NS-PK
    54
  • Cockeysville
    Epworth Childrens Center
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: K | 7 students
    5.4 miles
    600 Warren Rd
    Cockeysville, MD 21030
    (410)667-0720
    5.4K
    7

School Reviews

We are so happy with our choice to send our daughter to Oldfields. She has blossomed into a beautiful young woman and her grades have improved immensely. It has been a success story for her. We visited many schools and right away we knew this was a good fit for her. The girls were friendly and the staff nurturing. The warm care from the staff has continued throughout the year. I loved working with the Director of Boarding Admission and knew she was a great role model for my daughter. I thought the Admission Office, Office of the Head of School had a direct approach and knew her students well. My daughter thought of her as grandmotherly and even goes up to hug her. Academically, my daughter is challenged and when she needs extra help, she knows she has several opportunities and sources to go to. I am so happy to see her interest in the sciences and she loves the hands on opportunities the school provides. As she puts it, "I really get it." She is mastering Spanish and loves her art class. We are so proud of her accomplishments academically and discovering on how to be a beautiful young woman.
- Posted by Parent, 03/16/12

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
Could This Happen To My Child?
August 30, 2015
Scandals in private school are bound to raise questions for those of us thinking about sending our children to private school. Regardless of how sensational these scandals may appear, they are actually few and far between.
Vouchers aka Tax Credits and Scholarship Funds
August 09, 2015
Voucher programs have gained a lot of traction since 1989 when the first voucher program appeared in Milwaukee. We look at how things are playing out in 2015.
Why Would I Want to....
July 12, 2015
Many parents tend to dismiss the idea of sending their children to private school without exploring it in depth. We explore this and several more related subjects.
Request Information
I am a:      
Email:
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
     
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
        
Applying for financial aid?:
        
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:
Address:
City:
Country:
State:
Zip:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Phone:
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Baltimore County, MD is $8,088 for elementary schools and $16,547 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Baltimore County, MD is 79% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).