Chatsworth Hills Academy

21523 Rinaldi Street, PO Box 5077
Chatsworth, CA 91311-0913
Tel: (818)998-4037
Grades: NS-8 | 203 students
Emphasizing character development and critical thinking, Chatsworth Hills Academy's mission is to provide opportunities for our students to fulfill their individual potential in a supportive, natural environment.

School Overview

School Membership(s)School Assoc. National Association of Independent Schools (NAIS)
Western States Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC)
California Association of Independent Schools (CAIS)
Grades Offered Grades Nursery/Preschool-8
Year Founded 1978

Student Body

Total Students 203 students
Student Body Type Co-ed
Students by Grade Chatsworth Hills Academy Student By Grade

Academics and Faculty

Total Classroom Teachers 25 teachers
Student : Teacher Ratio 7:1
National avg.: 13:1
List of Courses Offered Link to List of Courses
Classroom Dress Code Casual
(Solid colors, no blue jeans, collared shirts)

Finances and Admission

Admission Deadline Feb. 15 / rolling
Tuition Notes $3,875-$10,125 (PS), $12,250 - $18,650 (Pre-K - 8th)
Admissions Director Kerry Maguire


Total Sports Offered 4 sports
Sports Basketball, Flag Football, Soccer, VolleyballBasketballFlag Football,

School Notes:

  • Chatsworth Hills Academy is a small, community-oriented, Preschool – 8th Grade school that provides a high quality education in a safe, secure, and supportive environment. Each day is filled with opportunities to learn, grow, and discover, and every student is encouraged to develop into his or her best possible self, intellectually, emotionally, and socially. Classes are filled with creativity, spirited discussion, and laughter. Small class size provides every student with the opportunity to participate meaningfully and to take part in all activities regardless of skill level. Couresework is challenging, but stimulating, and is never overwhelming. CHA students matriculate into top high schools, where they continue to build upon the strong foundation they received at CHA.

Profile last updated: 07/30/2015

Nearby Private Schools:

The nearest high school is Sierra Canyon School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest elementary school is Sierra Canyon School (0.5 miles away)
The nearest preschool is Sierra Canyon School (0.5 miles away)
All Schools High Schools Elementary Schools Preschools Public Schools
Show me:
  • School Location Miles Grades Students
  • Chatsworth
    Grades: PK-12 | 988 students
    0.5 miles
    11052 Independence Ave.
    Chatsworth, CA 91311
  • Chatsworth
    Grades: NS-8 | 159 students
    0.6 miles
    11070 Old Santa Susana Pass Rd
    Chatsworth, CA 91311
  • Chatsworth
    Grades: PK-KG | 120 students
    1 miles
    10616 Andora Ave
    Chatsworth, CA 91311
  • Chatsworth
    Great Beginning
    Daycare / Preschool
    Grades: NS-PK | 33 students
    1.2 miles
    10324 Variel Avenue
    Chatsworth, CA 91311
  • Chatsworth
    Grades: PK-7 | 117 students
    1.5 miles
    22280 Devonshire Street
    Chatsworth, CA 91311

School Reviews

My wife and I had done quite a bit of searching for elementary schools across the Valley (everything from the local public school to charter schools, to private) before coming to CHA. All it took was one visit to the campus of CHA to know we had found the right fit. Not only is the campus amazingly beautiful and serene, the administration and kids themselves go out of their way to make you feel at home. Both of our children (grades 1 and pre K) are attending the school and LOVE it! We are looking forward to the next phase when the CHA campus will evolve with a new design that incorporates all the best elements of the surrounding environment while providing 21st century facilities for learning. I can''t say enough about this school!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Amazing school located on 16+ acres. The campus is tucked away and offers a peaceful, camp-like setting. My two children have attended CHA for the last three years and absolutely love it! The teachers are outstanding and genuinely care about their students. CHA provides all of the specialist programs that can get cut from public schools - PE, Music, Art, Spanish, Computer lab etc. The academic program is top notch and class sizes are small. CHA focuses on character development and nurturing each child so they graduate from CHA confident, well-rounded and ready to start high school. CHA also has a wonderful community of families. It is a small school so the kids know each other and most of the parents know each other as well. If you are considering private school you must take a tour of CHA and see for yourself!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
We are very happy at CHA. The campus, administration, teachers and families are welcoming and friendly. Our daughter is able to learn and grow at her pace. There is constant care and attention from the staff. I cannot say enough good things.
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
This school is a gem! We are so lucky to be part of the CHA community. The teachers are the key component to CHA. They care deeply for the success and development of the child. Every child excels and is able to participate in the areas that they enjoy. Encouragement and positivity are BIG at CHA. The campus is unique and unlike all others. I can''t say enough!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
Over a decade ago, while touring every private school in the North Valley, I turned the corner at Rinaldi and found an oasis. Settled on 16 acres of pristine and preserved land, the CHA campus feels like a year-round summer camp that you would find in the mountains, so far away from the urban world of LA. My wife and I fell in love the school, not only for it?''s natural feel, but for it?''s outstanding program?? and to this day, school has far exceeded our expectations. It has been eleven years, three kids and lifetime of memories. At CHA, we found not only a top-tier program and the best faculty in the Valley (hands down), we also became part of a close-knit and supportive community of like-minded parents who only want the best for our children. With small class sizes and a caring faculty, no child is overlooked or left behind. Every student benefits from individualized attention, whether they need a little extra help to catch-up, or greater challenges when they get ahead. The faculty communicates and grows with the student. Every teacher, regardless of grade, knows every child, resulting in the student firmly supported from pre-school, through lower school and on to middle school. The Advisory Program in Middle School helps the student structure and organize life (in prep for high school), while supporting the emotional development of adolescence. The Middle School also provides plenty of opportunity for expression, whether it?''s music, sports, drama or mock trial (which was an incredible unit). When you see your son argue a court case in front of a real judge in a real downtown courtroom, you realize how the entire school curriculum (beginning with that same little boy sharing a book in kindergarten) brought you to that moment. Everyone is encouraged, and has the opportunity, to try everything and anything. The result is a wealth of experience - and an increased confidence - that supports the student in big wide world of high school. I currently have a 3rd grader and a 7th grader. My oldest is now at Notre Dame HS, where he is an athlete (swim), an artist (band) and an academic (maxima cum laude). I credit the incredible faculty at CHA for instilling in him the confidence and ability to soar wherever life takes him. The CHA program reinforces core values of respect, integrity, friendship and citizenship. It is not only my son - his peers are all responsible young adults, and while they each matriculated to top schools like Viewpoint, Buckley, Campbell Hall, Chaminade, Crespi and Louisville, they still stick together. I like to say that at CHA, we make good humans!
- Posted by Parent, 07/24/15
CHA is a fantastic environment that I highly recommend. My child is thriving in the small, caring and enriched arena that CHA offers. The teachers and staff are extremely involved in every child''s success. It is a wonderful community with the added bonus of a beautiful setting.
- Posted by Parent, 04/28/13

Reviews should be a few sentences in length. Please include any comments on:

  • Quality of academic programs, teachers, and facilities
  • Availability of music, art, sports and other extracurricular activities
  • Academic or athletic awards

I am a:

Email: (we will not reveal your email)

Your review:

Would you recommend this school?

 I give permission to post this review online for other visitors to read.
Area Statistics
Rental Market Monitor
Recent Articles
November 24, 2015
Many parents search for an answer to the question "How do I provide the kind of religious education I want for my child?" Religious education is a very personal, subjective matter. We explore some of your options.
November 19, 2015
Myths, urban legends and just plain misinformation abound concerning private schools. We shed some light on the facts you may not have known.
October 04, 2015
This A-Z list is designed to make you aware of the many things involved in choosing the right school for your child.
Request Information
I am a:      
Name of parent:
First name:
Middle name:
Last name:
Student date of birth:
Student is:
Currently in grade:
Seeking entry for grade:
Target start date:
Name of current school:
School type:
Applying for financial aid?:
Please describe academic, athletic, and extracurricular interests of the student.:

(enter "N/A" if not applicable)
Did You Know?
The average private school tuition in Los Angeles County, CA is $10,314 for elementary schools and $15,621 for high schools (read more about average private school tuition across the country).
The average acceptance rate in Los Angeles County, CA is 81% (read more about average acceptance rates across the country).